Subsidy Corruption: Nigeria Pays For 24m Litres of Unaccounted Fuel Per Day

Date: 19-01-2012 5:33 am (12 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4
- at 19-01-2012 05:33 AM (12 years ago)
The House of Representatives Ad Hoc Committee on fuel subsidy regime yesterday learnt that Nigerians have been paying for 24million litres of petrol that were smuggled to neighbouring countries on a daily basis.

Summary
This was revealed when the management of the Petroleum Products Pricing and Regulatory Agency (PPPRA) and the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC) appeared before the Farouk Lawan-led committee.

PPPRA Executive Secretary Reginald Stanley  said the payment and smuggling have been going on since 2006.

According to the agency’s figures, while Nigeria imports 59 million litres of fuel on a daily basis, only 35 million litres are consumed in the country.

The Federal Government paid N649 billion subsidy on excess imported petrol in 2011, House of Representatives ad-hoc committee investigating the subsidy regime was told yesterday in Abuja.

The revelation contradicted statistics given by Petroleum Minister Diezani Alison-Madueke, who told the panel on Tuesday that the average daily consumption of petrol in Nigeria was 35 million litres.

Stanley told the MPs that records available to him showed that the total daily import of petrol was 59 million litres thereby leaving a huge difference of 24 million litres. The new figures bring the annual over importation of petrol to 8.76 billion litres.

When computed side-by-side with the regulated price of N65 per litre which obtained in 2011, Nigeria might have spent N649.3 billion as subsidies on excess petrol.

“You told us that subsidies were paid based on 59 million litres daily consumption while the actual daily consumption is 35 million litres, leaving the gap of 24 million litres which is paid for as subsidy but not utilised by Nigerians.

Posted: at 19-01-2012 05:33 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kelvinclint at 19-01-2012 08:16 AM (12 years ago)
that is 9ja 4 u wia imposibilities can be possible.....God go purnish una..
Posted: at 19-01-2012 08:16 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- onitsha at 19-01-2012 08:21 AM (12 years ago)
nigeria money family business.i dont kn why kidnapers will not see those people kidnaped.
Posted: at 19-01-2012 08:21 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- solution50 at 19-01-2012 08:25 AM (12 years ago)
Nigerian government we love you, all we have are for our politicans let them use it as they like.sffering and smiling for the masses
Posted: at 19-01-2012 08:25 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- salaming207 at 19-01-2012 08:28 AM (12 years ago)
INTERESTING! Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Tongue Tongue Tongue Tongue
Posted: at 19-01-2012 08:28 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 19-01-2012 08:44 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: kelvinclint on 19-01-2012 08:16 AM
that is 9ja 4 u wia imposibilities can be possible.....God go purnish una..

them , not us
Posted: at 19-01-2012 08:44 AM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- Adikpe at 19-01-2012 08:54 AM (12 years ago)
....and that is why the removal of subsidy is necessary, but some Nigerians have been deceived by those benefiting from the smuggling of the oil. Lets open our eyes and see the reasons to remove the subsidy for a better tomorrow.
Posted: at 19-01-2012 08:54 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- GloriousGod at 19-01-2012 08:58 AM (12 years ago)
Interesting
Posted: at 19-01-2012 08:58 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- lanudja at 19-01-2012 09:02 AM (12 years ago)
Dats Nigeria for u & nt until all dis is tackle d rich will keep getting richer why d poor will keep getting poorer. May God help us.
Posted: at 19-01-2012 09:02 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- luther4real at 19-01-2012 09:07 AM (12 years ago)
GEJ Should remove subsidy 4rm the lifes of these criminals in black right now...........
Posted: at 19-01-2012 09:07 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nonsovin at 19-01-2012 09:09 AM (12 years ago)
THAT IS NAIJA GOVERNMENT FOR YOU!! HAHAHAAAAAAAA.............      but is not funny oooooo!
Posted: at 19-01-2012 09:09 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mr2lydreal at 19-01-2012 09:15 AM (12 years ago)
na God 9 say make Jonathan enter dat place as president so that em go expose this ungrateful goats them wey call dem self leaders meanwhile dem dey carry Nigeria money dey put 4 dere  pocket God don dey expose them one by  one

Posted: at 19-01-2012 09:15 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- reymondokeze at 19-01-2012 09:18 AM (12 years ago)
ole buruku
Posted: at 19-01-2012 09:18 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- onlyGodknows at 19-01-2012 09:23 AM (12 years ago)
I ave said it before that I never trusted te Alison of a woman.
Posted: at 19-01-2012 09:23 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Aybagyar at 19-01-2012 10:01 AM (12 years ago)
Hmm tnx 2 God 4 xposing z cabal involved in smuglng of our fuel.hahaha our protest don dey yield positv result o! Occupy 9ja God bless una ol!!
Posted: at 19-01-2012 10:01 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Seanbarnabas at 19-01-2012 10:05 AM (12 years ago)
They're all Scammers in the highest order....Tell me what will be the mind of those brute rd Criminals. They're using Nigeria petrol as if is there family own resources. I wish God can hold this Nigeria Petrol and crude oil Just for few weeks. Let see what those animals will do. Maybe they will sell all Nigerian to complete there fat evil stomach. I'm very much ashamed of Nigerian leaders. we just see them as leaders but they just a qualified and authorized Criminals. God will expose all of u soon. The criminals may have all day but only one day for the owner. see all the talented Youths in Nigeria they can't even eat 3 square meal. suffering, dying in hunger unless one manage to escape to a foreign country that's only when he/she can see the blessing  of God. No security, electricity,road, water hospitality is for the rich only. School is for the rich only. any parents that does not meet up or have share in NNPC that means no hope for the family. every country u go there must be Nigerian youths  there suffering. they will be treating us like slaves. Just bcos the people we called our leader is all DEMONIC and HEARTLESS Cowards. God of Abraham,Isaac and Jacob will never let all this evil leaders in that county go free. I know one day God will listen to the cry of poor Nigerians. Let this Scammers that we call leaders and there entire family to the fourth generation  never see the light of God in they entire life. In Jesus name....Amen......  
Posted: at 19-01-2012 10:05 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- fada at 19-01-2012 10:25 AM (12 years ago)
cos nobody is ready to ask them questions or purnish them,,naija govt na chop i chop,,,ndi oshi,,,,
Posted: at 19-01-2012 10:25 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- nigerrun at 19-01-2012 10:36 AM (12 years ago)
corruption 4 naija, when will it stop
Posted: at 19-01-2012 10:36 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- tmaxdon at 19-01-2012 10:38 AM (12 years ago)
Where are the people that were supporting the removal of fuel subsidy ? they've all are no longer here to defend  this...they are the people who thinks they know the hearts of our Politicians,they are people who still have trust in our Politicians...I said it that our government is too corrupt to believe them o´n the issue of removal of fuel subsidy..

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GirD-VXGk5k" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win" rel="nofollow">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GirD-VXGk5k</a>
Posted: at 19-01-2012 10:38 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- open_reality at 19-01-2012 11:08 AM (12 years ago)
Naija, the land of magic!

Posted: at 19-01-2012 11:08 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4