The World Do Not Appreciate Me Because I Am African - Yaya Toure

Date: 19-04-2014 9:38 am (10 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 19-04-2014 09:38 AM (10 years ago)
It is about time to hear from the man himself Yaya Toure, expressing his views about this hard story which has speculated in the media many times. He is known to be gently off the pitch but very contributory and active on the pitch. He certainly plays a key role in Manchester City’s shirt without a shadow of doubt.

According to report by Eurosport, the Ivory Coast international, who has won league titles in England, Spain and Greece as well as his homeland, is a key figure in City’s push for more silverware and is on the six-man shortlist for the Professional Footballers’ Association’s Player of the Season award.

And the 30-year-old echoed club colleague Samir Nasri‘s claim that only his birthplace has blocked him from being hailed as one of the best midfielders in the world.

“I think what Samir was saying was definitely true,” Toure told BBC Sport.

“To be honest, proper recognition has only come from the fans. I don’t want to be hard and I don’t want to be negative, but I want to be honest.”

Compatriot Didier Drogba and Cameroon striker Samuel Eto’o have also reached the top level of European football and Toure said: “Those players are more than legends for me and Africa.

“I am very proud to be African, I want to defend African people and I want to show to the world that African players can be as good as the Europeans and South Americans.”

Luis Suarez is a widespread odds-on favourite for the PFA award, with Liverpool team-mate Steven Gerrard and Chelsea’s Eden Hazard also ahead of Toure in the betting.

But the City star said he would “definitely” be unhappy to miss out, adding: ” As a champion, as a winner, I always want to win.”

Do you believe African players do not get enough respect compare to other continent players?

Posted: at 19-04-2014 09:38 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Dames at 19-04-2014 10:38 AM (10 years ago)
Yeah oooo.
Posted: at 19-04-2014 10:38 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tankNZ at 19-04-2014 10:47 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: Dames on 19-04-2014 10:38 AM
Yeah oooo.
haha
Posted: at 19-04-2014 10:47 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- daveobahon at 19-04-2014 11:17 AM (10 years ago)
he is right....who kno Okocha lol Ronaldinho's Godfather
Posted: at 19-04-2014 11:17 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chicco77 at 19-04-2014 11:20 AM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 19-04-2014 11:20 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Shegzan at 19-04-2014 11:29 AM (10 years ago)
Kk nah#

Posted: at 19-04-2014 11:29 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Wysetots at 19-04-2014 12:00 PM (10 years ago)
True word my brother......

They see your worth.....but don't want to acknowledge it.
Posted: at 19-04-2014 12:00 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- paulohking at 19-04-2014 12:04 PM (10 years ago)
maybe yes, but I know you're a great player
Posted: at 19-04-2014 12:04 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- osaweseforme at 19-04-2014 12:31 PM (10 years ago)
Na true you talk my brother...who know JJ Okocha upon all he did with football n the game.
Posted: at 19-04-2014 12:31 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- winace at 19-04-2014 01:47 PM (10 years ago)
He has a point.
Posted: at 19-04-2014 01:47 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- odimajorr at 19-04-2014 02:28 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: daveobahon on 19-04-2014 11:17 AM
he is right....who kno Okocha lol Ronaldinho's Godfather
True talk but na okocha fk up. Many big clubs been call am den but e no one go. E for popular if e go.

Posted: at 19-04-2014 02:28 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Larry28 at 19-04-2014 03:26 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 19-04-2014 03:26 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- okilo101 at 19-04-2014 03:26 PM (10 years ago)
True
Posted: at 19-04-2014 03:26 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- angesco at 19-04-2014 03:48 PM (10 years ago)
Of course African people are good at sports - its THOSE in government that letting the CONTINENT OF AFRICA DOWN!
Posted: at 19-04-2014 03:48 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- christianity at 19-04-2014 04:07 PM (10 years ago)
dont worry,i will  take u to limelight,where the world will recognize and value u the more.
Posted: at 19-04-2014 04:07 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 19-04-2014 06:43 PM (10 years ago)
The guy is damn right
Posted: at 19-04-2014 06:43 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- cocoeni at 19-04-2014 07:04 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 19-04-2014 07:04 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- DrSoba at 19-04-2014 07:21 PM (10 years ago)
Of course
Posted: at 19-04-2014 07:21 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickman2 at 19-04-2014 09:40 PM (10 years ago)
not for Africans..abi una no get sense...
Posted: at 19-04-2014 09:40 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- DMGdreams at 19-04-2014 11:59 PM (10 years ago)
Being an African matters nothing. Players like david beckham was promoted by himself. Okocha has not educational knowledge so how can he know where to fix himself? So the sole called yaya toure should learn to fix himself important places.. With the money, he can organize advert for himself and put on air.. Please will watch. He should meet companies himself for adverts.. No one can do this for you.. Don't wait for europeans to put sugar in your mouth, learn to do things yourself and avoid excuses
Posted: at 19-04-2014 11:59 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie