Trailer crushes graduate selling roasted yam in Ekiti

Date: 29-02-2012 6:30 am (12 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4
- at 29-02-2012 06:30 AM (12 years ago)
Yesterday I posted a story about the Graduate Selling Plantain and Roasted Corn In Suit By The Road Side . Some people never believed that graduates in Nigeria are in deep trouble.

Today, I read about a tragic story in Ikere-Ekiti on Tuesday as the back of a trailer detached, hit an abandoned tanker and crushed a 27-year-old graduate selling roasted yam.

Although the lady was rescued and taken to a hospital immediately after the accident, she later died after about two hours.

The lady, Busayo Akogun, a graduate of College of Education, Ikere-Ekiti, was said to be assisting her mother at a roadside kiosk when the accident occurred.  Her mother was also said to have been crushed against the wall of a filling station and sustained a serious injury.

One of the eyewitnesses, Mr. Adekunle Olowolafe, said the legs of the mother were crushed.

Blood stains were seen in the rubble while personal effects of the victims littered the scene when our correspondent visited the area.

But the grill and the local oven on which the lady and her mother were roasting the yam were still standing while the roasted yams were well set on the grill.

Policemen and officials of the Federal Road Safety Corps who arrived the scene quickly evacuated the victims to a hospital.

But some of the sympathisers who assisted the officials later returned and said Akogun had died.

Also, two trailers and a Golf car were involved in another accident at Aramoko-Ekiti on Tuesday.

Eyewitnesses told our correspondent on the telephone that the trailers collided and their impact affected the car.

The Police Public Relations Officer in Ekiti State, Mr.  Mohammed Jimoh, who confirmed the accidents to our correspondent, said two persons were injured in the Ikere accident and nobody was injured in Aramoko.

Meanwhile, the Deputy Governor of the state, Mrs. Funmi Olayinka, who was among those who first visited the Ikere-Ekiti accident scene, has cautioned drivers to always obey traffic rules.

The deputy governor who noted that over speeding and lack of consideration for other road users was common among trailers’ drivers, warned them to be cautious on the road.

Posted: at 29-02-2012 06:30 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- wilat at 29-02-2012 06:48 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: nametalkam on 29-02-2012 06:30 AM
Yesterday I posted a story about the Graduate Selling Plantain and Roasted Corn In Suit By The Road Side . Some people never believed that graduates in Nigeria are in deep trouble.

Today, I read about a tragic story in Ikere-Ekiti on Tuesday as the back of a trailer detached, hit an abandoned tanker and crushed a 27-year-old graduate selling roasted yam.

From ur report,she was assisting her to roast yam and its not as if she own the business..if my mother fries akara on the road even if am a P.hd holder,It doesn't stop me from assisting her. This is not a matter of graduate selling roasted yam like you want to point out to support you post yesterday.

Posted: at 29-02-2012 06:48 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- wilat at 29-02-2012 06:50 AM (12 years ago)
May her gentle soul rest in peace. Angry

Posted: at 29-02-2012 06:50 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Donjaxy at 29-02-2012 07:00 AM (12 years ago)
 :'( diz is sad o

Posted: at 29-02-2012 07:00 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- omapretty at 29-02-2012 07:02 AM (12 years ago)
I think its high for something to b done abt ds trailer guys, they ve caused so much havoc in d country
Posted: at 29-02-2012 07:02 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- EMMYBOSS at 29-02-2012 07:09 AM (12 years ago)
E YA.  A FULL GROWN LADY GOON.  TOO SAD. RIP SISTER
Posted: at 29-02-2012 07:09 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- pepmandy at 29-02-2012 07:15 AM (12 years ago)
 :'( sooooo sad. R.I.P
Posted: at 29-02-2012 07:15 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- nestoba at 29-02-2012 08:08 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: wilat on 29-02-2012 06:50 AM
May her gentle soul rest in peace. Angry
[/quote
If has a job what will she be doing at the road side, helping mamma because no job! She cannot be staying with the mother and eating and living for free that is why she was there helping from there she can eat too. The sick system has no means of evaluating and appraising manpower in terms of people with employment and  the unemployed and with an active action programme for employment.]
Posted: at 29-02-2012 08:08 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- abiwuyi at 29-02-2012 08:17 AM (12 years ago)
May her gentle soul rest in perfect peace. GEJ do something about this country. If this country breaks, posterity will not forgive you. A country that our past Heroes fought for should not be destroyed during your own tenure

Posted: at 29-02-2012 08:17 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- davetwist at 29-02-2012 08:19 AM (12 years ago)
may the Almighty Lord recieve her in his bosom.
my God,what a wasted telent and beauty.
Posted: at 29-02-2012 08:19 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- verah at 29-02-2012 08:23 AM (12 years ago)
this guys that drives trailers at times i wonder if they hav been injected to drive recklessly

Posted: at 29-02-2012 08:23 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bomsiluv at 29-02-2012 08:29 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: abiwuyi on 29-02-2012 08:17 AM
May her gentle soul rest in perfect peace. GEJ do something about this country. If this country breaks, posterity will not forgive you. A country that our past Heroes fought for should not be destroyed during your own tenure

What has GEJ got to do with dis abi na him bi d trailer driver?
Posted: at 29-02-2012 08:29 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Unikpearl at 29-02-2012 08:33 AM (12 years ago)
Sun n re...omo ikere
God will console your family
Posted: at 29-02-2012 08:33 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ssstrawberry at 29-02-2012 08:39 AM (12 years ago)
Kai wahala dey
Posted: at 29-02-2012 08:39 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- MYKELGUY at 29-02-2012 08:47 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: omapretty on 29-02-2012 07:02 AM
I think its high for something to b done abt ds trailer guys, they ve caused so much havoc in d country
they are too reckless.
Posted: at 29-02-2012 08:47 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- kenizo at 29-02-2012 08:54 AM (12 years ago)
plsssssssssssssssssss posters give us news that will make us smile, not news of sadness plsssssssssssssss we bed of you i think im speaking the mind of someone here?
Posted: at 29-02-2012 08:54 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- kenizo at 29-02-2012 08:55 AM (12 years ago)
beg*
Posted: at 29-02-2012 08:55 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- sophiebaby at 29-02-2012 09:25 AM (12 years ago)
 :'( :'( :'(

Posted: at 29-02-2012 09:25 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kinkyebony at 29-02-2012 09:43 AM (12 years ago)
May her soul rest in perfect peace IJN  AMEN,  AMEN,  &  AMEN.
Posted: at 29-02-2012 09:43 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 29-02-2012 09:54 AM (12 years ago)
Firstly, d road side selling thg is wrong especially in nigeria whr nobody follow road instruction.
Secondly if dat lady was working will she died dat way? Oh my country nigeria wen u learn.
Posted: at 29-02-2012 09:54 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
[1] 2 3 4

1. Celebrity Bar Man, Cubana Chief Priest in Messy Land Tussle With Imo State Government

2. Owners of Abuja Chinese Supermarket Where Nigerians Are Barred Respond to FCCPC‘s Summons

3. I Brought Afrobeat to America, Even Before Wizkid & Drake's Collabo - Singer, Rotimi (VID)

4. PHOTOS: 8 Years Old Girl Severely Assaulted and Left Almost Blinded by Her Aunt in Lagos

5. Tanzania Shuts Down 5 Hydroelectric Stations to Reduce Excess Electricity in The National Grid

6. 'God Won't Forgive Me If I Forget Leaders Who Put Me In Office When...' - APC Gov. Aspirant,

7. Teenager, Abiodun Adewuyi Sentence To Three Years In Jail For Stealing Water Taps In Edo

8. VIDEO: Davido Lists Artistes He Loves To Collaborate With

9. "I’ll Have 11 Children Until My Late Son, Kambili Returns" – Actor, Yul Edochie Vows

10. Actress, Uche Ogbodo Advices Single Colleagues To Marry Themselves

11. Police Arrest Two Suspects Over killing Of Okada Rider In Niger State