Assassins want to kill me as they did my son

Date: 05-02-2011 3:08 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Aliuniyi lawal
- at 5-02-2011 03:08 PM (13 years ago)

April 10, 2010 was not a good day for the Martins family of Isale Eko on the Lagos Island. It was the day one of her sons, Oladipupo Olugbenga Ogunfile, a police constable serving Isheri Division of Lagos State Police Command, was murdered by men, suspected to be hired killers, at Barra street junction, on Baale Aiyetoro Street Ajegunle Apapa , Lagos.
After the incident, which happened at 8am, the police were able to track about six suspects and remanded in custody for further investigation. Thereafter, the suspects were sent to Ikoyi prison by the order of Ebute Metta Magistrate Court, while more investigations were on.

Saturday Sun learnt that the Directorate of Public Prosecution (DPP), Lagos State and a legal Aid group also intervened in the matter to ensure that justice prevailed. But, as the investigations and preparations to try the suspects in court are still in progress, it was disclosed that three of the suspects are now walking freely on the streets of Lagos, while others are still in the prison awaiting trial.

Mother of the victim, Alhaja Mojisola Martins, popularly called ‘Mama Danfo Driver’ revealed that she saw one of the suspects near her residence recently at Layinka area of the community at11pm, and sensed danger. “I was surprised when my late son’s wife, Basiratu Ogunfile called my attention of one the suspects, Adebayo Abdullahi. When, I peeped and saw that he was the one, I became afraid and started thinking what he wanted to do around my house at that time of the night”. She stated.

She revealed that the killers of her son initially boasted that they would kill both of them and nothing would happen. “Before they killed my son, they threatened to kill both of us and boasted that nothing would happen, Today, as they have succeeded in killing my son, and nothing really happened to them as they boasted, it could be my own turn to die”, she cried.

Mrs Martins also queried the circumstances surrounding the release of the suspects when the case has not been called up at the court for hearing, since April 2010, when the murder was committed . “How could the suspects remanded in the prison on the account of murder, be released like that? Six of suspects, Saidi Arogundade, Mustapha Layeni, Niyi Sodiq, Adebayo Abdullahi, Seyi Pabiekun and Sikiru Rufai were arrested and taken to Panti, and later to Ikoyi prison .When I saw Adebayo, I tried to find out what was going on, and I was told that three out of the six suspects, Saidi Arogundade, Niyi Sodiq and Adebayo Abdullahi, have been released. I was also told that the court has right to release them, and that they would be rearrested whenever hearing on the case starts. I enquired from Panti where the case was reported and they told that they are not aware of the release of the three suspects. Then, since the police were not aware, who actually worked on their release?

In fact, I am suspecting foul play because when the suspects were arrested, father of one of them, Baale Rafiu Layeni boasted that after spending the sum of N3million, the case would die off, and I am beginning to see the signs of what he said, they are proving to me that no one can fight for me. I am not saying that they should not be released, rather, it should have followed the right process, there should be justice and the condition in which they were released should made known by the court or whoever worked for their release ”, she insisted.
Alhaja Martins further hinted that she has reported the present unsafe situation of her family to the Ajegunle police station and Panti, and appealed to the Inspector General of Police, Lagos State Government, Ministry of Justice, Non Governmental Organisations and Law abiding Nigerians to save her family. “I have recently reported the threat to my life to the police. I am also using this opportunity to appeal to the Inspector General of Police, Lagos State Government, Ministry of Justice and law abiding citizens of this country to come to my rescue. The case has lasted up to eight months, without recommending any punishment for those that committed the crime. Justice delayed is justice denied. My life is in danger as three of the men that killed my son had returned to kill me as they boasted ”, she stated.

Meanwhile, the police source at Panti comfirmed the story and stated that they are not aware of the release of the three suspects. However, they promised to look into the matter. Also, a source informed us that the matter was reported at the Ajegunle Police Station, and that investigation is in progress.

Posted: at 5-02-2011 03:08 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- xena15 at 5-02-2011 03:20 PM (13 years ago)
Long story!

Posted: at 5-02-2011 03:20 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. UK-based Nigerian G@y Man Laments How Family Pressures Him To Marry A Woman Despite His Status

2. I Vow To Keep Trolling Actress Bimbo Ademoye - Actor Deyemi Okanlawon Reveals Why

3. EFCC Boss, Olukoyede Faces Visa Ban Threat Over Yahaya Bello's Case

4. Your First Salary Belong To Your Father For His Blessings Not to Your Pastor - Kanayo O. Kanayo

5. One Shot As Soldiers Break Out Of Their Cells To Protest Poor Welfare In Sokoto

6. Fulham v Manchester City: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

7. Moses Bliss Reacts After A Troll Bashes Him For Allowing His Wife Preach Whenever They Go For

8. Reaction As Davido Likes Tweet Calling Samklef A ‘Fool At 40’

9. Nottingham v Chelsea: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

10. Singer, Fireboy Dismisses Rumour Of Rivalry With His Colleague, Asake

11. Manchester United v Arsenal: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

12. Brickhall School And Ovoke Family Issue Press Statement After Burial Of 4 Year Old

1. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

2. Focus On Fall Of Naira, Insecurity – Charly Boy Drags Onanuga For Tagging Peter Obi As ‘Bitter’

3. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe

4. Suspected Sextortion Blackmailer, Olamide Made £2m Vows To Release Embarrassing PIC/VID Of Boys

5. Mercy Johnson Was With us in The Boat - Survivor of Boat Accident That Killed Jnr Pope Reveals

6. Late Buhari Oloto's Wife, Alhaja Alimotu Sadia Oloto a.k.a IYA OYO Is Dead

7. Nigerians React To Tinubu-Led Administration’s Cybersecurity Levy

8. CBN Extends Suspension of Charges on Cash Deposits

9. If I Buy You A Flight Ticket, Am I Suppose To Tell You To Wear Seat Belt – Adanma Luke Attacks

10. Reactions As Mohbad’s Father Completes Renovation Of Family House In Ekiti State