Expert blames Nigerian teachers for failure in Mathematics

Date: 18-04-2013 6:54 am (11 years ago) | Author: Direct
- at 18-04-2013 06:54 AM (11 years ago)
The reason for yearly failure in Mathematics among secondary school students has been traced to teachers’ lack of practical skills that make the subject interesting to students.
Proprietress of Chrisfield Private Schools, Ita-maga, Ikorodu, Mrs Olabisi Olateru who made this assertion during the school’s maiden sports festival stated that most students who fail Mathematics do so because their teachers lack practical skills that make the subject interesting to students.
She said; “If teachers do not device means of teaching this key subject, students will continue to see it as difficult and run away from it.”
Olateru who urged teachers to use true life situation to explain Mathematics to students pointed out that some teachers’ lack of practical skills in this basic area has made students hate the unavoidable subject.
The Chartered Accountant turned educationist said; “If you bring the teaching of Mathematics into reality by using true life stories and examples, it will make the subject interesting as students will find it not boring thereby falling in love with the subject and subsequently understand it.”
She maintained that the problem of our education sector started from our home, adding that many parents have failed to support the strategy put in place by teachers to enhance students’ learning.
Olateru explained that if assignment is given to students, many parents would not bother to check whether their wards did it or not, not to talk of assisting them in doing it.
To arrest the downward trend, she reiterated that there should be stakeholders’ meetings in every school, where vital issues affecting the sector would be discussed.
She disclosed that already in her school, stakeholders’ programme like parenting and seminars were held in the just- concluded term, adding that they hope to continue with such programme next session.
On reasons some students in private schools perform better academically than those in public schools, she noted that the difference is in the way both are being handled explaining that in private schools anyone who does not perform is fired, whereas in the public schools, teachers can do whatever they like and go free.
Her words; “I love teaching, I love impacting knowledge to children. I love adding value to children’s lives, that was what led me to establish the school. I know what education was like in the 1960s and what obtains now. I want to see how I can make a change in this generation. I want to give what I had gained over the years and even add better things.”

Posted: at 18-04-2013 06:54 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 18-04-2013 08:06 AM (11 years ago)
Very true ma am.
Posted: at 18-04-2013 08:06 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Unikpearl at 18-04-2013 08:09 AM (11 years ago)
Toh...i never liked maths
Posted: at 18-04-2013 08:09 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Disturbing Video Shows Handcuffed Black Man's Last Words As Police Knelt On Him Before He Died

2. BREAKING: President Tinubu Appoints Jim Ovia Chairman Of Nigerian Education Loan Fund

3. ‘My Values, Not Dad’s Money’ – Davido Opens Up On Secret Of His Success

4. Two Siblings, Motorcyclist Allegedly Crushes To Death By Speeding Student Driver In Ondo

5. PICS; Police Arrest 8 Suspected Kidnappers, Rescue Four Kidnapped Victims In Delta

6. How DSS Rescues Seven Kidnapped Victims In Sokoto

7. P-Square Ordered To Pay N25m Over Breach Of Contract After Being Defeated By Music Promoter

8. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

9. Benue Gov. Alia Set To Demolish Property Housing Kidnappers, Yahoo Boys

1. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

2. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

3. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

4. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

5. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

6. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

7. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria

8. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

9. Popular Ghanaian Media Personality, Serwaa Amihere Finally Reacts To Her Leaked S3x Tape

10. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu