Teenage mother turns beggar for her triplets

Date: 14-04-2010 10:18 pm (14 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 14-04-2010 10:18 PM (14 years ago)
For teenage-mother, Mrs Ngozi Okafor who was delivered of a set of triplets, two girls and one boy, she would rather die than agree to any arrangement that would take any of her kids away from her.
The 18-year-old wife of Mr Ifeanyi Okafor of Nkerefi in Agbani, Enugu State who has resorted to begging for the upkeep of her children would quickly tell you; “Please, I don’t want any trouble. What I will not want or accept is for anybody to say he wants to collect any of my children to take care of or train for me. I will not take that”.

Mrs Okafor who is apparently shy of publicity, when accosted by Daily Sun at the pedestrian bridge, Unizik Junction, Awka on March 26, 2010 morning cuddling her babies, refused to say anything.
But after an hour of preaching and admonition that publishing her and the children in the newspaper would attract some public-spirited individuals, corporate bodies or governments coming to their aids, she reluctantly spoke, but declined speaking on tape.

When the tape recorder and camera disappeared into the reporter’s bag, she heaved a sigh of relief and managed to answer one or two questions, still cautious apparently because of the fear of her children being taken away from her by those who would want to assist.
She asked, “You said my governor’s wife is a good and loving woman; that if she reads this in your newspaper, she may decide to come and assist us, take care of my babies and other people too?
“So, what will happen after they finished helping us training them? They will go like that? Just like that? What are we going to give or do for them?”

When the answer was nothing, she repeated that she does not want anybody to take away her children, stressing, “I prefer this way I am with them than anyone taking them to train or care for”.
While she was managing to field questions from Daily Sun, the beauty that radiate from the three bundles of nature continued to attract passers-by who dropped money inside the nylon bag she kept her side.

The joy on the faces of the people as they dropped their token of love, thanking God for the gift of those children go with Mrs. Okafor not missing to say “thank you Ma, thank you Sir”.
As the discussion with Mrs. Okafor who said she comes with her babies from their home in Agbani to Awka and some cities in Anambra as she could not stay in Enugu to beg were on, she kept her eyes on the children, ensuring that they did not get hurt, just as she Bosom fed any of them that cried.

Surprisingly, Ngozi’s childbirth story is intriguing in the sense that she never, according to her, attended any antenatal hence had no inclination as to the number of babies in her womb. Also, she was delivered of the triplet at home by neighbours, which showed the mercy of God to all.
Asked why, Ngozi who said she dropped out of school at the beginning of her JSSI when her father died for lack of sponsor and later got married to Ifeanyi said: “I didn’t attend any antenatal because there was no money, I also gave birth to my children at home with the help of some women.
“My husband had just opened his shed where he repairs generators newly then and there was no money. He later joined Okada riding which he is now doing”.

She further said that, “I gave birth to my kids on February 6, 2009 and this is my first pregnancy and when they came, it was a big surprise, but what can one do, but give God thanks because they are God’s gifts”.
Ngozi who said she will have more children, but do not know when, gave the names of the triplets as first, Ifebuchechukwu; second, Chikwado and the boy who came out last, but is the biggest and most handsome, Arinze.
Though she is afraid of situations that would make her kids be in someone else’s custody, the teenage mother will appreciate assistance that will give her and her children a new lease of life, hence she wouldn’t mind the assistance of the amiable first lady of Enugu State, Mrs Clara Chime and many others.

Posted: at 14-04-2010 10:18 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kurupt419 at 14-04-2010 10:23 PM (14 years ago)
naija gaint of africa for mouth.
Posted: at 14-04-2010 10:23 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bazemaster at 14-04-2010 10:57 PM (14 years ago)
Ok, so bad

Posted: at 14-04-2010 10:57 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ade_su_wa at 14-04-2010 10:59 PM (14 years ago)
ok...passin
Posted: at 14-04-2010 10:59 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- anitacute2003 at 14-04-2010 11:15 PM (14 years ago)
Passing jejely

Posted: at 14-04-2010 11:15 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- HOPEA23 at 14-04-2010 11:44 PM (14 years ago)

Posted: at 14-04-2010 11:44 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ruffrugged at 15-04-2010 12:25 AM (14 years ago)
pity
Posted: at 15-04-2010 12:25 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Maxti at 15-04-2010 12:52 AM (14 years ago)
God please send helpers.
Posted: at 15-04-2010 12:52 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- chicco77 at 29-08-2012 02:14 PM (11 years ago)
 Sad
Posted: at 29-08-2012 02:14 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero