Veteran Footballer, Yakubu Aiyegbeni Retires From Professional Football Today

Date: 22-11-2017 4:10 pm (6 years ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 22-11-2017 04:10 PM (6 years ago)

Former Super Eagles and Everton striker, Yakubu Aiyegbeni, on Wednesday announced the date of his retirement from playing football.

Yakubu, whose football career has spanned 20-years, left League two side, Coventry in April having made just three appearances for the Sky Blues.

The 35-year-old has made 250 appearances in the Premier League, scoring 96 goals.

The Veteran forward has also represented Nigeria national team at four Africa Cup of Nations and the 2010 World Cup in South Africa.

“I would like to officially announce my retirement from professional football today.

“Firstly, I would like to thank God for the career I have had. I would like to thank the entire Nigerian Football Federation and my Nigerian national team-mates for all the memorable years I had playing for the Super Eagles.

“I would also like to thank all the football clubs I played for. The managers, all club staff, owners, fellow players and my dearest family and friends who immensely supported me throughout my career.

“When I started my career at Julius Berger in Nigeria all those years ago (1997) I could only have dreamt of the success that was to follow years after.

“Also playing in England especially helped me grow as a player and as a person so much that I am now settled here. I feel the time is right for me to now focus on the next chapter in my life,”
Yakubu told Skysports.

Posted: at 22-11-2017 04:10 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- blowout at 22-11-2017 05:29 PM (6 years ago)
he don clock 50 be that
Posted: at 22-11-2017 05:29 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nonsovin at 22-11-2017 06:30 PM (6 years ago)
will I ever forget that open post he missed against North Corea at the World Cup that cost us the exit at the group stage??
it was really painful!!
Posted: at 22-11-2017 06:30 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Wazubia at 22-11-2017 07:32 PM (6 years ago)
Quote from: nonsovin on 22-11-2017 06:30 PM
will I ever forget that open post he missed against North Corea at the World Cup that cost us the exit at the group stage??
it was really painful!!
north abi south korea, well is retired late, he for do it since.
Posted: at 22-11-2017 07:32 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 22-11-2017 08:11 PM (6 years ago)
Goodluck to him
Posted: at 22-11-2017 08:11 PM (6 years ago) | Grande Master
- jeroba1 at 22-11-2017 08:15 PM (6 years ago)
Calamity yakubu.ur retirement no even move any home and abroad players.
Posted: at 22-11-2017 08:15 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Otikadinje at 22-11-2017 08:39 PM (6 years ago)
Your retirement is long overdue, I retired you long time ago since that bloody loss, can't forget that look on your face that fateful day  Grin

Posted: at 22-11-2017 08:39 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- oludolis at 22-11-2017 10:06 PM (6 years ago)
Quote from: blowout on 22-11-2017 05:29 PM
he don clock 50 be that
´´........ you no well  Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 22-11-2017 10:06 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 22-11-2017 10:41 PM (6 years ago)
ha ha ha he no sabi play at all
Posted: at 22-11-2017 10:41 PM (6 years ago) | Grande Master
- ThinkWisly at 22-11-2017 11:31 PM (6 years ago)
Old Ayegbeni way be 49 say him na 35. I know am reach him papa house for Benin, Him class mates self dey play with us till now for Benin here.
Posted: at 22-11-2017 11:31 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- WhaleDog at 23-11-2017 01:20 AM (6 years ago)
Quote from: ThinkWisly on 22-11-2017 11:31 PM
Old Ayegbeni way be 49 say him na 35. I know am reach him papa house for Benin, Him class mates self dey play with us till now for Benin here.
Bros ! Dat men there don dey count 55 yrs ,Yakubu no be pikin

Posted: at 23-11-2017 01:20 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osarobo62 at 23-11-2017 02:09 AM (6 years ago)
Grin Grin  that is 35 years of playing football...not 35 years in age
Posted: at 23-11-2017 02:09 AM (6 years ago) | Hero
- benosky4 at 23-11-2017 05:51 PM (6 years ago)
God bless his new chapter of life.

Posted: at 23-11-2017 05:51 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac