How I Make N300,000 Monthly Begging In Lagos – Drug Addict Suspect

Date: 24-01-2016 8:04 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 24-01-2016 08:04 PM (8 years ago)

A suspected drug addict arrested by the Rapid Response Squad of the Lagos State Command has disclosed that he made over N300, 000 monthly from begging in Ikeja.

Kehinde Olatubosun, 56, from Ibadan, Oyo State, was arrested on Saturday night along with 18 other drug addicts at a joint in Ipodo, Ikeja.

PremiumTimes reports that a team of Rapid Response Squad Decoy had on Monday night traced a stolen phone to the joint, leading to the arrest of a three-man gang mobile phone thieves, three hard drug peddlers and 13 drug addicts, the police said in a statement on Sunday.

Mr. Olatubosun stated that he made over N10, 000 daily begging at the Mobolaji Bank Anthony Roundabout; beside the Lagos State University Teaching Hospital; Toyin Street; and Opebi.

“All days of the week, I’m always in Mobolaji Bank Anthony Roundabout, Toyin Street roundabout and Opebi. At times, I collaborate with beggars. Whatever we make, we share but I get a larger share,” said the suspect.

“What I do is that, I get LASUTH drug prescription papers. I get it from their waste bin. With this in my hand, I convince motorists, passengers and passersby that I have a relative who is in dire need of money to buy drugs and I show them the prescription papers.

“This is what I have been doing since I was deported from Germany in 2004. Before the deportation, I was working as Electrical Engineer in Bauhusa, Colon, Germany. I was in Germany for 12 years before I was deported.”

Mr. Olatubosun‎ said his deportation from Germany was after he was caught in possession of hard drugs.
“I have four children. Two are in Germany with my wife. One is in Texas, United States and another in Nigeria,” he said.

“Unfortunately, all the money I make from this begging goes into drugs. Day after day, I am always there, seven days a week. I make more money on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays. I make more than N10,000:00 on weekends.

“As I speak to you, I’m not on drugs but I am experiencing withdrawal symptoms, that is, the effect of not taking drugs for sometimes.”

The suspect said he was at the Ipodo drug joint when the RRS operatives raided the place and added that it was the first time he would be arrested.
“I am praying that RRS release me. I promise I won’t go back to drug again. Where I live presently was given to me by my in-law.”

Another drug suspect, Dada Ajayi, arrested at the drug joint during the police raid, said that addiction had destroyed his life.

“‎I am trying to get over it now; drug has been the cause of my stagnation in life,” said Mr. Ajayi, 48, who said he had been hooked on drugs for over 17 years.

I frequent that joint because I have nowhere to go. I have lived the better part of my life consuming drugs. As I talk to you, the remains of my wife is in Ikeja mortuary. She was taken to Lagos State University Teaching Hospital, Ikeja. I was asked to bring N150,000 for surgery but I didn’t have N50,000 on me then. She died in the process.

Right now, I have lost my family because of my drug addiction. I don’t know where my children are or how to start my life again. I can’t stop going to that drug joint because it is the only place where I get consolation. It is the only place I’m at peace with myself.

If anybody want to help us, they should arrest the drug barons or dealers. Arresting us won’t solve drug problem because without the sellers there won’t be the takers.
You arrest the dealers, I mean the merchants, then, you have cut the supply and thus saved us from getting drugs. Without that, we would always find our ways there whenever we are released.”

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 24-01-2016 08:04 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- victormorgan at 24-01-2016 08:14 PM (8 years ago)
Mak RRS wise up and cut the grass from the root, not the top.
Posted: at 24-01-2016 08:14 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- akinmanchy at 24-01-2016 09:10 PM (8 years ago)
Say no to drug! It kills, destroys and render u hopeless. I pray these men get the help they need to overcome dis addict

Posted: at 24-01-2016 09:10 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- cocoeni at 24-01-2016 09:38 PM (8 years ago)
 Huh?  Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 24-01-2016 09:38 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- zezprincess at 24-01-2016 09:50 PM (8 years ago)
The drug addict talk the truth,why arresting them,find the drug dealers&arrest dem&if you want to help de addicts ,take them to rehab.
Posted: at 24-01-2016 09:50 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 24-01-2016 10:42 PM (8 years ago)
lagos the city of hustler
Posted: at 24-01-2016 10:42 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- Mykie010 at 24-01-2016 10:48 PM (8 years ago)
Ori ahia
Posted: at 24-01-2016 10:48 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Wazubia at 24-01-2016 11:05 PM (8 years ago)
RRS LAGOS, SHOULD USE THOSE GUYS AND CUT THE LEADER'S.
Posted: at 24-01-2016 11:05 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Trueyarn at 24-01-2016 11:08 PM (8 years ago)
Oya straight to rehab,nah there dem cure dey.
Posted: at 24-01-2016 11:08 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Trueyarn at 24-01-2016 11:09 PM (8 years ago)
Oya straight to rehab,nah there dem cure dey.
Posted: at 24-01-2016 11:09 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 24-01-2016 11:38 PM (8 years ago)
hmmm..... na different kind of madness we go they see in this country. government should do sumthn about those drug dealar fast.
Posted: at 24-01-2016 11:38 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Oworen25 at 25-01-2016 01:42 AM (8 years ago)
So na wettin him want make we come dey do now we're him done tell us, see the kind of money he makes every month
Posted: at 25-01-2016 01:42 AM (8 years ago) | Hero

1. Nollywood Thrown Into Mourning Again as Veteran Yoruba Actor, Baba Ogunjimi Passes On

2. Mohbad’s Wife, Wunmi Officially Served DNA Court Order, Pasted on Her House Gate

3. Go & Get Your Son At The Police Station - Apostle Chibuzor Tells Mum Who Left Son At His House

4. Italian Govt Moves to Safe Life Of Half Nigerian Baby Born in UK With Severe Heart Condition

5. AGN Shares New Development On Junior Pope's Death, Says Mother Believes Her Son Was Murdered

6. IPOB Fires Back at Nigerians Army, Denies Involvement With Recent Owerri Jailbreak

7. Actor Junior Pope to Be Buried on May 17th As Family Releases Funeral Arrangements

1. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

2. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

3. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

4. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

5. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

6. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

7. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria

8. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

9. Popular Ghanaian Media Personality, Serwaa Amihere Finally Reacts To Her Leaked S3x Tape

10. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu