Minimum wage: Workers to begin warning strike Nov. 10

Date: 28-10-2010 10:21 am (13 years ago) | Author: Aliuniyi lawal
- at 28-10-2010 10:21 AM (13 years ago)
The Nigeria Labour Congress on Wednesday said workers would embark on a three-day warning strike from November 10-12.
The strike is in protest at the Federal Government’s delay in implementing the new national minimum wage, several months after the conclusion of negotiations.
The NLC, which issued the notice in a communiqué issued at the end of its National Executive Committee meeting in Abuja, said it decided to give government a 14-day ultimatum to address all the issues.
It added that at the end of the period, labour would proceed on the strike.
The new minimum wage was contained in a supplementary bill passed by the National Assembly and signed into law by President Goodluck Jonathan.

The communique, which was signed by President and General Secretary of the NLC, Mr. Abdulwahed Omar and Mr. John Odah respectively, noted that the body’s NEC was surprised at government’s alleged connivance with the private sector to scuttle the payment of the minimum wage to workers.

According to the NLC, sister trade unions are being reached to support the new offensive.
Besides, the NLC called on the nation’s leaders to take the necessary steps to overhaul the security agencies, in view of the emergent security threats symbolised in the October 1 twin bomb blasts in Abuja.

Also, the NLC resolved to commence a well coordinated campaign for the removal of the Resident Electoral Commissioner Independent National Electoral Commission in Ondo State, Mrs. Ayoka Adebayo.

It said the demand for her removal was in view of her alleged ignominious role in the governorship rerun in Ekiti State.
Further, the NLC criticised the FG for not including prominent labour personalities among the 50 Nigerians that were honoured during the nation’s golden anniversary.

According to labour, the non-inclusion of the likes of Pa Michael Imoudu, who played a critical role in the nation’s struggle for independence, was a grave error from government.

Posted: at 28-10-2010 10:21 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Doweller at 28-10-2010 01:32 PM (13 years ago)
Ohooo!
Posted: at 28-10-2010 01:32 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- LEONE at 28-10-2010 02:40 PM (13 years ago)
I concur.
Posted: at 28-10-2010 02:40 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- frenzeecool_08 at 28-10-2010 03:59 PM (13 years ago)
Correct guy, I am looking forward 2 d strike as i need some time off work..
make dem no kill me wiv work 4 here joo
Posted: at 28-10-2010 03:59 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gokemi at 28-10-2010 05:27 PM (13 years ago)
may God help us so that our leaders will heed this call bcos i dont know why u will agree to do something and u will refuse to implement it.ah!!!!!!!!!!nawaooohhhhhhhhhhGOD BLESS NIGERIA
Posted: at 28-10-2010 05:27 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Bestheart at 28-10-2010 05:50 PM (13 years ago)
If they like, let them close all the schools in Nigeria, why it is paining me is that most of their children are abroad studying, God go punish all of them.
Posted: at 28-10-2010 05:50 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Bestheart at 28-10-2010 05:51 PM (13 years ago)
If they like, let them close all the schools in Nigeria, why it is paining me is that most of their children are abroad studying, God go punish all of them.
Posted: at 28-10-2010 05:51 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- kingprass at 29-10-2010 12:43 AM (13 years ago)
pls our leaders shud do sumtin b4 situation of things get out of hand,
the masses are suffering real bad & its not making any sense at all...
as for the strike i think d nation need sum days off work 2 address issues at hand....
Posted: at 29-10-2010 12:43 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ceejay58 at 29-10-2010 05:03 AM (13 years ago)
this is exactly what u get when u have an insincere government.
Posted: at 29-10-2010 05:03 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- bomsiluv at 29-10-2010 10:57 AM (13 years ago)
10th November too far o, d strike for start 2day.
Posted: at 29-10-2010 10:57 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Toks-E at 29-10-2010 03:13 PM (13 years ago)
i think they should start paying per hour..

Posted: at 29-10-2010 03:13 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- mezkaz18 at 29-10-2010 03:19 PM (13 years ago)
MAKE UNA NO STRIKE ABEG BCS THE GOVT IS NOT READY TO LISTEN . HOW DEM GO LISTEN WHEN ALL THEIR PIKIN DEY ABROAD DEY STUDY. SO MY ADVICE IS, MAKE WE STILL DEY TRY GO ON
Posted: at 29-10-2010 03:19 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- princedafe at 1-11-2010 06:34 PM (13 years ago)

goodluck
Posted: at 1-11-2010 06:34 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- vantheo at 1-11-2010 08:49 PM (13 years ago)
Jonathan

Posted: at 1-11-2010 08:49 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- chicco77 at 20-08-2012 07:56 PM (11 years ago)
may GOD help us
Posted: at 20-08-2012 07:56 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero