You do not have to stay in Abusive Relationships

Date: 30-03-2012 1:38 am (12 years ago) | Author: ......
- at 30-03-2012 01:38 AM (12 years ago)
Domestic violence toward women: Recognize the patterns and seek help
Domestic abuse can happen to anyone, regardless of age, economic status, race and educational background. Find out how to recognize an abusive relationship and what resources are available to help.

*He says he's sorry and that it won't happen again. But you fear it will. Angry outbursts, hurtful words, sometimes a slap or a punch. You may start to doubt your own judgment, or wonder whether you're going crazy. Maybe you think you've imagined the whole thing.But you haven't.

Domestic violence can and does happen to people of all ages, races, and socioeconomic and educational backgrounds. Domestic violence happens to men and to same-sex partners, but most often domestic violence involves men abusing their female partners. In fact, the Department of Health and Human Services estimates that as many as 4 million women suffer abuse from their husbands, ex-husbands, boyfriends or intimate partners  each year.

Domestic violence — also called domestic abuse, intimate partner violence or battering — occurs between people in intimate relationships. It takes many forms, including coercion, threats, intimidation, isolation, and emotional, segxwal and physical abuse.

Without help, abuse will continue and could worsen. Many resources are available to help you understand your options and to support you. No one deserves to be abused.

An abusive relationship: It's about power and control, though there are no typical victims of domestic violence, abusive relationships do share similar characteristics. In all cases, the abuser aims to exert power and control over his partner.

"A lot of people think domestic violence is about anger, and it really isn't". "Batterers do tend to take their anger out on their intimate partner. But it's not really about anger. It's about trying to instill fear and wanting to have power and control in the relationship."

But anger is just one way that an abuser tries to gain authority. The batterer may also turn to physical violence — kicking, punching, grabbing, slapping or strangulation, for example. The abuser may also use segxwal violence — forcing you to have segxwal intercourse or to engage in other segxwal activities against your will.

In an abusive relationship, the abuser may use varying tactics to gain power and control, including:

1.Using your children as pawns. Accuses you of bad parenting, threatens to take the children away, uses the children to relay messages, or threatens to report you to children's protective services.
2.Coercion and threats. Threatens to hurt other family members, pets, children or self.
3.Denial and blame. Denies that the abuse occurs and shifts responsibility for the abusive behavior onto you. This may leave you confused and unsure of yourself or make you feel like you're going crazy.
4.Economic abuse. Controls finances, refuses to share money, makes you account for money spent and doesn't want you to work outside the home. The abuser may also try to sabotage your work performance by forcing you to miss work or by calling you frequently at work.
5.Emotional abuse. Uses put-downs, insults, criticism or name-calling to make you feel bad about yourself.
Intimidation. Uses certain looks, actions or gestures to instill fear. The abuser may break things, destroy property, abuse pets or display weapons.
6.Isolation. Limits your contact with family and friends, requires you to get permission to leave the house, doesn't allow you to work or attend school, and controls your activities and social events. The abuser may ask where you've been, track your time and whereabouts, or check the odometer on your car.
7.Power. Makes all major decisions, defines the roles in your relationship, is in charge of the home and social life, and treats you like a servant or possession.
Recognizing abuse: Know the signs
It may not be easy to identify abuse. An abusive relationship can start subtly. The abuser may criticize your appearance or may be unreasonably jealous. Gradually, the abuse becomes more frequent, severe and potentially life-threatening.

"It's important to know that these relationships don't happen overnight,it's a gradual process — a slow disintegration of a person's sense of self."

However, many characteristics signify an abusive relationship. For example, you may be abused if you:

Have ever been hit, kicked, shoved or threatened with violence .Feel that you have no choice about how you spend your time, where you go or what you wear .Have been accused by your partner of things you've never done .Must ask your partner for permission to make everyday decisions.Feel bad about yourself because your partner calls you names, insults you or puts you down .Limit time with your family and friends because of your partner's demands .Submit to segxwal intercourse or engage in segxwal acts against your will.Accept your partner's decisions because you're afraid of ensuing anger
Are accused of being unfaithful.Change your behavior in an effort to not anger your partner .

Domestic violence is part of a continuing cycle that's difficult to break. If you're in an abusive situation, you may recognize this pattern:

Your abuser strikes using words or actions.
Your abuser may beg for forgiveness, offer gifts or promise to change.
Your abuser becomes tense, angry or depressed.
Your abuser promises to stop but repeats the abusive behavior.
Typically each time the abuse occurs, it worsens, and the cycle shortens. Breaking this pattern of violence alone and without help is difficult.

"When you live in an environment of chaos, stress and fear, you start doubting yourself and your ability to take care of yourself". It can really unravel your sense of reality and self-esteem.

So it's important to recognize that you may not be in a position to resolve the situation on your own. You may need outside help, and that's OK. Without help, the abuse will likely continue. Leaving the abusive relationship may be the only way to break the cycle.

Getting ready to leave: Use a safety plan
Leaving an abuser can be dangerous. You're the only person who knows the safest time to leave. Make sure you prepare a safety plan so that you can act quickly when the time is right. Consider taking these precautions:

Arrange a safety signal with a neighbor as an alert to call the police if necessary.
Prepare an emergency bag that includes items you'll need when you leave, such as extra clothes, important papers, money, extra keys and prescription medications.
Know exactly where you'll go and how you'll get there, even if you have to leave in the middle of the night.

As part of a safety plan, avoid making long-distance phone calls from home because the abuser could trace the calls to find out where you're going. And the abuser may be able to intercept your cell phone conversations using a scanner. Switch to a corded phone if you're relaying sensitive information.

Also, be aware that the abuser may be able to monitor your Internet activities and access your e-mail account. Change your passwords, get a new e-mail account or access a computer at a friend's house or a local library.

"There are many resources available to help you if you are being abused."  "You can have and you deserve a peaceful life."

Posted: at 30-03-2012 01:38 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- jossy4reall at 30-03-2012 08:16 AM (12 years ago)
too long...plz can u tell me all dis in 1 word Huh?.......if it pleases u Cool

Posted: at 30-03-2012 08:16 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- faithakwaugo at 30-03-2012 12:46 PM (12 years ago)
U are right but when kids r involved how do u leave?
Posted: at 30-03-2012 12:46 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- 50scent at 30-03-2012 12:55 PM (12 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes if kids are involved  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Posted: at 30-03-2012 12:55 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- winace at 30-03-2012 03:23 PM (12 years ago)
Yes u are rite but d post is too long.
Posted: at 30-03-2012 03:23 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- 50scent at 30-03-2012 03:31 PM (12 years ago)
 Grin

Posted: at 30-03-2012 03:31 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- mallorca at 30-03-2012 07:34 PM (12 years ago)
who wan read dis newspapers Huh?

Posted: at 30-03-2012 07:34 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- HOPEA23 at 30-03-2012 10:08 PM (12 years ago)
U tried

Posted: at 30-03-2012 10:08 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Empress_Ameera at 31-03-2012 12:52 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: faithakwaugo on 30-03-2012 12:46 PM
U are right but when kids r involved how do u leave?

When children are involved it is of the essence that either the abuse stops , or the person being abused leave the home. The reality is most children that are brought up in abusive homes grow up being abused or abusers. It is extremely hard, however with prayer and family support it is possible. I have a cousin that instead of leaving her abuser she is marrying him tomorrow with a blackeye he just gave her Sunday. Its really sad, I can only pray God  heals the heart of her future spouse.

Posted: at 31-03-2012 12:52 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Treasure2 at 31-03-2012 11:34 AM (12 years ago)
Most women you see in abusive marriage are not staying bc they are happy with what is happening but bc of the kids. Is not easy for a woman with kids to leave like. The future of the kids will be considerated first.
Posted: at 31-03-2012 11:34 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- Empress_Ameera at 1-04-2012 02:50 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Treasure2 on 31-03-2012 11:34 AM
Most women you see in abusive marriage are not staying bc they are happy with what is happening but bc of the kids. Is not easy for a woman with kids to leave like. The future of the kids will be considerated first.

This is true however thats the point, children need to see appropriate behaviors especially from their parents....

Posted: at 1-04-2012 02:50 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Treasure2 at 2-04-2012 02:19 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Empress_Ameera on  1-04-2012 02:50 AM
This is true however thats the point, children need to see appropriate behaviors especially from their parents....
Posted: at 2-04-2012 02:19 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- sarah555 at 2-04-2012 02:30 PM (12 years ago)
Abusive relationship upon all this economy wahala?
abeg capital,
NO.
if pinkin and marriage involve, we go manage am till person tier to dey manage  Cool
Posted: at 2-04-2012 02:30 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chicco77 at 6-09-2012 10:06 AM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 6-09-2012 10:06 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- babe84 at 6-09-2012 11:27 AM (11 years ago)
she can leave if shes independent. women should go out and do something wit their lives instead of just being a' HOUSEHOUSE'
Posted: at 6-09-2012 11:27 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- bittersweet at 6-09-2012 12:36 PM (11 years ago)
Of course we shouldn't stay in abusive relationships!
The sooner ppls realize that,the better for their life and for their kids' life(in case kids are involved)

Posted: at 6-09-2012 12:36 PM (11 years ago) | Hero

1. Forex: CBN Stops Opay,Palmpay, Kuda& Moniepoint From Onboarding New Customers

2. Internet on Fire As Wizkid and Davido Fight Each Other With Words on X(Twitter)

3. Odumeje Disappointed Us - Abroad Based Man Shares What ‘Indaboski’ Did at London Airport

4. SHOCKING Moment Two Employees Were Caught on CCTV Performing Rituals in The Office

5. Careful o, I'm Not The One to Be Played With - Tekno Replies Kizz Daniel Over 'Buga' Royalties

6. War Of Words Lingers On As Oritse Femi Sides With Wizkid After Calling Don Jazzy An Influencer

7. Former UFC Heavyweight Champion, Francis Ngannou Mourns Death of His 18months Old Son

8. Upcoming Singer, Gnewzy, Kidnapped in Delta, His Abductors Demand $200k Ransom

9. 16 Persons Land In Police Net Over Murder Of Female Police Inspector, Erekere In Rivers

10. Wizkid Shades Davido’s Signee, Peruzzi, Calls Him 'Pant Washer Songwriter’

11. Nigerian Students & Others Faces Unemployment Crisis In Canada

12. Isreal DMW Drags Wizkid Following Rift With His Boss, Davido

13. VIDEO: Singer Teni Wades In Wizkid & Other's Beef, Says Nigerian Female Artists Too Boring

14. PHOTOS: How Teenager Allegedly Kill 2Yr Old Boy, Harvests Organs In Cross River

15. Bayern Munich v Real Madrid: UEFA Champions League S/Final Match,Team News,Goal Scorers & Stats

16. Troops Arrest Human Trafficker In Lagos As 22Yr Old Victim Escapes After She Overheard Plan

17. Tragedy As Young Man Commits Suicide After Issuing Notice To Quit His Apartment Over N60k Rent

18. Ministry Of Power Is Acting The Script Of IMF & Word Bank Following Electricity Hike- Femi Fala

19. Ex Gov Attahiru Bafarawa Narrates How Bandits Made Him Abandon His 10,000 Hectares Of Land

20. “I Can Retire Today And You’ll Still Not Be On My Level” – Wizkid Replies Davido

1. Benin Kingdom Suspends Five Functionaries For ‘Unauthorised’ Visit To Ooni Of Ife

2. Nigerian Tenant Discovers Landlord With Wife & Daughter, Sparks Outrage Online (Video)

3. Lady Who Worked As A Maid In Saudi Arabia Narrates Her Harrowing Ordeal As Boss Impregnates Her

4. I Will Reconcile Atiku And Wike If I Emerge PDP National Chairman – Suswam

5. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

6. No More Big 3 In Afrobeat, I'm On Same Level With Wizkid, Davido And Burnaboy - Rema Reveals

7. Investigation Launched Into Mysterious Death Of VGC Chairman, Gihan Mbelu In Lagos

8. Drama As Actress, Toyin Abraham Ajeyemi Clashes With Area Boys On Movie Set (Video)

9. VIDEO: Singer, Davido Becomes First to Own The $500,000 2024 Rolls Royce Spectre

10. Wunmi Ajiboye Reunites With Estranged Husband, Segun Ogungbe, Days After Dragging Him (Video)