"My Cousin Stole My N20million Naira, Only For The Police To Turn Us Both To ATM" - Gistmanian

Date: 21-08-2017 12:23 pm (6 years ago) | Author: kaygee
- at 21-08-2017 12:23 PM (6 years ago)

A reader with Gistmania shares this bad experience he had with the Nigerian police when he was trying to recover some money mismanaged by his cousin, this is how he put it in one of the featured topic comment section:
Forget about the police. My cousin mismanaged over 20m I sent overtime for him to help secure some properties at home; presented me with fake documents with forged signatures without my knowledge. It wasn't until I wanted to dispose of one of d properties early dis year that I discovered that not only did he not fully settle wit the various families he got d properties from, he went to a business center and drafted agreements himself wit lots of errors despite the fact that I paid for lawyers to draft the agreements. Long story short...I wrote a petition to Zone 6 police h/q in Calabar Wen we cudnt resolve within the family. Wen d petition was approved, the police asked me to pay for d case which I did before they invited me over. Spent closed to three weeks in Calabar going to the police station on a daily basis. In d end I had to come back out of frustration. I went to retrieve money but ended up spending. The police on the other hand ended up making more money than I did. Rather than detain the suspect, they kept threatening to detain him thereby using the avenue to extort money from him weneva that deemed fit. All the people involved that the police invited in d course of the invitation, paid afta making their statements. The suspect was never for once detained even afta voluntarily making a confessional statement that he forged d legal documents and got the seals and stamps from the post office to authenticate the documents. The police not only frustrated my efforts in trying to recover my money, they also used me and the suspect as their personal ATMs. Im not a police investigator  a but I grew up in the barracks and I can say boldly that DSP Okoi and his boys Inspector MBA and sergeant Aripo are the very crop of officers that give the police a bad name. When I challenge them that from their conduct they didn't seem to be acting in my interest, wat Aripo told me was that u don't fight with ur IPO becos they can turn the case against u...that Wen they go to court, it's them the magistrate Wil listen to and not u. That if I fight then it doesn't cause the anything to tell the court to ask me how I made the money. Long story short, cudnt take it elsewhere cos that's the highest place in Calabar... Some sympathetic officers adviced I take it direct to the DC as he was yet to be briefed on the matter after over two weeks of making the police station my abode. So I had the option of either meeting with the DC or taking it to Abuja if I had the money and time. I met with the DC who seemed so surprised and at the same time angry at the way the DSP Okoi handled the case. He demanded for the case file before the end of that day...you don't want to know what happened after we left the DC's office. Next day, had to call my cousin and congratulate him while also handing him over to God as the supreme judge becos getting justice the legal way in my beloved country Nigeria is not a feasible thing to aspire for. So wen u talk about Nigerian police...I think I've had my own first hand experience.

Posted: at 21-08-2017 12:23 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ruthie at 21-08-2017 12:36 PM (6 years ago)
THE NIGERIA POLICE FORCE OFFICERS ARE A BUNCH OF CORRUPT FELLOWS
Posted: at 21-08-2017 12:36 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- christianity at 21-08-2017 01:19 PM (6 years ago)
Ur case is an akamu case compared to what so many go try @the hand of the zoo police
Posted: at 21-08-2017 01:19 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- benosky4 at 21-08-2017 01:48 PM (6 years ago)
20M+ and he have the nerve to report the matter to Naija police?
He'll end up losing twice the loss

Posted: at 21-08-2017 01:48 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tegonwa at 21-08-2017 06:23 PM (6 years ago)
20million Naira?Dis Thing Be Like Lie Shaa.20million Naira Bros?Haba,dis Na Buhari's Return Day.Mek Una No Use Lie Spoil Am Abeg.Nawaa O!
Posted: at 21-08-2017 06:23 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ejikeiyo at 22-08-2017 01:11 AM (6 years ago)
WASTED GENERATION
Posted: at 22-08-2017 01:11 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac