Nigeria wants Mali junta toppled

Date: 30-03-2012 6:50 pm (12 years ago) | Author: Rasta Bien
- at 30-03-2012 06:50 PM (12 years ago)
The Nigerian senate is pushing for military action against Malian coup plotters who last week deposed the government of President Amadou Toumani Tuore.

In a resolution condemning the putsch in the West African country and the suspension of the constitution by renegade soldiers led by Captain Amadou Sanogo, the senate proposed the use of force to restore Toure’s government.

The senate argued military action would send the strongest message not only to the soldiers in Mali but elements elsewhere in Africa who might want to draw inspirations from Captain Amadou Sanogo.

Following a motion by Senator Victor Ndoma-Egba calling for a Nigerian-led invasion to oust the soldiers, Senate President David Mark maintained that the coup plotters in Mali must be removed from power.

“Clearly, Nigeria needs to show leadership and it is not just leadership by words but leadership by deeds and if we are able to put together ECOWAS (Economic Community of West African States) to come out in whatever way to let the Malians know that we cannot fold our hands and allow non-democratic government to come to power through whatever means,” he said.

Meanwhile, ECOWAS on Thursday set the coup leaders a three-day ultimatum to restore constitutional order or face diplomatic and economic isolation.

The junta have cited former President Toure government’s “incompetent” handling of a rebellion by the Tuareg desert warriors in the country’s north.

While the putsch has created turmoil in Bamako, the Tuareg have made territorial gains and the rebel soldiers have earned condemnation from the world community and from African leaders.

Share This Story

RELATED STORIES

Ivory Coast, Burkinabe leaders abandon Mali mission
Mali's Tuareg rebels advance as world condemns coup
Five heads of state from the 15-nation ECOWAS bloc were on Thursday on a plane headed to Mali for crisis talks with the coup leaders.

However, their plane turned back when dozens of pro-coup demonstrators swarmed the runway at Bamako’s airport.

The delegation — made up of the presidents of Ivory Coast, Burkina Faso, Liberia, Benin and Niger — returned to the Ivory Coast city Abidjan.

At an emergency meeting, they urged ECOWAS member states to place a travel ban on Mali’s military rulers and threatened a “diplomatic and financial embargo” unless order is restored within 72 hours.

Observers are hardly surprised by Nigeria’s tough stance on Mali given the growing fears that the Boko Haram terror war against the Nigerian state might snowball into a coup d’état.

The fears have been heightened since the soldiers in Mali stated that their action was precipitated by the activities of the Tuareg rebels, which has displaced 200,000 people in that African country.

Posted: at 30-03-2012 06:50 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- eluster29 at 30-03-2012 09:17 PM (12 years ago)
Can you imagine the Nigerian government, debating on taking lead in invading Mali coup leaders...hahahahaha.. na laugh i just dey laugh.This is rather shameful,because the world will laugh at them.Have they taking time to look at the economy and standard of living of other western nations that invades other countries for terrorism? Nigerians are suffering, bokoharam is bombing,unemployment is on the rise,poverty is on the rise,no security,constant power failure,education is creeping,politicians are looting........... i just cant belief this... May God Help Nigeria. Angry  Embarrassed  i am shocked>> Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 30-03-2012 09:17 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- escapedprince at 31-03-2012 06:03 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Zahradeen on 30-03-2012 09:47 PM
Is there any wisdom in threatening the Mali military junta by ECOWAS especially Nigeria? Now that we have Boko Haram Junta in our country. Imagine....you no solve your own problem, na neighbors' problem you wan go solve Angry Angry Huh? Huh? Huh? Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Cry Cry Cry
I tire for them !!
Posted: at 31-03-2012 06:03 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cadanre at 31-03-2012 07:58 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: eluster29 on 30-03-2012 09:17 PM
Can you imagine the Nigerian government, debating on taking lead in invading Mali coup leaders...hahahahaha.. na laugh i just dey laugh.This is rather shameful,because the world will laugh at them.Have they taking time to look at the economy and standard of living of other western nations that invades other countries for terrorism? Nigerians are suffering, bokoharam is bombing,unemployment is on the rise,poverty is on the rise,no security,constant power failure,education is creeping,politicians are looting........... i just cant belief this... May God Help Nigeria. Angry  Embarrassed  i am shocked>> Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked

That is 9ja politicians for you. People who never cares about their people and the problems we are suffering. Shegu, Matsiyata

Posted: at 31-03-2012 07:58 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- cadanre at 31-03-2012 08:00 AM (12 years ago)
My prayer is when next 9ja military overthrow this useless government, let them execute all these idiots. I don't want any one of the spared. Or do you think they deserve to live?

Posted: at 31-03-2012 08:00 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- badnaija at 31-03-2012 08:35 AM (12 years ago)

Quote from: eluster29 on 30-03-2012 09:17 PM
NAIJA WETIN DEY  Shocked  Shocked  Shocked  Shocked
Posted: at 31-03-2012 08:35 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming