This Was How President Buhari Arrived At Choosing Portfolios For Ministerial Appointees

Date: 12-11-2015 11:01 am (8 years ago) | Author: kaygee
- at 12-11-2015 11:01 AM (8 years ago)

Buhari shocked his ministers-designate with the announcement of portfolios during their swearing-in ceremony which took place in Abuja as the assigned portfolios were kept in utmost secrecy. President Muhammadu Buhari did not assign key portfolios to some ministers following security reports, it was learnt yesterday. He placed priority on expertise and performance in assigning portfolios to ministers, sources told The Nation. The President was also said to have disappointed some of those who lobbied for “strategic” ministries.
Ministers may be placed under watch and anyone who gets into trouble will be dropped, it was learnt. All Progressives Congress (APC) National Leader Asiwaju Bola Tinubu yesterday urged them to be creative. According to sources, until the inauguration time, the list of portfolios was known to only Buhari and members of his “kitchen cabinet”. The list was kept under wraps in such a tidy manner that even the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation and the President’s aides were unaware. Six factors, which informed the assignment of portfolios were; security reports, less exposure to politics, priority on expertise and performance, ongoing investigations of some appointees and distaste for lobbying and media profiling by some appointees ; and Buhari’s military background which sent signal to ministers that no one is assured of any position in his cabinet.
Investigation revealed that after the nomination and confirmation of the ministers, Buhari still asked relevant agencies to conduct a more discreet investigation of the would-be ministers.
The outcome of the “surveillance” was presented to the President and his kitchen cabinet in deciding the choice of portfolios.
A source, who spoke in confidence last night, said: “Most of us, including the ministers themselves, were shocked when the portfolios were announced. In fact, some ministers were just unstable. The President and his inner cabinet kept the list secret. They didn’t allow it to leak at all.

Posted: at 12-11-2015 11:01 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 12-11-2015 11:09 AM (8 years ago)
Posted: at 12-11-2015 11:09 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Wikigenius at 12-11-2015 11:16 AM (8 years ago)
Do it d way u like
Posted: at 12-11-2015 11:16 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- eonemusic at 12-11-2015 11:29 AM (8 years ago)
NICE ONE MR PRESIDENT. The little disciple you are trying to give all Nigerians now, is more than the yrs Jonathan spent. Just try ur best to give us good government
Posted: at 12-11-2015 11:29 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- freethinker at 12-11-2015 11:41 AM (8 years ago)
AND THEN?
Posted: at 12-11-2015 11:41 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Novic at 12-11-2015 12:08 PM (8 years ago)
hmmm. you too much mr president. i too love u man.
Posted: at 12-11-2015 12:08 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- kp45 at 12-11-2015 12:16 PM (8 years ago)
Posted: at 12-11-2015 12:16 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Novic at 12-11-2015 12:17 PM (8 years ago)
This is a great work mr president. we really they enjoy u and ur mentality of change in this country
Posted: at 12-11-2015 12:17 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 12-11-2015 12:19 PM (8 years ago)
as all of una don hear...if una phyukup na to drop una be that. becz many are stil waiting.
Posted: at 12-11-2015 12:19 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 12-11-2015 12:20 PM (8 years ago)
if una like mak una no work wit una blood and water wey they una body
Posted: at 12-11-2015 12:20 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 12-11-2015 12:43 PM (8 years ago)
mess up and get drop!! lol
Posted: at 12-11-2015 12:43 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- sugarwealth at 12-11-2015 05:47 PM (8 years ago)
I like the way this man does his thing. No room for mess up. Amaechi, u are now minister of transport, a very big position. Don't think that u have been settled, this one no be rivers state again, better sit up and work becos buhari can drop u anytime if u mess up
Posted: at 12-11-2015 05:47 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sugarwealth at 12-11-2015 05:49 PM (8 years ago)
Buhari is ruling Nigeria the way that she should be ruled, forget tribalism.
Posted: at 12-11-2015 05:49 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Georgefelix at 12-11-2015 06:39 PM (8 years ago)
This is their turn...... Hope they said one good turn deserves another!?
Posted: at 12-11-2015 06:39 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- dickieponga at 12-11-2015 07:40 PM (8 years ago)
Hahahahahaha i love d surprise..
Posted: at 12-11-2015 07:40 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 12-11-2015 08:24 PM (8 years ago)
this is how government should be run. why lobbying for a post you can't handle or do well in?
Posted: at 12-11-2015 08:24 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 12-11-2015 08:25 PM (8 years ago)
this is how government should be run. why lobbying for a post you can't handle or do well in?
Posted: at 12-11-2015 08:25 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 12-11-2015 08:26 PM (8 years ago)
as it is now they will sit tight I like the discretion of PMB in this regard.
Posted: at 12-11-2015 08:26 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 12-11-2015 08:27 PM (8 years ago)
let PMB watch them in camera so that any erring minister be shown the way out.
Posted: at 12-11-2015 08:27 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 12-11-2015 08:28 PM (8 years ago)
let PMB watch them in camera so that any erring minister be shown the way out.
Posted: at 12-11-2015 08:28 PM (8 years ago) | Hero