UPDATE: Governor Fayose Sets Up Panel To Probe Alleged Police Attack On Nursing Mother In Ekiti

Date: 20-03-2017 9:19 am (7 years ago) | Author: success Xenab
- at 20-03-2017 09:19 AM (7 years ago)

Ekiti state governor, Ayo Fayose on Sunday night announced that an investigative panel has been set to to unravel what transpired in the case of a nursing mother allegedly beaten by some policemen in Ado Ekiti on Friday.
Fayose made this known while speaking on a monthly public enlightenment programme: “The Governor Explains”.

He said the investigation will unravel the policemen that beat the woman.

The governor said he was particularly disturbed by media reports linking policemen to the alleged beating of the woman, Toyin Adeyeye, despite  her status as a nursing mother.

He described as regrettable, the policemen’s action, coming barely two weeks after the state celebrated Women’s Day with fanfare.

The governor declared that the law on violence against women still subsists  in the state, and that the law would be applied as appropriate in this matter.

Abdullahi Chafe, the state police commissioner had said the woman slapped one of his men and tore his uniform. He claimed the woman slapped one of his men when she was  asked to prove the ownership of the car in which she was being driven in.

Chafe spoke in a reaction to the social media outrage against the policemen for brutalising a woman.

After the beating, Adeyeye and her baby, including her younger brother, Adeniyi Dada were detained at a police station in Ado Ekiti, the Ekiti state capital. The car Dada was driving was also impounded.

“It is not good for somebody to prevent a law enforcement officer from carrying out his lawful duty, somebody wearing the uniform? It is not about his age but the authority he carries, I don’t allow my men to do something contrary to the law.

Those people slapped my policeman on duty and tore his uniform. Uniform is an authority and what those people did was against the law and it is not good for a civilian to slap a policeman

I don’t want a woman to be detained with baby or with pregnancy, I don’t want an old woman or a minor to be detained. I have taken note of this and we will take the right action on the matter as investigation continues,” Chafe said.

The husband of the woman, Akanni Adeyeye refuted the policemen’s claim, saying his wife and her brother were beaten and detained for refusing to offer bribe to the policemen at the checkpoint.

He told newsmen that about five policemen on duty at the checkpoint beat them  before taking them to the New Iyin Police Station where they were  detained.

The woman and her daughter were released by the police on Saturday night.

Posted: at 20-03-2017 09:19 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kenshin2 at 20-03-2017 10:56 AM (7 years ago)
And so it begins...
Posted: at 20-03-2017 10:56 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- Larry28 at 20-03-2017 10:57 AM (7 years ago)
HMM
Posted: at 20-03-2017 10:57 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- akinmanchy at 20-03-2017 11:55 AM (7 years ago)
Nice one Fayose, make dem probe the idiot

Posted: at 20-03-2017 11:55 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- morgan1 at 20-03-2017 02:36 PM (7 years ago)
Good,,,,
Posted: at 20-03-2017 02:36 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- 24magic at 20-03-2017 06:15 PM (7 years ago)
Well done governor. I trust You
Posted: at 20-03-2017 06:15 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- willyking at 20-03-2017 11:40 PM (7 years ago)
Action please.
Posted: at 20-03-2017 11:40 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- akinmanchy at 29-03-2017 11:28 PM (7 years ago)
Correct

Posted: at 29-03-2017 11:28 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- BournIdentity at 31-03-2017 08:11 AM (7 years ago)
I saw

Posted: at 31-03-2017 08:11 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- akinmanchy at 31-03-2017 01:17 PM (7 years ago)
Chai
Na wa ooo

Posted: at 31-03-2017 01:17 PM (7 years ago) | Hero

1. EFCC Boss, Olukoyede Faces Visa Ban Threat Over Yahaya Bello's Case

2. UK-based Nigerian G@y Man Laments How Family Pressures Him To Marry A Woman Despite His Status

3. I Vow To Keep Trolling Actress Bimbo Ademoye - Actor Deyemi Okanlawon Reveals Why

4. Your First Salary Belong To Your Father For His Blessings Not to Your Pastor - Kanayo O. Kanayo

5. Moses Bliss Reacts After A Troll Bashes Him For Allowing His Wife Preach Whenever They Go For

6. One Shot As Soldiers Break Out Of Their Cells To Protest Poor Welfare In Sokoto

7. Brickhall School And Ovoke Family Issue Press Statement After Burial Of 4 Year Old

8. Reaction As Davido Likes Tweet Calling Samklef A ‘Fool At 40’

9. Fulham v Manchester City: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

10. Singer, Fireboy Dismisses Rumour Of Rivalry With His Colleague, Asake

11. Manchester United v Arsenal: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

12. Nottingham v Chelsea: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

1. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

2. Focus On Fall Of Naira, Insecurity – Charly Boy Drags Onanuga For Tagging Peter Obi As ‘Bitter’

3. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe

4. Suspected Sextortion Blackmailer, Olamide Made £2m Vows To Release Embarrassing PIC/VID Of Boys

5. Mercy Johnson Was With us in The Boat - Survivor of Boat Accident That Killed Jnr Pope Reveals

6. Late Buhari Oloto's Wife, Alhaja Alimotu Sadia Oloto a.k.a IYA OYO Is Dead

7. Nigerians React To Tinubu-Led Administration’s Cybersecurity Levy

8. CBN Extends Suspension of Charges on Cash Deposits

9. If I Buy You A Flight Ticket, Am I Suppose To Tell You To Wear Seat Belt – Adanma Luke Attacks

10. Reactions As Mohbad’s Father Completes Renovation Of Family House In Ekiti State