FG Wants #BringBackOurGirls Group To Join Military On Trip To Sambisa Forest

Date: 15-01-2017 6:51 am (7 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 15-01-2017 06:51 AM (7 years ago)

The #BringBackOurGirls group has outlined a set of conditions to be met by the Nigerian government before accepting its invitation for a trip into Sambisa forest. The government had asked Oby Ezekwesili, the convener of the advocacy group, to nominate three of their members to join the military on a guided trip into Sambisa forest in search of the missing Chibok girls.

In a letter dated January 11th and signed by Information Minister, Lai Mohammed, the government said the trip would avail the BBOG group the opportunity to witness and better understand the efforts being made to secure the freedom of the abducted girls.

The letter said the trip, planned by the military, would see invited BBOG members and a select group of journalists joining the ministers of defence and information, the Chief of Air Staff and Chief of Army Staff for the tour.

“They will first go to the Nigerian Air Force (NAF) Command Centre in Yola to witness firsthand the efforts being made to search for the girls by NAF and then join the day and night sorties with the BAF to the Sambisa Forest,” the letter said.

Responding to the invitation, the BBOG group said its members unanimously agreed that they were open to exploring the opportunity.

“We had an emergency meeting of our Movement to discuss your invitation to embark on a ‘guided tour’ of the Nigerian Air Force Command (Yola) and Sambisa Forest with officials of the government,” the group stated in their letter dated January 13th and signed by Mrs. Ezekwesili.

“However, before proceeding with further discussion on the proposed visit, we propose a pre-tour meeting to discuss pertinent issues that will help inform our decision to proceed.

“We believe that this prior meeting would help provide first-hand knowledge of, and answers to questions that our movement wishes to raise ahead of the guided visit.”

The group proposed that participants at the meeting include the National Security Adviser, the Minister of Defence, the Chief of Army Staff, and the Chief of Air Force.

The group accused the Chief of Army Staff, Tukur Buratai, of endorsing a statement by “a certain group” visiting him which described the BBOG movement as engaging in “social media terrorism”.

“It is puzzling that the reported said visit happened less than 48 hours before our Movement received your letter asking us to travel in the company of the same Chief of Army Staff to Sambisa Forest,” the group stated.

“We demand therefore that ahead of the pre-tour meeting we have proposed herein, that the Chief of Army Staff retracts and apologizes for endorsing such slanderous attacks against our Movement #BringBackOurGirls and specifically at some of our leaders.

“Such a step would communicate that it is with goodwill that the Federal Government is asking us to entertain the visit proposed in your letter.”

More than 200 girls were abducted from Government Secondary School, Chibok, in April 2014 by Boko Haram insurgents.

For nearly three years, the BBOG group has sustained itd advocacy for the safe return of the girls to their families.

Posted: at 15-01-2017 06:51 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- james987 at 15-01-2017 07:26 AM (7 years ago)
Imagine..
Posted: at 15-01-2017 07:26 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- chukkychukky at 15-01-2017 07:46 AM (7 years ago)

Posted: at 15-01-2017 07:46 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- akinmanchy at 15-01-2017 08:33 AM (7 years ago)
Hehehehehe who wan die....All men go tear race at this point

Posted: at 15-01-2017 08:33 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 15-01-2017 09:13 AM (7 years ago)
very nice move!! u go see all of dem shit for body and run!!  YEYE
Posted: at 15-01-2017 09:13 AM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- ruchynize at 15-01-2017 10:00 AM (7 years ago)
lolz all die na die
Posted: at 15-01-2017 10:00 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- ruchynize at 15-01-2017 10:01 AM (7 years ago)
lolz all die na die
Posted: at 15-01-2017 10:01 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- jeroba1 at 15-01-2017 12:36 PM (7 years ago)
make Buhari stay for front.
Posted: at 15-01-2017 12:36 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Dramaking at 15-01-2017 01:34 PM (7 years ago)
Lmao... Thiz newz juz crack me up big time, fg be like enough of the talkin, join the crusade if ya tink itz easy.
Posted: at 15-01-2017 01:34 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kacylee at 15-01-2017 03:28 PM (7 years ago)
very good idea

Posted: at 15-01-2017 03:28 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- crocatum at 15-01-2017 10:17 PM (7 years ago)
fantastic idea, it will boost the morale and the prowess of the army, they should stay at the front.
Posted: at 15-01-2017 10:17 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- LegendaryU at 16-01-2017 11:23 AM (7 years ago)
F.G, God will see you all with lies, one mouth 120 chibok girls as been rescue, another one army has taken over sambisa forest, which one should someone now believe? What will all this people go and do in sambisa forest now army camp? There is God shaaaa
Posted: at 16-01-2017 11:23 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- BournIdentity at 18-01-2017 09:51 AM (7 years ago)
Hmmmmmmmmm,, , I just dey observe

Lyf na from phase to face..,,,...
Posted: at 18-01-2017 09:51 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. EFCC Boss, Olukoyede Faces Visa Ban Threat Over Yahaya Bello's Case

2. UK-based Nigerian G@y Man Laments How Family Pressures Him To Marry A Woman Despite His Status

3. I Vow To Keep Trolling Actress Bimbo Ademoye - Actor Deyemi Okanlawon Reveals Why

4. Your First Salary Belong To Your Father For His Blessings Not to Your Pastor - Kanayo O. Kanayo

5. Moses Bliss Reacts After A Troll Bashes Him For Allowing His Wife Preach Whenever They Go For

6. Brickhall School And Ovoke Family Issue Press Statement After Burial Of 4 Year Old

7. One Shot As Soldiers Break Out Of Their Cells To Protest Poor Welfare In Sokoto

8. Reaction As Davido Likes Tweet Calling Samklef A ‘Fool At 40’

9. Singer, Fireboy Dismisses Rumour Of Rivalry With His Colleague, Asake

10. Fulham v Manchester City: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

11. Manchester United v Arsenal: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

12. Nottingham v Chelsea: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

1. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

2. Focus On Fall Of Naira, Insecurity – Charly Boy Drags Onanuga For Tagging Peter Obi As ‘Bitter’

3. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe

4. Suspected Sextortion Blackmailer, Olamide Made £2m Vows To Release Embarrassing PIC/VID Of Boys

5. Mercy Johnson Was With us in The Boat - Survivor of Boat Accident That Killed Jnr Pope Reveals

6. Late Buhari Oloto's Wife, Alhaja Alimotu Sadia Oloto a.k.a IYA OYO Is Dead

7. Nigerians React To Tinubu-Led Administration’s Cybersecurity Levy

8. CBN Extends Suspension of Charges on Cash Deposits

9. If I Buy You A Flight Ticket, Am I Suppose To Tell You To Wear Seat Belt – Adanma Luke Attacks

10. Reactions As Mohbad’s Father Completes Renovation Of Family House In Ekiti State