Terrorism Scare: 2 Nigerians Arrested In Malaysia; Linked With Abdulmutallab

Date: 29-01-2010 2:50 pm (14 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 29-01-2010 02:50 PM (14 years ago)
Security officials in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia have arrested and detained two Nigerians identified as Luqman Abdul Salam and Abdul Alhi BolajokoUthman , suspected to be terrorists.

They were arrested yesterday with 12 other nationals allegedly linked with bomb suspect, Umar Farouk Abdulmutallab who was held on 25 December, 2009 in America as he attempted to bomb an American airliner.

According to a report from Malaysia, the suspects were among people who were picked up from different locations in the country. They were held under the recent Internal Security Act, the Home Ministry said in a statement yesterday.

Other suspected terrorists detained along the two Nigerians include: Azzahari Murad (Malaysia), Aiman Al Dakkak (Syria); Mohammed Hozifa (Syria); Kutiba al-Issa (Syria); Khalid Salem (Yemen); Hassan Barudi (Syria) and Hussan Khalid (Jordan).

The identities of three other suspects could not be determined yet while two others were detained earlier.

However, in a contradictory move, the chairman of Gerakan Isa (GMI), an arm of the country’s security outfit, Syed Ibrahim Syed Noh said the detainees were part of the 14 suspects picked up in an operation in Sungai Cincin, Gombak near Kuala Lumpur.

He said they were picked up on 21 January having overstayed in the country since 2003.

“So they are not foreigners who have just arrived here,” he said, disputing Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammndian Hussein’s statement that those detained had just come to Malaysia and were part of an international terror ring.

From all indications, it may be that the Nigerians are being falsely accused as terrorists on account of what Abdulmutallab did. It could also be that the fate that has befallen them may not be unconnected with the statement made by Abdulmutallab that several Nigerians are undergoing training as terrorists in some countries.

On Christmas day, a 23-year old Nigerian graduate of Engineering at London University College, Umar Farouk Abdulmutallab was arrested in Detroit by the US Security agents when he attempted to bomb an American airliner with 290 passengers on board.

Abdulmutallab, son of the former Chairman of First Bank of Nigeria, Alhaji Umar Mutallab, allegedly confessed to the US Security agents that he got the powdery substance from Al Qaeda group in Yemen, a group noted for Islamic extremism.

The US government later added Nigeria to the list of terror nations with a claim that Abdulmutallab passed through the Murtala Muhammed Airport in Lagos but the powdery substance was not detected.

Since then, Nigerians travelling to the US and other overseas countries have been subjected to full body checks as most Nigerians are being labelled as terror suspects.

Posted: at 29-01-2010 02:50 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dolphinkate at 29-01-2010 03:14 PM (14 years ago)
Na wao. Another bad news about nigeria.

But is good to expose it here. If it would be white man brining this news, u ppl would say is white propaganda against nigeians and blacks.
Posted: at 29-01-2010 03:14 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Sheenor at 2-02-2010 05:07 PM (14 years ago)
9ja ma self! i don tired oh!!

Posted: at 2-02-2010 05:07 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- prince4rich at 3-02-2010 01:29 AM (14 years ago)
COME THEM SEE THE BOOM FOR THE NIGERIA PEOPLE HAND,AMERICAN UNA DO START AGAIN NA GOD KNOW UNA PLAN NIGERIA NO GO REACH UNA HAND,WE NO EVERYTHING BUT FOR THOSE MUGUS WHEN THEY FALL NIGERIA HAND THIS MATTER DON TRIED ME SO NA GOD OWN COUNTRY COME BE TERRORIS NA LIE.ALL THIS MUSLIM WE DON TRIED OF UNA MAKE U GO AND LEAVE US ALONE SO WE GO BUILD OUR NATION,ABEG RASTER MAN HELP US TROL ONE STONE MAKE HE BILD THIS EVILL PEOPLE EYES FOR OUR BODY ,THIS IS TOOMUCH WE MOST DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT,NIGERIA GOVERMENT WERE UNER DEY ALL THIS THIEF'S USELESS PEOPLE phyukING FOOLS.WELL MAKE THE COUNTRY BREAK SELF I GO HAPPY WELL WELL I BE FULL WAFFI GUY SO NO SHARKING FOR MY STATE.DELTA FOR LIFE.
Posted: at 3-02-2010 01:29 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Solidstonez at 22-06-2012 09:45 AM (11 years ago)
HMMM

Posted: at 22-06-2012 09:45 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. UK-based Nigerian G@y Man Laments How Family Pressures Him To Marry A Woman Despite His Status

2. EFCC Boss, Olukoyede Faces Visa Ban Threat Over Yahaya Bello's Case

3. I Vow To Keep Trolling Actress Bimbo Ademoye - Actor Deyemi Okanlawon Reveals Why

4. Your First Salary Belong To Your Father For His Blessings Not to Your Pastor - Kanayo O. Kanayo

5. Moses Bliss Reacts After A Troll Bashes Him For Allowing His Wife Preach Whenever They Go For

6. One Shot As Soldiers Break Out Of Their Cells To Protest Poor Welfare In Sokoto

7. Fulham v Manchester City: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

8. Reaction As Davido Likes Tweet Calling Samklef A ‘Fool At 40’

9. Singer, Fireboy Dismisses Rumour Of Rivalry With His Colleague, Asake

10. Nottingham v Chelsea: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

11. Manchester United v Arsenal: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

12. Brickhall School And Ovoke Family Issue Press Statement After Burial Of 4 Year Old

1. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

2. Focus On Fall Of Naira, Insecurity – Charly Boy Drags Onanuga For Tagging Peter Obi As ‘Bitter’

3. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe

4. Suspected Sextortion Blackmailer, Olamide Made £2m Vows To Release Embarrassing PIC/VID Of Boys

5. Mercy Johnson Was With us in The Boat - Survivor of Boat Accident That Killed Jnr Pope Reveals

6. Late Buhari Oloto's Wife, Alhaja Alimotu Sadia Oloto a.k.a IYA OYO Is Dead

7. Nigerians React To Tinubu-Led Administration’s Cybersecurity Levy

8. CBN Extends Suspension of Charges on Cash Deposits

9. If I Buy You A Flight Ticket, Am I Suppose To Tell You To Wear Seat Belt – Adanma Luke Attacks

10. Reactions As Mohbad’s Father Completes Renovation Of Family House In Ekiti State