PHOTOS: Policeman Reinstated & Promoted By The Senate After 21years Suspension

Date: 17-12-2015 8:59 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 17-12-2015 08:59 PM (8 years ago)

Following a petition presented by Senator Solomon Adeola (Lagos West) on behalf of one of his constituents, Sgt. Amos Olaniyan on October 6, 2015, the Senate has ordered the reinstatement, promotion and payment of all dues to Sgt Olaniyan, who was verbally suspended from the Nigerian Police Force 21 years ago.

This follows the consideration and adoption of recommendations of the Report of the Senator Sam Anyanwu-led Senate Committee on Ethics, Privileges and Public Petition that investigated the suspension of Sgt. Olaniyan from the Force.

The Senate adopted the two recommendations of the committee namely: “That the officer, Sergeant Amos Olaniyan, be fully re-integrated into the Police Force with a letter of reinstatement and apology” and “That all his dues including promotions and entitlements be fully granted and paid” Senator Adeola while presenting the petition earlier stated that Sgt. Olaniyan was verbally suspended in 1994 on a baseless allegation of bribery which, an Orderly Room Trial discharged and acquitted him but the Police refused to recall him back even as he had his Police ID card and Uniform.

Reacting to the findings and resolution of the Senate, Senator Adeola expressed joy that at last justice has been done to his constituent, who had suffered for 21 years without any redress adding that he will always fight for the interest of all his constituents and the people of Nigeria. “I was greatly disturbed when I saw his petition as I did not believe this could happen to any citizen of Nigeria. This was after he had written petitions to previous Inspector Generals of Police and the Police Service Commission and even late President Umaru Yar’adua to no avail,” the senator stated.

He said he was happy for the family of Sgt. Olaniyan who had endure severe hardship and deprivation on the loss of employment by the breadwinner adding that he will continue to work for his constituents who may have similar cases.

Speaking on the issue, Senate President Bukola Saraki, stated that citizens of Nigeria that cannot afford legal fees to seek redress should have recourse to the Senate adding that the Senate Police Affairs Committee should ensure compliance with the resolution and other similar resolutions and report back to the Senate in two weeks.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 17-12-2015 08:59 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ficull at 17-12-2015 09:16 PM (8 years ago)
Senate.... This work is for Police Service Commission. U should have referred the case to them.
Posted: at 17-12-2015 09:16 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 17-12-2015 09:42 PM (8 years ago)
Waoh dis is good news. So justice can ever be served in dis country. Dat means d innocent ones in prison have hope soon.
Posted: at 17-12-2015 09:42 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Danitotropsy at 17-12-2015 09:54 PM (8 years ago)
Congratulations to him.. I tinnk d police r use to diz kind of dismissal I hv a frnd who is suffering frm Dix rite nw...he has written to every body in Nigeria to no avail.

Posted: at 17-12-2015 09:54 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- zauber at 17-12-2015 09:59 PM (8 years ago)
wellcome to zoo. baboons and monkeys
Posted: at 17-12-2015 09:59 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- ficull at 17-12-2015 10:23 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Ajodoh Daniel  link=topic=280031.msg4644705#msg4644705 date=1450385663
Congratulations to him.. I tinnk d police r use to diz kind of dismissal I hv a frnd who is suffering frm Dix rite nw...he has written to every body in Nigeria to no avail.

Good point. This is why Police Service Commission should be strengthened by the Senate so that ur friend's plights and his  likes can be treated. Not for senate to pick one isolated case and ignore the others.
Posted: at 17-12-2015 10:23 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Novic at 17-12-2015 10:29 PM (8 years ago)
That was great news to that man family. seriously na senate get this country ooo, they can close and open. Congrat to the man.
Posted: at 17-12-2015 10:29 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 17-12-2015 10:39 PM (8 years ago)
so these are the idiots una voted for abi... dey over use power any how.. make the police sue them for court
Posted: at 17-12-2015 10:39 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- mjyabah2 at 17-12-2015 10:50 PM (8 years ago)
Some pals read posts without understanding. Post said he had sent his petitions to all appropriate quarters yet no result; even to president Ya-ardua. The post also said Senate president, Saraki, promised to address such issues henceforth, and advised people with similar cases to seek senate recourse going forward. @ficull, what do u support? ur first comment was negative of the intervention of the Senate, while ur second comment calls on the same senate to restructure/strengthen (I guess u meant to say straighten) the police service commission. Na waoo for people's inconsistent  viewpoints.
Posted: at 17-12-2015 10:50 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beautysharp at 18-12-2015 01:10 AM (8 years ago)
Congrats man
Posted: at 18-12-2015 01:10 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- osarobo62 at 18-12-2015 01:12 AM (8 years ago)
good for him...justice is never too late to be served.
Posted: at 18-12-2015 01:12 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- ficull at 18-12-2015 10:17 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: mjyabah2 on 17-12-2015 10:50 PM
Some pals read posts without understanding. Post said he had sent his petitions to all appropriate quarters yet no result; even to president Ya-ardua. The post also said Senate president, Saraki, promised to address such issues henceforth, and advised people with similar cases to seek senate recourse going forward. @ficull, what do u support? ur first comment was negative of the intervention of the Senate, while ur second comment calls on the same senate to restructure/strengthen (I guess u meant to say straighten) the police service commission. Na waoo for people's inconsistent  viewpoints.

You really do need to learn how to form your own opinion. Its NOT senate duties to perform Police Service Commission's functions. An Act which has been passed into law. And by the way, I meant to say STRENGTHEN ( to become stronger....to empower) and not your straighten (to make something straight) which has  no bearing in this issues. Learn your dictionary, correct urself b4 calling pple out.
nof said.
Posted: at 18-12-2015 10:17 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Trueyarn at 18-12-2015 01:52 PM (8 years ago)
Man,go thank ur God very plentiful,for naija cases like this no dey get head again.
Posted: at 18-12-2015 01:52 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Oworen25 at 19-12-2015 02:33 AM (8 years ago)
Wow this is beautiful from the Senate this is what I want to be expecting from them helping the matters of the common people.
Posted: at 19-12-2015 02:33 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- botlex at 19-12-2015 02:23 PM (8 years ago)
Hmmm.... After 21 years suspension!!! This is truly a miracle. Anyway, just enjoy the moment Mr. Man
Posted: at 19-12-2015 02:23 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Novic at 23-12-2015 06:48 AM (8 years ago)
I belive police service whatever cant do anythn to this case, we are full of coruption the senate that work this out knw what they are doing, i belive police dnt knw what they are doing by sacking this man before. Well glory be to God.
Posted: at 23-12-2015 06:48 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- okatee at 23-12-2015 10:44 AM (8 years ago)
dis a gud news to d man nd his family. dat senator solomon adeola na gud man,
Posted: at 23-12-2015 10:44 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mopera at 28-12-2015 02:10 PM (8 years ago)
ones in
prison have hope soon. Congratulations to him.. I tinnk d
police r use to diz kind of dismissal
I hv a frnd who is suffering frm Dix
rite nw...he has written to every
body in Nigeria to no avail.
Posted: at 28-12-2015 02:10 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- moralemike07 at 5-01-2016 07:38 AM (8 years ago)
Congratulations sir. Thanks to the senator.
Posted: at 5-01-2016 07:38 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. UK-based Nigerian G@y Man Laments How Family Pressures Him To Marry A Woman Despite His Status

2. EFCC Boss, Olukoyede Faces Visa Ban Threat Over Yahaya Bello's Case

3. I Vow To Keep Trolling Actress Bimbo Ademoye - Actor Deyemi Okanlawon Reveals Why

4. Your First Salary Belong To Your Father For His Blessings Not to Your Pastor - Kanayo O. Kanayo

5. Moses Bliss Reacts After A Troll Bashes Him For Allowing His Wife Preach Whenever They Go For

6. One Shot As Soldiers Break Out Of Their Cells To Protest Poor Welfare In Sokoto

7. Reaction As Davido Likes Tweet Calling Samklef A ‘Fool At 40’

8. Fulham v Manchester City: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

9. Singer, Fireboy Dismisses Rumour Of Rivalry With His Colleague, Asake

10. Manchester United v Arsenal: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

11. Nottingham v Chelsea: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

12. Brickhall School And Ovoke Family Issue Press Statement After Burial Of 4 Year Old

1. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

2. Focus On Fall Of Naira, Insecurity – Charly Boy Drags Onanuga For Tagging Peter Obi As ‘Bitter’

3. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe

4. Suspected Sextortion Blackmailer, Olamide Made £2m Vows To Release Embarrassing PIC/VID Of Boys

5. Mercy Johnson Was With us in The Boat - Survivor of Boat Accident That Killed Jnr Pope Reveals

6. Late Buhari Oloto's Wife, Alhaja Alimotu Sadia Oloto a.k.a IYA OYO Is Dead

7. Nigerians React To Tinubu-Led Administration’s Cybersecurity Levy

8. CBN Extends Suspension of Charges on Cash Deposits

9. If I Buy You A Flight Ticket, Am I Suppose To Tell You To Wear Seat Belt – Adanma Luke Attacks

10. Reactions As Mohbad’s Father Completes Renovation Of Family House In Ekiti State