The Grand Farce called Nigeria - Part II

Date: 02-02-2012 3:44 pm (12 years ago) | Author: Princepraise
- at 2-02-2012 03:44 PM (12 years ago)
Dr. Ifesanya
Weimar, Germany
The 1st Division of the Nigerian Army is in the North (that is the REAL armoury of the country, it houses the real military hardware of the country, even more than those in all other formations put together). Why didn't they put the 82 Div in the North and the 1st in Enugu or Ibadan? The Air force’ prime base is in the North, the National capital was removed from the South to the North, the Nigerian Defence Academy is in the North, The countries only IAEA approved Nuclear reactor is in the Zaria in the North, etc, etc, WHILE the oil is in the South. It is the same mind set of setting up refineries in the North when the oil is in the South. It must always be for the benefit of the North at the detriment of the South! Nigeria as it is presently is designed to fail and it cannot do otherwise.

South be wise!

“The nuclear reactor was installed at the Centre for Energy Research and Training, Zaria in 1997, making the country the 6th African nation”

“The Centre for Energy Research and Training, Zaria, which is the country’s only IAEA’s approved classified nuclear facility occupies a 32 hectares of land with five departments....”

http://inwent-iij-lab.org/Weblog/2010/10/26/inside-nigeria%E2%80%99s-only-nuclear-research-centre/

Everything of importance must be in the North!

Can you imagine that Umaru Yar’Adua chose Iran, of all nations, for developing Nigeria’s nuclear program http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/7587582.stm . I am thoroughly ashamed to be a Nigerian. I posted a link recently on my Facebook page where a Western poll stated that nigeria is the only country in the world where more than 50% of the people support Al-queda and Bin-Laden! The irresponsible Western journalist definitely carried out their poll in the North. I know that even the southern moslems can never support Bin-laden. I remember very well, in the aftermath of the 9/11, that elders from the North criticized President Obasanjo for condemning the attack. Talk of being ashamed, I am thouroughly ashamed of Nigeria. If your son was convicted for stealing, will you say, “despite that, I’m proud of my son”? No, you will say “I regret his action and apologise on behalf of the family”. Of course, he is still your son and you will do whatever you can to lead him on a better course in life. That is why I laugh when I hear or read things like “I am proud to be Nigerian”.

I think that in addition to the Army, Air force and nuclear facilities in the North, the Naval Headquarters should also be moved there immediately the dredging of the Niger River is completed!! The enormous funds being expended on the useless politically motivated project of dredging should have been spent on developing world class rail and road transportation across the country. This will benefit everybody, particularly the common man. How many people will travel on ships from Calabar to Abuja? Multiple millions travel our derelict roads daily, with several getting killed and maimed. Even the greatest countries in the world do not move goods WITHIN their country with ships! That is the main purview of rail transportation. It must always be for the benefit of the North at the detriment of the South!

The only reason Nigeria is still in existence is because the North is still enjoying the oil (have you seen what they have done in Abuja with the oil money while the Niger Delta has been destroyed?). Now they are dredging the Niger which is an ecological disaster for the Niger Delta and other communities around the banks of the river, and when the, then, Acting President, now President, moved to strengthen the land mass of the Delta area which is in terrible danger because of the unreasonable project, the North started blackmailing him that he hates the North. Why is it the north that is crying? If it is of such great benefit to the entire nation, why is it the North that is obsessed about the project? It is mis-placed priority with grave environmental damage that far surpasses whatever infinitesimal benefit which is majorly to prepare the North for the eventual separation from the south when the oil dries up! Every issue in Nigeria has always been a North-South issue. When will be close that chapter and move on in our separate ways?

It is unfortunate that some equate the internal conflict within the South, like the Aguleri-Umuleri and Ife-Modake, to the same problem between the North and South of Nigeria. It is not the same. The former were conflicts that arose out of extreme provocation of a people who have for long lived together without such terrible conflicts. They were one-time thing that occurred and were never heard of again, since then. Its like family quarrels which sometimes are inevitable. But from the inception of Nigeria, the northerners have been killing the southerners regularly, yearly, monthly, and weekly, till this very week! I would implore those who insist on the perpetuation of the grand farce and white elephant called Nigeria to realize that even a marriage between two individuals can be lawfully terminated when it fails to meet the aspirations of the parties involved. That is the manifestation of every individual’s right to liberty. Why should a people be denied that right of choice?

Different sections of various countries have been separating from each other from time immemorial, so there is nothing wrong with it, as it is not something unheard of or an anathema. Pakistan was peacefully carved out of India in1947 and Bangladesh later came out. India is today a nuclear-power nation.

A properly organized and strong Nigeria is definitely better than fragmented little countries. However, the Holy Scripture says that "a dry morsel with peace is better than great wealth" (paraphrased). There can never be a great Nigeria without addressing the fundamental issues that separate the North and the South, and the glaring injustices.

There is a possibility of situation been redressed. This will be a good solution indeed, IF it can be allowed, because there are many good, principled and decent northern people who are also disheartened by the misnomer. This can be achieved by allowing the entire country with all her constituent groups to engage in a ‘no-holds-barred’ Sovereign National Conference where the conditions for the continued existence of the entity is discussed and agreed on. This effectively means that the lop-sided concentration of facilities, amenities and military facilities will be revised. Anything short of this is merely postponing the evil day.

The main problem about convening this crucially important conference is that the ‘leaders’ who have the authority and wherewithal to facilitate it are not interested in it. Who are the ‘leaders’? Who is speaking for the people? Nobody! Is it these governors who are receiving such criminal sums of money in the name of security vote or the over-paid idle legislators who do not want to rock the boat because of their own personal gains that we are waiting for? We, ‘The People’, have to move urgently!

I laugh every time I hear or read ‘I love Nigeria’. What is there to love about something that only brings you shame and sorrow? If you know the shame & terrible disadvantage we here in Europe experience daily, just because of the name ‘Nigeria’, or the ‘special’ treatment you get at airports around the world, you will know that the earlier ‘Goodbye Nigeria’ comes to pass, the better for all of us. I love my fellow Nigerians; from the North, East, West, Middle belt, etc, I love my fellow Nigerians; Christians, Muslims, animists, etc. Some f the most pleasant human beings I’ve known are from the North & the Middle Belt area of the country. After all, we all belong to the Black race; we are all brothers, and we should support one other. But we don’t have to be in the same country, if it’s inconvenient. We hardly ever agree on anything since 1914; from census to election results to location of industries & military bases, etc. I like my friend, but it’s a different matter if he wants to move into my flat! Nigeria is nothing but an unnecessary inconvenience to all of us who are unfortunate to find ourselves in it. Nigeria is a farce, Nigeria cannot survive, it will not survive, may it not survive, so that we can all have peace. I don’t love Nigeria and I have no apologies about it.

Posted: at 2-02-2012 03:44 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- farsam400 at 5-02-2012 01:36 AM (12 years ago)
Nigeria will break up whether north like it or not. Thounsands of christians
have been killed but no emir,governor leader has ever condemed such
atrocities. How can they when they are boko haram sponsors
May God Almighty grant the strengh to separate Nigeria for peace to
reign in Christ name. The situation has exceeded boiling point
Posted: at 5-02-2012 01:36 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- edobaking at 5-02-2012 11:54 AM (12 years ago)
well said
Posted: at 5-02-2012 11:54 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- binshehu at 13-02-2012 11:51 AM (12 years ago)
Karma gentlemen, karma. The location of some institutions up country is for strategic reasons. Having some institutions close  to our coastline makes them vulnerable to attacks. As for oil,when ever it dries up Naija has lots of other resources to tap from it is only our laziness that is keeping us from exploiting these myriads of deposits. No one in the North can stop southerners from acquiring or developing property in Abuja.It is so centrally located that to think it belongs to the North alone is myopic.Our number one problem in Naija(North&South) is mutual distrust,which is an evil seed sown by self centered people. The US is a shining example for us to believe in the Project call Nigeria.Even if we divide Naija into a hundred countries complains of this nature will always surface.
Posted: at 13-02-2012 11:51 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie