Abacha Loot: Switzerland Returns N142.43 Billion To Nigeria In 10 Years

Date: 15-03-2016 9:08 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 15-03-2016 09:08 PM (8 years ago)

The Swiss government has confirmed that it has so far returned $723 million (about N142.43 billion) of stolen funds ceased from the family of the late former head of state, Sani Abacha, to the Nigerian government over the last 10 years.

The amount excludes $321million (about N63.24 billion) which the Swiss authorities recently said recently it was planning to repatriate to Nigeria.
These details are contained in the agreement signed on March 8, 2016 in Abuja by representatives of the Swiss Federal Council and the Nigerian government.

The agreement, titled “Letter of Intent on the restitution of illegally-acquired assets forfeited in Switzerland,” was signed by Nigeria’s Attorney-General and Minister of Justice, Abubakar Malami, and the Swiss Head of Foreign Affairs Department, Didier Burkhalter.

The document, obtained by PREMIUM TIMES, reveals that $321 million acquired illicitly by the Abacha family, was initially deposited in Luxemburg before being confiscated by the Swiss Republic Judiciary and Canton of Geneva following a December 11, 2014 forfeiture order.

The agreement says funds to be returned to Nigeria would contribute to the implementation of social programmes for the benefit of the Nigerian people in “an efficient and accountable way, guaranteed by a monitoring by World Bank”.
Acknowledging the cooperation of Switzerland and Nigeria as an excellent opportunity to fight against corruption at domestic and international levels, the signatories to the agreement recalled the long partnership by their two countries in asset recovery based the principles of national interest, trust and mutual respect.
Considering Chapter V of the UN Convention against corruption, which is the international legal framework for asset recovery, the signatories also drew attention to Article 51 of the document that states afford each other measures of cooperation and assistance.

The agreement also emphasized the need for the process of repatriation of the stolen funds to be undertaken based on international best practices of transparency and accountability in a manner that satisfy the scrutiny of civil society and the international community.

The signatories affirmed, among others, their intention to maintain a fruitful cooperation based on trust and respect in order to enable transparent and efficient use of the funds for the benefits of the Nigerian people.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 15-03-2016 09:08 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Otikadinje at 15-03-2016 09:26 PM (8 years ago)
I sincerely hope that the incumbent government will use this money judiciously to the benefit of Nigerians and not for their selfish interest .

Posted: at 15-03-2016 09:26 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kudoson at 15-03-2016 09:30 PM (8 years ago)
Nawa ooooo na baba God go punish all of una nd families dat looted all our moni nd left us in dis try country to suffer
Posted: at 15-03-2016 09:30 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Vectorcy at 15-03-2016 09:32 PM (8 years ago)
Switzerland Returns N142.43 Billion To Nigeria in 10years...
I seee...and Nigeria stil dey as ie dey,lyk. Say no any penny come in..
Posted: at 15-03-2016 09:32 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 15-03-2016 09:37 PM (8 years ago)
only in naija
Posted: at 15-03-2016 09:37 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- Slimchery at 15-03-2016 09:39 PM (8 years ago)
African Leadears, it cut me so deep with much pain anytime I read of our leaders stealing money and sending it back to same people that steal fro us before to keep  developing their country while we can't even eat 2 squre meal a day, just imagine if this money was use for just light , water , road? Would Nigeria not be a better place and be one of the most beautiful country? instead they steal to build company outside, build houses in US and UK and Hotels  Dubai, go for treatment outside nigeria, why can't you people just build good hospitalin Nigeria, why all this evil? why,why , why
Posted: at 15-03-2016 09:39 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emma4love3 at 15-03-2016 09:42 PM (8 years ago)
wow woooooooo..... Abacha. loot don show oooh....please world bank use tourch light follow that money for proper use of it...thanks....oooh
Posted: at 15-03-2016 09:42 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Mykie010 at 15-03-2016 09:43 PM (8 years ago)
Please switz,stop bringing this money back, they will reloot it use it to beautify ur already fine country more..it will be useless here
Posted: at 15-03-2016 09:43 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- youngrashy at 15-03-2016 10:20 PM (8 years ago)
Dis guy stole ooo..
Posted: at 15-03-2016 10:20 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Fran6ixfox at 15-03-2016 10:34 PM (8 years ago)
Mmmmmmmm na wa
Posted: at 15-03-2016 10:34 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 15-03-2016 10:38 PM (8 years ago)
And Nigeria still remain the same, my question now is....what was the money use for?
Posted: at 15-03-2016 10:38 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- ficull at 15-03-2016 11:24 PM (8 years ago)
if all we are hearing of Jonathan loot is fully proven, then this Abacha loot will be a child's play.
Posted: at 15-03-2016 11:24 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zezprincess at 15-03-2016 11:33 PM (8 years ago)
HMmmM,Abacha family,I quote" no matter the economy of nigeria,we will never be poor like aliko dangote,lol.
Posted: at 15-03-2016 11:33 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- kp45 at 15-03-2016 11:47 PM (8 years ago)
So I should be happy abi when I know that they are entering voicemail.
Posted: at 15-03-2016 11:47 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- imaria at 15-03-2016 11:59 PM (8 years ago)
Switzerland why did you people return the money to Nigeria is going to be useless here because money vampires are here to swollen the N142.43 Billions with a twinkle of an eye
Posted: at 15-03-2016 11:59 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- slimmygal at 16-03-2016 12:54 AM (8 years ago)
just shaking my head, short of words cos i dont know to say again. all our leaders don already finished d country long time ago.
Posted: at 16-03-2016 12:54 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emma4love3 at 16-03-2016 01:07 AM (8 years ago)
we are watching them nah
Posted: at 16-03-2016 01:07 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Machealex at 16-03-2016 01:10 AM (8 years ago)
This man loot get first class degree.
Posted: at 16-03-2016 01:10 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- OOSSYY at 16-03-2016 05:54 AM (8 years ago)
ABACHA, E NO GO BETTER FOR U, EVEN IN UR GRAVE
Posted: at 16-03-2016 05:54 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- samdove28 at 16-03-2016 08:28 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Eros Okundaye on 15-03-2016 09:39 PM
African Leadears, it cut me so deep with much pain anytime I read of our leaders stealing money and sending it back to same people that steal fro us before to keep  developing their country while we can't even eat 2 squre meal a day, just imagine if this money was use for just light , water , road? Would Nigeria not be a better place and be one of the most beautiful country? instead they steal to build company outside, build houses in US and UK and Hotels  Dubai, go for treatment outside nigeria, why can't you people just build good hospitalin Nigeria, why all this evil? why,why , why
You have talk my mind dear, pls help me ask them ooo.
Posted: at 16-03-2016 08:28 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac