Shocking: Female Banker Shot Dead in Lagos

Date: 07-02-2012 5:03 am (12 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 ... 8
- at 7-02-2012 05:03 AM (12 years ago)
A  female banker with the United Bank for Africa, Damilola Sowemimo, was on Sunday killed by two gunmen operating on a motorcycle.

Metro learnt that Sowemimo, 25, was killed while going to church in the morning. It was also learnt that she was killed in front of her parent’s house at 1, Agbor Close, Isolo Way, Ajao Estate.

A friend of the deceased, Tosin Adeboye, told our correspondent that the gunmen came on a commercial motorcycle.

She said, “On Sunday morning, Damilola (Sowemimo) was going to church. Her friends had parked on the other side of the road and she was attempting to cross when two men on a motorcycle appeared from nowhere.

“The bandits came down from the bike, snatched her phone and ransacked her bag. When they did not see any valuables in her bag, they got angry and shot her in the neck before speeding off.”

It was gathered that the deceased was immediately rushed to a nearby hospital but later gave up the ghost as she bled profusely.

Sowemimo attended Federal Government Girls’ College, Oyo, and later went to Bowen University, Iwo, Osun State, where she studied Microbiology.

The Police Public Relations Officer for the state command, Mr. Joseph Jaiyeoba, confirmed the incident to our correspondent on the telephone, adding that the police had started investigating the case.

He said, “The lady was coming from church when two men on okada accosted her. They stole her telephone and also attempted to snatch her handbag but she engaged them in a struggle and was shot. She was later rushed to a hospital where she died.

“However, her telephone was recovered along the expressway as her assailants were involved in an accident along the expressway. They (assailants) however managed to escape.”

Jaiyeoba maintained that the police had beefed up security in the area so as to prevent a recurrence

Posted: at 7-02-2012 05:03 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- umehudoka at 7-02-2012 05:14 AM (12 years ago)
WHAT A WICKED WORLD... THEY WILL NEVER GO UNPUNISHED. RIP DEAR
Posted: at 7-02-2012 05:14 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- nememma at 7-02-2012 05:36 AM (12 years ago)
her murderers woul nt go unpunishd. Rip dear
Posted: at 7-02-2012 05:36 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- tundenike at 7-02-2012 05:57 AM (12 years ago)
god will fish them out and they will never go unpunished in jesus name. RIP Dear!
Posted: at 7-02-2012 05:57 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 7-02-2012 06:09 AM (12 years ago)
very bad, may her soul rest in peace, it look like a plan asassination,
Posted: at 7-02-2012 06:09 AM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- malvin2525 at 7-02-2012 06:18 AM (12 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 7-02-2012 06:18 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- patiwezue at 7-02-2012 06:49 AM (12 years ago)
Hmmmmm too bad.
Posted: at 7-02-2012 06:49 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- umehudoka at 7-02-2012 07:04 AM (12 years ago)
NOT ALL THE FRIENDS YOU HAVE GETS HAPPY ON THE POSITION YOU OCCUPY IN OFFICE. IF NOT, WHAT ELSE MUST HAVE LEAD TO HER UNTIMELY DEATH. AGAIN.. BEWARE OF THE PEOPLE YOU SHARE SECRET WITH. RIP DEAR
Posted: at 7-02-2012 07:04 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- LEONE at 7-02-2012 07:08 AM (12 years ago)
RIP girl.
Posted: at 7-02-2012 07:08 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- lertipha at 7-02-2012 07:18 AM (12 years ago)
Yes,damilola was a friend,an epitome of beauty a fellow microbiologist, very industrious. Your face is still fresh in my memory I remember that day in september 2010 that I saw you,I never knew I would never see you again.  Dearest Dami Sowemimo,we luv u and will miss you.Dami Sowemimo was a Bowenite,studied Micro Biology,09 set. REST IN PEACE. Your killers shall meet you soonest.
Posted: at 7-02-2012 07:18 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- lawlar20 at 7-02-2012 07:24 AM (12 years ago)
rest in peace ................dis life sha :'( :'( :'(
Posted: at 7-02-2012 07:24 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- ucbooo at 7-02-2012 07:27 AM (12 years ago)
when all this will stop in this country o my GOD save your people.
Posted: at 7-02-2012 07:27 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- lanudja at 7-02-2012 07:29 AM (12 years ago)
RIP Beautiful lady.
Posted: at 7-02-2012 07:29 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- lertipha at 7-02-2012 07:39 AM (12 years ago)
RIP.
Posted: at 7-02-2012 07:39 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- p4490758 at 7-02-2012 07:43 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: malvin2525 on  7-02-2012 06:18 AM
:o :o :o :o
I totally agree with you bro what a lost RIP dear..
Posted: at 7-02-2012 07:43 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Kennyg428 at 7-02-2012 07:48 AM (12 years ago)
Its wicked pple dat makes d world a miserable 1...RIP

Posted: at 7-02-2012 07:48 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- fuckinjoe at 7-02-2012 07:50 AM (12 years ago)
MAY YOUR GENTLE SOUL REST IN PERFECT PEACE...............................................AMEN

Posted: at 7-02-2012 07:50 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- basco20 at 7-02-2012 07:50 AM (12 years ago)
why did u engaged  them with struggle,  that's why they shot the girl, well, who so ever use a gun to kill fellow human being
remember, him/she, also go by gun
Posted: at 7-02-2012 07:50 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- onlyGodknows at 7-02-2012 07:54 AM (12 years ago)
Wickedness. RIP and may your people be consoled.
Posted: at 7-02-2012 07:54 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- CHUKAGLY at 7-02-2012 07:58 AM (12 years ago)
RIP

Posted: at 7-02-2012 07:58 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4 ... 8