Fashola Explains Reason For Hike In Electricity Tariff & Beg Nigerians To Accept It

Date: 08-02-2016 8:51 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 8-02-2016 08:51 PM (8 years ago)

The Minister of Power, Works and Housing, Mr. Babatunde Fashola, SAN, has noted that the increase in electricity tariffs is the first major policy the administration of President Muhammadu Buhari is coming up with, describing same as “a painful pill,” which consumers have to “swallow.”

Fashola disclosed this Monday during the second monthly meeting with stakeholders in the power sector in Lagos, where he also inspected some projects at the Alagbon Transmission and Distribution Complex.

Fashola’s comments came at a time Nigerian workers under the aegis of the Nigerian Labour Congress, NLC, Trade Union Congress, TUC, joined by Civil Society Organizations embarked on peaceful protests against the policy which has grounded commercial activities in several cities in the country.

His words, “Importantly, I understand that people who have been disappointed over a long time will feel a sense of concern that again tariffs have gone up. But the truth is that these tariffs ought to have been there from day one. I don’t know why the government of yesterday was not courageous enough to tell us this was the price.

“It is a painful pill that I must appeal that we swallow. It is like quinine and malaria. It’s painful; it’s not sweet, I know that, but I do it because we are not left with many choices. This is the first major decision in power that this administration has taken. There are other problems.
“I can only appeal for some understanding and some trust that we do this in the best interest of our country. It is a hard decision, but I think down the line, we will have cause to look…”

The minister, who faulted the way the privatisation of the power sector carried out by the immediate past administration of Goodluck Jonathan, said the sector was being plagued by several problems including gas supply shortfall and transmission issue.
Fashola, while responding to a question on what the problems in the sector were, said,
“The problem is everywhere. The problem is with us. The problem is with gas. The problem is with transmission. The problem is with the way the privatisation exercise itself was conducted.

“But as I have said before, I am not going to lament what has happened in the past. I am going to move on with it. So, the first move we have made when we accessed the situation, nobody was happy with it when we took over.

“This is a problem that has been here for 16 years, if we put it mildly. It is a problem that has been here 100 years ago, if we put it really extremely. I have been here for less than a 100 days, and I think we can solve this problem if you give us the tools that we need to do it. I think that this problem can be solved, and the day that we feel that it cannot be solved, I will gladly come and tell you that I don’t think it will work,”
he stated.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 8-02-2016 08:51 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- rashjr at 8-02-2016 08:56 PM (8 years ago)
Hmmm we are tired of all those begging. . . . . . . . .you all should do something that will benefit the country rather than propaganding false story to the citizen
Posted: at 8-02-2016 08:56 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 8-02-2016 09:10 PM (8 years ago)
you dey mad fashola or wetin be your name.. is this the right time to hire any shit at all
Posted: at 8-02-2016 09:10 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- Trueyarn at 8-02-2016 09:16 PM (8 years ago)
Nah their way,I pray you follow up your word becos "Its easier said than done.."
Posted: at 8-02-2016 09:16 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Vijaypatel at 8-02-2016 09:19 PM (8 years ago)
Tired of your problems,want a glorious 2016.Seek India Spiritual Help.Send us a mail ( [email protected] ).
Posted: at 8-02-2016 09:19 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- Ennyolalekan at 8-02-2016 09:27 PM (8 years ago)
useless government people.

how I wish
Posted: at 8-02-2016 09:27 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zezprincess at 8-02-2016 09:37 PM (8 years ago)
Okooo!,thou we tanda for one corner dey observe.
Posted: at 8-02-2016 09:37 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Bebold at 8-02-2016 09:42 PM (8 years ago)
How can you people want more money from the citizens that are complaining that their is food,job, electricity and that things are hard? This is totally confusing are you sure that this man is well sooooo?
Posted: at 8-02-2016 09:42 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bebold at 8-02-2016 09:43 PM (8 years ago)
How can you people want more money from the citizens that are complaining that their is NO food,job, electricity and that things are hard? This is totally confusing are you sure that this man is well sooooo?
Posted: at 8-02-2016 09:43 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Recobus at 8-02-2016 09:51 PM (8 years ago)
Fashola has expired already, this is change in a reverse direction 
Posted: at 8-02-2016 09:51 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- emma4love3 at 8-02-2016 09:57 PM (8 years ago)
ah na waooo....so suffer continue so oh
light don turn gold again.....God help us oh
Posted: at 8-02-2016 09:57 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 8-02-2016 10:53 PM (8 years ago)
Imagine a gov that is taxing the masses to enrich themselves. We are doomed
Posted: at 8-02-2016 10:53 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Machealex at 8-02-2016 11:16 PM (8 years ago)
If I may ask what of all the money wey dem they recover wetin dem wan take am do.
Posted: at 8-02-2016 11:16 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 8-02-2016 11:21 PM (8 years ago)
Hmnnnn interesting. Una go hear am na. Chanji!!!!
Posted: at 8-02-2016 11:21 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kp45 at 8-02-2016 11:48 PM (8 years ago)
Posted: at 8-02-2016 11:48 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- AOYNATZRAYA at 9-02-2016 12:21 AM (8 years ago)
I have never heard about the price of a commodity coming down in Nigeria. Prices usually go up. Pure water started selling at N5. It currently sells for N10.

I pray our leaders come to the realisation that throwing money at the problem is no guarantee the solution will be found. They should come up with better solutions or alternative sources which will enhance the economic base of the nation.
Posted: at 9-02-2016 12:21 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- shaddybaby at 9-02-2016 12:58 AM (8 years ago)
My advise oga fashola is dt let each state generate her power and federal govt sponsor and supervise, take heed.
Posted: at 9-02-2016 12:58 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- WhaleDog at 9-02-2016 01:22 AM (8 years ago)
The issue of electricity in Nigeria can be permanently solved only if the sector is rid of corruption and citizen are made to bankrolled the sector operation by paying the standard cost of amps accordingly just as gas is sold without negotiation per liter.The introduction of electric recharge card will address this issue ,use as you pay and those illegal tapping should be strictly dealt with.Government should respect its part of the contract and citizen should abide by the uses contract ,and which of the party involved that breach her side of the contract should take responsibility ,but the government of Nigeria has always failed to keep promise .Africa government should learn how to be accountable to its citizen and respect their rights.Too bad that many simple human rights of citizen are not contestable in Africa ,governments can't answer questions for shortcomings and breach of their obligations to common man

Posted: at 9-02-2016 01:22 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dynasty4all at 9-02-2016 01:31 AM (8 years ago)
FASHOLA I DON'T BLAME YOU AFTERALL YORUBAS DO NOT PAY LIGHT BILLS
IF YOU ARE IN DOUBT GO AND CHECK RECORD.
Posted: at 9-02-2016 01:31 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Powerfulify at 9-02-2016 01:33 AM (8 years ago)
Idiot did u pay 4 electricity?
Posted: at 9-02-2016 01:33 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. EFCC Boss, Olukoyede Faces Visa Ban Threat Over Yahaya Bello's Case

2. UK-based Nigerian G@y Man Laments How Family Pressures Him To Marry A Woman Despite His Status

3. I Vow To Keep Trolling Actress Bimbo Ademoye - Actor Deyemi Okanlawon Reveals Why

4. Your First Salary Belong To Your Father For His Blessings Not to Your Pastor - Kanayo O. Kanayo

5. Moses Bliss Reacts After A Troll Bashes Him For Allowing His Wife Preach Whenever They Go For

6. One Shot As Soldiers Break Out Of Their Cells To Protest Poor Welfare In Sokoto

7. Brickhall School And Ovoke Family Issue Press Statement After Burial Of 4 Year Old

8. Reaction As Davido Likes Tweet Calling Samklef A ‘Fool At 40’

9. Fulham v Manchester City: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

10. Singer, Fireboy Dismisses Rumour Of Rivalry With His Colleague, Asake

11. Manchester United v Arsenal: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

12. Nottingham v Chelsea: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

1. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

2. Focus On Fall Of Naira, Insecurity – Charly Boy Drags Onanuga For Tagging Peter Obi As ‘Bitter’

3. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe

4. Suspected Sextortion Blackmailer, Olamide Made £2m Vows To Release Embarrassing PIC/VID Of Boys

5. Mercy Johnson Was With us in The Boat - Survivor of Boat Accident That Killed Jnr Pope Reveals

6. Late Buhari Oloto's Wife, Alhaja Alimotu Sadia Oloto a.k.a IYA OYO Is Dead

7. Nigerians React To Tinubu-Led Administration’s Cybersecurity Levy

8. CBN Extends Suspension of Charges on Cash Deposits

9. If I Buy You A Flight Ticket, Am I Suppose To Tell You To Wear Seat Belt – Adanma Luke Attacks

10. Reactions As Mohbad’s Father Completes Renovation Of Family House In Ekiti State