Clifford Orji dies in Kirikiri Prison

Date: 19-08-2012 4:40 am (11 years ago) | Author: joyce
[1] 2 3 4 ... 13
- at 19-08-2012 04:40 AM (11 years ago)
Clifford Orji dies in Kirikiri Prison

August 19, 2012 by Eniola Akinkuotu 57 Comments

Alleged cannibal and 12 years inmate of Kirikiri Maximum Prison, Clifford Orji, has died of unknown causes.

Prison authorities said Orji died Friday morning and the cause of death is unknown; but an autopsy is being performed.

The PUNCH had reported on April 13, 2012, that Orji’s health was deteriorating due to the refusal of psychiatric hospitals to take him in.

The Deputy Comptroller of the prison, Mr. Noel Ailewon, had said Orji was in a bad state and had gone completely mad.

“Orji’s health is getting worse. He has gone completely mad, vomiting and even defecating without restraint and is unclad most of the time” he said

The Director of Office of the Public Defender, Mrs. Omotola Rotimi, had said during a visit to evaluate the number of Awaiting Trial Persons that following a court order, Orji was taken to two Psychiatric hospitals for treatment but had been rejected.

“Initially, we took Orji to Yaba Psychiatric Hospital but was rejected because they claimed they did not have long-term medical facilities. Subsequently, he was taken to another hospital in Ewekoro but was similarly rejected” she said.

It was learnt that due to this challenge, Orji, who was 46-years-old, could not stand trial in court.

The Attorney-General of the state, Mr. Ade Ipaye, had said Orji’s case was stalled due to the impediments, adding that unless Orji received proper medical attention, he would not stand trial.

“Orji is mentally disturbed and no hospital is accepting him. Unfortunately, one cannot be tried mentally stable, so, he’s stuck in the middle. All we can do now is find help for him” he said.

Orji was arrested in February 1999 by the police under the bridge along the Apapa-Oshodi Expressway. He was subsequently charged before an Ebute-Meta Magistrate’s Court on 19 February but was never tried.

The acting Public Relations Officer, Lagos State Prison command, Mr. Biyi Jeje, confirmed Orji’s death to our correspondent on the telephone.

“As at Thursday, Orji was fine but on Friday morning, he died in his sleep. The cause of his death is still unknown but an autopsy is being performed,” he said.

Jeje confirmed that Orji was rejected by many mental health facilities in the country and maintained that the prisons authorities did all it could to manage his illness.

“We took Orji to many health facilities but he was rejected time and time again. I don’t know why they rejected him but we did all we could to manage his illness”, he said.

Some of the comment!

http://www.punchng.com/news/clifford-orji-dies-in-kirikiri-prison/

SulaimanAugust 19, 2012 at 12:41 am

@nick he was from the east where his tribes igbo or ibo eats human beings

2012 at 1:22 am

RIP Clifford, the best president that Republic of Biafra never had!

Olumilo.DipeAugust 19, 2012 at 1:36 am

Clifford has gotten his reward on the earth, he was used for ilegal purpose to kill human beings within Lagos prentended as mad person.God will judge every human being on the e

ogbeni naijaAugust 19, 2012 at 2:16 am

@OJUKWU SO ODUMEGWU OJUKWU IS NO LONGER THE EZE GBURUGBURU OF IGBO LAND WE USED TO KNOW,IT IS NOW CLIFFORD ORJI,SO IT MEANS BIAFRAN ARE TRUELY HUMAN FLESH EATERS.BY THE TIME YOU GET YOUR BIFRA REP.A LAND LEFT WITH NOTHING,COURTESY OF EROSION & CIVIL WAR YOU WILL END UP EATING ONE ANOTHER LIKE CLIFFORD ORJI.I HALE UNA OOOOH IGBO KWENU!!!!!!!

AbdulWasiu AkinyemiAugust 19, 2012 at 2:53 am

No amount of jest or delibrate falsehood would desuade us from saying the truth. I don’t hate Ibos as I have many of them as friends. But what has actually pieced me off is the falshood majority of them peddle on this forum and the audacity with which they talk as if they’re saints. Clifford Orji is a representation of what an average Ibo man is- man eater. Using man parts for money rituals etc is commonest among Ibos. It was equally learnt Ibos like Clifford had planted him under the bridge to trap unsuspecting passers-by who are majorly Yoruba. So, this is one of the ill ways of Ibo at thwarting peace, tranquilty, harmony and progress in Nigeria. I won’t be surprised if Ibos one day take up arms one day against the Yoruba even overthrowing Fashola’s government. A word, they say, is enough for the wise. Please, prove me wrong with facts not with noise making.

Omo BabaAugust 19, 2012 at 3:05 am

Ibos, i dont know why they enjoy eating human flesh. Awon Eranko!

Posted: at 19-08-2012 04:40 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- ashadestiney at 19-08-2012 04:50 AM (11 years ago)
google Rev.king also an igbo man.......... Grin Grin
Posted: at 19-08-2012 04:50 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- vivianbest33 at 19-08-2012 05:06 AM (11 years ago)
Ok ooo, RIP
Posted: at 19-08-2012 05:06 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- vivianbest33 at 19-08-2012 05:12 AM (11 years ago)
Ok ooo, RIP
Posted: at 19-08-2012 05:12 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- winace at 19-08-2012 05:20 AM (11 years ago)
I dnt believe it. Its a ploy to distract us from finding out d truth. They have either freed him cus his god fathers have wet d hands of d authorities or they want to free him to go. Dnt be surprise u'll see him on d road one day. After they will say revrend King is dead too. Hmmm naija we hail thee. Na today nyash dey bak, e don tay na.
Posted: at 19-08-2012 05:20 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- winace at 19-08-2012 05:26 AM (11 years ago)
I dnt believe it. Its a ploy to distract us from finding out d truth. They have either freed him cus his god fathers have wet d hands of d authorities or they want to free him to go. Dnt be surprise u'll see him on d road one day. After they will say revrend King is dead too. Hmmm naija we hail thee. Na today nyash dey bak, e don tay na.
Posted: at 19-08-2012 05:26 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ashadestiney at 19-08-2012 05:34 AM (11 years ago)
Cannibal Clifford Orji dies in Kirikiri prisons ! Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 19-08-2012 05:34 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Mindcare at 19-08-2012 06:45 AM (11 years ago)
No amount of jest or delibrate falsehood would desuade us from saying the truth. I don’t hate Ibos as I have many of them as friends. But what has actually pieced me off is the falshood majority of them peddle on this forum and the audacity with which they talk as if they’re saints. Clifford Orji is a representation of what an average Ibo man is- man eater. Using man parts for money rituals etc is commonest among Ibos. It was equally learnt Ibos like Clifford had planted him under the bridge to trap unsuspecting passers-by who are majorly Yoruba. So, this is one of the ill ways of Ibo at thwarting peace, tranquilty, harmony and progress in Nigeria. I won’t be surprised if Ibos one day take up arms one day against the Yoruba even overthrowing Fashola’s government. A word, they say, is enough for the wise. Please, prove me wrong with facts not with noise making.

Omo BabaAugust 19, 2012 at 3:05 am
Ibos, i dont know why they enjoy eating human flesh. Awon Eranko!

Why should we pose hatred among us and still calling ourselves One Nigeria. I did not believe in this slangs of one Nigeria because it's counterfeit. You did not hate Ibos but indirectly you do because i can read all the antagonizing words from your comment showing the level of your racist. Live your life then die and go your way and allow others to continue living.. what do you have to hate others, what is your profit to kill others in the name of your selfish interest, or money? Mtchewwwwwwwwww.... Embarrassed
Posted: at 19-08-2012 06:45 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Solidstonez at 19-08-2012 06:49 AM (11 years ago)

Posted: at 19-08-2012 06:49 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Solidstonez at 19-08-2012 06:50 AM (11 years ago)
CLIFFORD ORJI ROT IN HELL

Posted: at 19-08-2012 06:50 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Mindcare at 19-08-2012 07:05 AM (11 years ago)
It's very unfortunate that when something happen in Nigerian; many illiterate and inglorious people will began to put it on one tribe without directing the blame or judging the particular person or people that committed the crime; rather everyone from that tribe will become evil. They forget that atrocities filled the entire nation and the world at large. Why do you condemned everyone for the crime someone committed? How can you destroy the entire tribe because of the sin one person or more people committed? Will you be happy seeing other people condemning your tribe or nation for the crime others committed? ANSWER ME What are we talking about... for someone to say that Clifford Orji was planted to kill only Yorubas. Can he list all the names he killed to prove his statement? Tell me the atrocious acts that you cannot find anywhere in the whole tribes in Nigeria.
Posted: at 19-08-2012 07:05 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Solidstonez at 19-08-2012 07:11 AM (11 years ago)
I FEEL YOU, THAT IS JUST ONE OF NIGERIA MENTALITY

Posted: at 19-08-2012 07:11 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- erhubeauty at 19-08-2012 10:05 AM (11 years ago)
Na God catch am
Posted: at 19-08-2012 10:05 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- sugarpepper at 19-08-2012 10:47 AM (11 years ago)
posta,u are a very stupid yoruba man.......i dont blame u......look at u a yoruba idiot talkin.....kokori.....
Posted: at 19-08-2012 10:47 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- pamela224 at 19-08-2012 11:08 AM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 19-08-2012 11:08 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- chicco77 at 19-08-2012 11:11 AM (11 years ago)
RIP
Posted: at 19-08-2012 11:11 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- adewoye1 at 19-08-2012 11:35 AM (11 years ago)
Haba Igbos!! So you people are not satisfied with eating one another in your eastern hovel, you have now developed a taste for Yoruba flesh? May thunder scatter that your human-isiewu mouth!!
Posted: at 19-08-2012 11:35 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- kwameblack at 19-08-2012 11:49 AM (11 years ago)
poster..I know U R Yoruba..........cause YOURUBAS ARE ALWAYS FULL OF BETRAYALS AND DESCRIMINATIONS..RACIST..NOISE MAKERS AND GOOD AT NO ACTION..NOTHING..NOT MENTIONING THE AMOUNT OF WITCHCRAFT AND JUJU..WICKEDNESS AND ENVIOUSNESS..from all parts of Yoruba lands..IF U ARE A CHRISTIAN and cross IJEBU ODE and .....other parts of YOURUBA LANDS you will never.. smell the next day again....nothing only We are counting you as Betrayals....All the Regions and ETHNIC IN NIGERIA...INCLUDING ABROAD HERE...all know u people as BETRAYALS...

U think that we Nigerians Dont know and u are castigating another Tribe....IN YORUBA LAND THERE ARE MORE HIDDEN.......BAD AND DANGEROUS PEOPLE THAN CLIFFORD ORJI............. YORUBA LANDS ...ARE ALSO FULL OF HIDDEN RITUALS,..RACISTS ..BETRAYALS and so Many uncovered HIDDEN ABOMINATIONS.....phyukING RACIST...ALL THESE COWARDS ARE GOOD AT NOTHING but Betrayals......Be very careful of having YORUBA FRIENDS cause at the End ...you will regret you cause of their BETRAYALS....INFERIOR RACIST ..We Nigerians are never 1..in culture ..characters..Never in ANYTHING...WE ARE NEVER THE SAME....
Posted: at 19-08-2012 11:49 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- kwameblack at 19-08-2012 11:52 AM (11 years ago)
poster..I know U R Yoruba..........cause YOURUBAS ARE ALWAYS FULL OF BETRAYALS AND DESCRIMINATIONS..RACIST..NOISE MAKERS AND GOOD AT NO ACTION..NOTHING..NOT MENTIONING THE AMOUNT OF WITCHCRAFT AND JUJU..WICKEDNESS AND ENVIOUSNESS..from all parts of Yoruba lands..IF U ARE A CHRISTIAN and cross IJEBU ODE and .....other parts of YOURUBA LANDS you will never.. smell the next day again....nothing only We are counting you as Betrayals....All the Regions and ETHNIC IN NIGERIA...INCLUDING ABROAD HERE...all know u people as BETRAYALS...

U think that we Nigerians Dont know and u are castigating another Tribe....IN YORUBA LAND THERE ARE MORE HIDDEN.......BAD AND DANGEROUS PEOPLE THAN CLIFFORD ORJI............. YORUBA LANDS ...ARE ALSO FULL OF HIDDEN RITUALS,..RACISTS ..BETRAYALS and so Many uncovered HIDDEN ABOMINATIONS.....phyukING RACIST...ALL THESE COWARDS ARE GOOD AT NOTHING but Betrayals......Be very careful of having YORUBA FRIENDS cause at the End ...you will regret you cause of their BETRAYALS....INFERIOR RACIST ..We Nigerians are never 1..in culture ..characters..Never in ANYTHING...WE ARE NEVER THE SAME....
Posted: at 19-08-2012 11:52 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- aso4life1 at 19-08-2012 11:53 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: adewoye1 on 19-08-2012 11:35 AM
Haba Igbos!! So you people are not satisfied with eating one another in your eastern hovel, you have now developed a taste for Yoruba flesh? May thunder scatter that your human-isiewu mouth!!

Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed

Posted: at 19-08-2012 11:53 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
[1] 2 3 4 ... 13