1,000 Nigerian youths jailed in China for drug offences –Minister

Date: 23-01-2012 8:00 am (12 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 ... 8
- at 23-01-2012 08:00 AM (12 years ago)
Minister of Youth Development Bolaji Abdullahi has said that no fewer than 1,000 Nigerian youths are serving jail terms in China for various drug offences.

Abdullahi, who disclosed this to newsmen in Ilorin, Kwara State capital, yesterday said he had written to the Chinese government to have the details of the offences “so that the Federal Government could use them as a campaign to discourage Nigerian youths from drug trafficking business.

“This is a very serious matter. I have written to the government of China and I am planning to actually travel there on behalf of the Federal Government to have the details of their cases. Many of our youths who indulge in drug trafficking business in a bid to get rich quick are not always aware of the dire consequences and the risks involved. The risks far deplete the benefits. In fact, there is none.

“Whoever gets involved will get caught sooner than later and whatever that might have been acquired will go with it. So where is the benefit?

“The only way to a good living is to be involved in legitimate business whereby nobody is running after you for committing an offence. There is nothing like getting rich quick and there is no short cut to it,” the minister said.

Posted: at 23-01-2012 08:00 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- DELAT at 23-01-2012 08:55 AM (12 years ago)
It is all over the world you find them in jail,
too greedy,want fast money without work,most expecially
this folk call Igbo.
Posted: at 23-01-2012 08:55 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- przystojny at 23-01-2012 09:00 AM (12 years ago)
Exactly Guys want fast Money,Hey Minister or whatever there are more than 1000 nigerians serving jail term in India for drug traficking,we havent even talk of European countries even in south-east Asia like Malaysia,Nepal,Bangladesh,Singapore and so on, Nigerian guys are after big money hehehehe Make our goverment give jobs oooo so guys no go dey run after fast Money.. God bless Nigeria.
Posted: at 23-01-2012 09:00 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- PreciousA at 23-01-2012 09:11 AM (12 years ago)
^^^ Grin

From the OP:
“This is a very serious matter. I have written to the government of China and I am planning to actually travel there on behalf of the Federal Government to have the details of their cases.

Some things never change, do they?
I suppose the cheaper alternative of weekly video conferences, emails and telex aren't quite as enjoyable, eh, minister?
Posted: at 23-01-2012 09:11 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- MEND at 23-01-2012 09:12 AM (12 years ago)
I wish dem quick positive verdict!!!!
Posted: at 23-01-2012 09:12 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Idbabe at 23-01-2012 09:32 AM (12 years ago)
When will we start to have them in Naija jail? Or Naija any oyinbo can do anything and go scot free
Posted: at 23-01-2012 09:32 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- simonhen at 23-01-2012 09:39 AM (12 years ago)
75% Igbos, 20% Yorubas 5% goes to who?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh??.
Posted: at 23-01-2012 09:39 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- zeigbo at 23-01-2012 09:45 AM (12 years ago)
Nawaoo

Posted: at 23-01-2012 09:45 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- malvin2525 at 23-01-2012 09:51 AM (12 years ago)
no be today
Posted: at 23-01-2012 09:51 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- PreciousA at 23-01-2012 09:54 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: MEND on 23-01-2012 09:12 AM
I wish dem quick positive verdict!!!!

What are you talking about?
The OP stated they were serving jail terms. That means their verdict was 'guilty'.
Posted: at 23-01-2012 09:54 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- slimber at 23-01-2012 09:57 AM (12 years ago)
this one no be news
Posted: at 23-01-2012 09:57 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- onlyGodknows at 23-01-2012 10:00 AM (12 years ago)
Nigeria thrives on corruption, it is corruption that sent those fellows out of the country in search of money, unfortunately, these countries have no place for foreigners at all unlike Nigeria where the road is free for everyone including these foreigners. And our embassies are terrible. Most of our ambassadors are not serving their citizens out there, as usual, very corrupt. Infact, Nigeria is the only country where people are paid, and they do not render the service. What is the Nigerian ambassador to china, or whatever they call him/her doing about all these?
Posted: at 23-01-2012 10:00 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- umehudoka at 23-01-2012 10:05 AM (12 years ago)
Oga minister where are the jobs and capital for business? Abeg try talk some thing else joooor.... see how useless una government put the youths and you are here runing your mouth. nonsense Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry  
Posted: at 23-01-2012 10:05 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Unikly at 23-01-2012 10:07 AM (12 years ago)
Ok....Its Not There Fault Jor....90% Of The Blame Goes To The Government....If Only They Can Explore Other Areas Of The Economy And Also Improve The Power Sector(PHCN) In This Country, Am Sure Lots Of Jobs Will Be Created And They Won't Have To Look 4 FAST MONEY, Except The Greed Ones That Are Not Ready To Work.
Posted: at 23-01-2012 10:07 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- umehudoka at 23-01-2012 10:21 AM (12 years ago)
Just a peaceful protest the other day that lead to killing of youths, una no see that one abi... or you fink they buy the idea traveling out of their country for jobs and end mets? NOW TELL ME, THEM WEY DEY PRISON AND THE ONES WEY DIE FOR DECEMBER 25, JANUARY FIRST  TILL DATE WHO BETTER PASS? MY FELLOW YOUTHS ITS TIME WE BLAME OUR SELF AND FIGHT FOR OUR FUTURE. NO SECURITY, NO JOB, PEOPLE DIE EVERY DAY AT THE HOSPITAL SIMPLY BCOS NO MONEY FOR MEDICAL, WHILE SOME SALE UP THEIR LANDED PROPERTY TO SEE IF HE OR SHE CAN TRAVEL OUT TO ASSIST THEIR FAMILY.  BELIEVE ME FOR NO ONE WILL BUY THE IDEA OF TRAVELING OUT IF ONLY NIGERIA IS OK. THEY NEED OUR PRAYER NOW AND NOT BLAMING THEM COS ITS NOT ONLY IN CHINA BUT THE WHOLE WORLD. ASK OUR SELF WHY ARE THEY TRAVELING OUT IF NIGERIA IS A BETTER PLACE. EVEN NOW, MANY NIGERIA ARE STILL LOOKING FOR A WAY OUT AND WE FINK ITS NORMAL. :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'(
Posted: at 23-01-2012 10:21 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- DHash at 23-01-2012 10:27 AM (12 years ago)
Ok.
Posted: at 23-01-2012 10:27 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- proly at 23-01-2012 10:39 AM (12 years ago)
nawaoooooooooooooooooooooo
Posted: at 23-01-2012 10:39 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- Vigilante at 23-01-2012 10:43 AM (12 years ago)
Typical!!!
Posted: at 23-01-2012 10:43 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Evrarocks at 23-01-2012 10:49 AM (12 years ago)
Very sad
Posted: at 23-01-2012 10:49 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- MEND at 23-01-2012 10:54 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: PreciousA on 23-01-2012 09:54 AM
What are you talking about?
The OP stated they were serving jail terms. That means their verdict was 'guilty'.

Sorry Madam Lecturer! na finger-print error. You still dey beef me?
Posted: at 23-01-2012 10:54 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4 ... 8