"I'll protect Nigerians - Home and Abroad", President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan

Date: 08-03-2012 3:38 pm (12 years ago) | Author: Akeem Jaffe Jaffa
- at 8-03-2012 03:38 PM (12 years ago)
      President Goodluck Jonathan has assured Nigerians at home and in the Diaspora that his administration will ensure their wellbeing wherever they are.
In a post on Facebook, Jonathan said his administration would pursue its “citizen-centered” foreign policy vigorously.
Jonathan’s comments came a few hours after South Africa apologised for last week’s deportation of 125 Nigerians for alleged non-possession of Yellow Fever cards. Nigeria reciprocated by denying entry to 119 South Africans.

Although he did not mention the diplomatic spat between Nigeria and South Africa in his post, the President said his administration had remained true to his September 18, 2010 commitment to national interest and the wellbeing of Nigerians in the global arena when the need arose.

The Facebook post, in which he made veiled references to the row between Niegria and South Africa, was his first comment since the spat broke out.

He also said his administration was able to quickly resolve the blacklisting of NIgeria by the United States, after the failed Christmas Day 2009 attempt by underwear bomber, Umar AbdulMutallab, to down an American airliner over Detroit, Michigan, US.

He also gave other instances where his administration had acted decisively to protect the interest of Nigerians in the Diaspora.
“In the last few months we have taken steps to actualise these promises as we were the FIRST nation to airlift her citizens from the Arab Republic of Egypt in 2011 as a result of the uprising there.

“To communicate to all and sundry that this was not by happen stance, we moved in to protect our citizens in Libyan Arab Jamahiriya and Cote d’Ivoire when threats to our citizens safety became apparent. The administration also ensured that Nigeria was removed from the US travel blacklist which we briefly entered as a result of the Abdulmutallab incident and ensured that Nigeria received Category One Status in the USA.
“These actions are a deliberate projection of the new citizen centered focus of Nigeria’s Foreign Policy and we will not relent. We are a nation of good people and collectively we will work for the good of humanity beginning from home.”
He also urged Nigerians to continue to be law-abiding, hardworking and united wherever they find themselves.
He added, “These are tough economic times and as we work night and day to turn things around for the better, I will continue to remind myself that the mandate you gave to me to defend you is a sacred mandate that will not be taken for granted. May God Almighty grant me the enablement to ‘never, never let you down’. GEJ”

http://www.punchng.com/news/my-administration-will-protect-nigerians-everywhere-jonathan/

Posted: at 8-03-2012 03:38 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- moralemike07 at 8-03-2012 03:56 PM (12 years ago)
Giving yourself hope, mtchew!
Posted: at 8-03-2012 03:56 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bachelorette at 8-03-2012 04:09 PM (12 years ago)
I believe in you, Mr. President!

Posted: at 8-03-2012 04:09 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Idbabe at 8-03-2012 05:31 PM (12 years ago)
Promise don full basin troway with zero action. Mtcheeeeew
Posted: at 8-03-2012 05:31 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- onyimau20 at 8-03-2012 05:47 PM (12 years ago)
I love that advise,''we shld continue to be law abiding citizens, wherever we found ourselves'' that is what our pple lack, after they must hv messed themselves up, they will start laying the blames on our gov. My president, i am proud of you! i know what u can do but be careful of pple that are around u Cool
Posted: at 8-03-2012 05:47 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- faithakwaugo at 8-03-2012 10:11 PM (12 years ago)
This is the encouragement we need. There's nothing like Nigerian messing up no excuse for inhuman treatment we suffer from SA immigration officials. It is good they are cautioned. They are too xenophobic, always looking for one reason to send you back,after intensive scrutiny from their Embassy and Home Affairs. When their Homeafairs gives u resident permit they said is fake u must bring Ur partner b4 they allow u in! That is embarrassing and we don't embarrass foreigners in our country! They are always welcome!
Posted: at 8-03-2012 10:11 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- yvonneobas at 8-05-2012 04:05 PM (12 years ago)
Enough of dos UNFULFIL PROMISES MR PRESIDO.,,,,Easier said then done.,,,,,,,,,,,,WE NEED ACTION NOT TALK COS ACTION DEY SAYs SPEAKS LOUDER DEN WORDS, hop u understand wat i mean mr presido,ACTIONNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN!!!
Posted: at 8-05-2012 04:05 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Taribs at 8-05-2012 06:34 PM (12 years ago)
Naija needs to create meaningful and prosperous relationships with all our African neighbours, Goodluck's main priority is his pockets first Naija second! People laugh at the idea of myself, Pastor Taribo West, running for president but who are they to turn their noses up at change. Taxes have inflated and potential work has lessened continuously under the Goodluck reign. We need change, be it under Taribs or someone else.

Yes We Afri-CAN!
Posted: at 8-05-2012 06:34 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- HOPEA23 at 8-05-2012 06:38 PM (12 years ago)
Whatever..one of the political talk...to gain votes on the next election.....
What happen to all the promises y'all have made before?? Abeg Jare..God will protect us
If u really mean this start by protecting those innocent pple in the north...

Posted: at 8-05-2012 06:38 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- mallorca at 8-05-2012 09:59 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Idbabe on  8-03-2012 05:31 PM
Promise don full basin troway with zero action. Mtcheeeeew
gbamology

Posted: at 8-05-2012 09:59 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- CammyWhite at 8-05-2012 11:25 PM (12 years ago)
President Jonathan shouldn't let his mouth write cheques that he can't cash, if you know what I mean.
Posted: at 8-05-2012 11:25 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- YUJIEFEM at 18-06-2012 01:23 PM (11 years ago)
Am not intrested, Yeye man, make in dey Save our money 4 Abroad Like Ibori and Ohers . Yeye leaders.

God go punish all of u with ur Fake Promises B4 Elected.
Posted: at 18-06-2012 01:23 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- dickman2 at 26-07-2012 12:44 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: YUJIEFEM on 18-06-2012 01:23 PM
Am not intrested, Yeye man, make in dey Save our money 4 Abroad Like Ibori and Ohers . Yeye leaders.

God go punish all of u with ur Fake Promises B4 Elected.
ok..
Posted: at 26-07-2012 12:44 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dlimelite at 26-07-2012 01:22 AM (11 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 26-07-2012 01:22 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- dickman2 at 19-08-2012 10:57 PM (11 years ago)
no action man ,,
Posted: at 19-08-2012 10:57 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- steve232 at 26-02-2013 11:04 PM (11 years ago)
Go sleep joor
Posted: at 26-02-2013 11:04 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- abati666 at 31-03-2013 11:42 PM (11 years ago)
LIAR....
Posted: at 31-03-2013 11:42 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac