ASHEWO!! 388,864 Nigerians Infected With HIV In 2011 Alone

Date: 20-11-2012 9:01 am (11 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 5
- at 20-11-2012 09:01 AM (11 years ago)
The Lagos State government has revealed that at least, 388,864 Nigerians were infected with the HIV disease in 2011.

Quoting the National AIDS Control Agency statistics at a one-day HIV Prevention and HTC Workshop organised by his office in conjunction with Lagos State AIDS Control Agency, LSACA, in Surulere, Lagos on Thursday, Special Adviser to the Governor on Youth and Social Development, Dr. Dolapo Badru said there were 388,864 fresh cases of HIV reported as at the end of 2011.

“For the 26 years period dated 1986 to December 2011, that AIDS was first reported in Nigeria, 3,459,363 people now live with HIV. An estimated 1,449,166 people require Anti-Rectroviral; 388,864 new infections occurred in the year ended 2011.

“The data collected from the National AIDS Control Agency shows 217,148 AIDS-related deaths between 1991 and 2001 and Nigeria witnessed an increase in the prevalence of HIV in the country,” said Badru.

“As at today, 5.4 million young people out of the global population of 1.7 billion are living with HIV and 40 percent of new HIV infections occur among young people, they have the highest rates of segxwally Transmitted Infections, STIs.

“In Nigeria, the prevalence among young women aged 15-24 is estimated to be three times higher than among men of the same age. Female constitutes 58 percent (about 1.72 million) of persons living with HIV in Nigeria. Each year, 55 percent of AIDS deaths in Nigeria occur among women and girls,” he added.

Director, Finance and Administration in the ministry, Olalekan Akodu related Badru’s message in a speech saying there was the need to intensify corporate and collective efforts to meet the serious challenges of eliminating HIV among young people in Nigeria and Lagos State in particular in order to move toward an HIV-free generation by 2015.

Posted: at 20-11-2012 09:01 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Sophyrocks at 20-11-2012 09:15 AM (11 years ago)
Then i wonder hw many are infected nw dat we r gettin close to d end of 2012. dis is rilly worrisome. wit d rate at which pple r jst havin sex up n down even witout condom. will dis statistics stop dem?? at all!!!  dey will continue having unprotected sex. in d end, dey get infected,kip quiet n continue to spread it evrywhere dey go lyk Mtn! Mctewwwww.

Posted: at 20-11-2012 09:15 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 20-11-2012 09:20 AM (11 years ago)

chei ------
all this in lagos alone?
na wa oooooooooooooo
Posted: at 20-11-2012 09:20 AM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- worlor2008 at 20-11-2012 09:32 AM (11 years ago)
Four major reason why this spreading at an alarming rate
Illiteracy-uneducated *coco-nut* heads walking around
Denial 
Stigma and a subsequent fear of testing for the virus
Lastly, the Government not doing enough
Posted: at 20-11-2012 09:32 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- ZION7ZION at 20-11-2012 09:41 AM (11 years ago)
I no deh too like all these round figure datas , dey suppose break am down state by state, to help our students studying statistics in schools to get accurate figures Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 20-11-2012 09:41 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- proly at 20-11-2012 09:49 AM (11 years ago)
Nawaooooooooh there is problem oOoooh
Posted: at 20-11-2012 09:49 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Sophyrocks at 20-11-2012 09:51 AM (11 years ago)
 Sad  Sad  Sad

Posted: at 20-11-2012 09:51 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- smithshesky at 20-11-2012 10:40 AM (11 years ago)
GOODLLUCK DIVIDE THIS COUNTRY
Posted: at 20-11-2012 10:40 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- lovecommander at 20-11-2012 11:01 AM (11 years ago)
This is the known reported case. When you add this to the Northerners that have four wives, that they can divorce at will and remarry including their fifty concubines, then you will know how serious the issue is.
Posted: at 20-11-2012 11:01 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- aso4life1 at 20-11-2012 11:10 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: ajanni on 20-11-2012 09:20 AM
chei ------
all this in lagos alone?
na wa oooooooooooooo
Ajanni go and check yourself ooo cos I just pass the test now...

Posted: at 20-11-2012 11:10 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Bettygirls at 20-11-2012 11:50 AM (11 years ago)
not the end of life, ashia, naija
Posted: at 20-11-2012 11:50 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dizhadah at 20-11-2012 12:12 PM (11 years ago)
its good to know your HIV status.
please check and encourage someone to do
same. help and be there for people who have it.
         Sad       Sad. you dont have to trust anyone i think when it come to this
because it does show on the face who and who has it. Undecided
Posted: at 20-11-2012 12:12 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jamesbondchick at 20-11-2012 12:14 PM (11 years ago)
With all this men will refuse to zip up & girls will refuse to sew their honeypot! There is serious fire on mountain 9ja oh!

Posted: at 20-11-2012 12:14 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kasy783 at 20-11-2012 12:42 PM (11 years ago)
I hope this would serve as a warning to everyone.Protect yourself and you will have no cause for alarm except it's spiritual HIV.
Posted: at 20-11-2012 12:42 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- ela214 at 20-11-2012 01:15 PM (11 years ago)
nawa ohh,egwu dikwa nóbodo.FATHER LEAD US MAKE WE NO ENTER TEMPTATION
Posted: at 20-11-2012 01:15 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Rihannaaa at 20-11-2012 01:29 PM (11 years ago)
This is madness. When will they release the cure for this nonesense disease cos i heard they have the cure but its being hoarded.

Posted: at 20-11-2012 01:29 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mary11 at 20-11-2012 01:41 PM (11 years ago)
I wonder how many people get am 4 dis naijapals wey we dey so
Na only ajanni I don confarm say he get am

Posted: at 20-11-2012 01:41 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- micc at 20-11-2012 01:42 PM (11 years ago)
I c o but I'm free of the
Posted: at 20-11-2012 01:42 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- ZION7ZION at 20-11-2012 01:56 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Rihannaaa on 20-11-2012 01:29 PM
This is madness. When will they release the cure for this nonesense disease cos i heard they have the cure but its being hoarded.
Cure never deh Oooo, so mek U cover up Ooo, flee from every kerewa ,dis wan weh  U don begin wish say mek deh find d  cure Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Lips Sealed
Posted: at 20-11-2012 01:56 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- neloceleb at 20-11-2012 02:01 PM (11 years ago)
Not surprised
Posted: at 20-11-2012 02:01 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4 5

1. UK-based Nigerian G@y Man Laments How Family Pressures Him To Marry A Woman Despite His Status

2. I Vow To Keep Trolling Actress Bimbo Ademoye - Actor Deyemi Okanlawon Reveals Why

3. EFCC Boss, Olukoyede Faces Visa Ban Threat Over Yahaya Bello's Case

4. Your First Salary Belong To Your Father For His Blessings Not to Your Pastor - Kanayo O. Kanayo

5. One Shot As Soldiers Break Out Of Their Cells To Protest Poor Welfare In Sokoto

6. Fulham v Manchester City: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

7. Moses Bliss Reacts After A Troll Bashes Him For Allowing His Wife Preach Whenever They Go For

8. Reaction As Davido Likes Tweet Calling Samklef A ‘Fool At 40’

9. Nottingham v Chelsea: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

10. Singer, Fireboy Dismisses Rumour Of Rivalry With His Colleague, Asake

11. Manchester United v Arsenal: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

12. Brickhall School And Ovoke Family Issue Press Statement After Burial Of 4 Year Old

1. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

2. Focus On Fall Of Naira, Insecurity – Charly Boy Drags Onanuga For Tagging Peter Obi As ‘Bitter’

3. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe

4. Suspected Sextortion Blackmailer, Olamide Made £2m Vows To Release Embarrassing PIC/VID Of Boys

5. Mercy Johnson Was With us in The Boat - Survivor of Boat Accident That Killed Jnr Pope Reveals

6. Late Buhari Oloto's Wife, Alhaja Alimotu Sadia Oloto a.k.a IYA OYO Is Dead

7. Nigerians React To Tinubu-Led Administration’s Cybersecurity Levy

8. CBN Extends Suspension of Charges on Cash Deposits

9. If I Buy You A Flight Ticket, Am I Suppose To Tell You To Wear Seat Belt – Adanma Luke Attacks

10. Reactions As Mohbad’s Father Completes Renovation Of Family House In Ekiti State