Tinted glass: Motorists accuse police of harassment, extortion

Date: 18-03-2011 1:05 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Aliuniyi lawal
- at 18-03-2011 01:05 PM (13 years ago)

Confusion, misinterpretation and controversy have continued to follow the recent pronouncement by the Inspector General of Police, Mr. Hafiz Ringim, on vehicles with tinted glass.

Motorists, who spoke with PUNCH METRO in different parts of Lagos State on Thursday, said the police were misrepresenting the IG’s order.

They accused policemen of harassing and extorting money from them, adding that there was the need for the police boss to clear the air on his pronouncement.

One of them, Mr. Wale Ogunleye, accused policemen of preventing him from attending a family function last Saturday.

According to him, he was detained at Berger bridge area of Lagos for over six hours because he took issues with the policemen on tinted glass.

He said, “I told them that My SUV is brand new and the tinted glass is factory-fitted. I said that the IG couldn’t have been talking about vehicles like mine. Government would not have allowed the vehicles to be imported into the country if the IG’s order affected my vehicle.

“My wife was in the car with me; we were going to Ondo State. The policemen delayed us from 12 noon till around six. Then they said they forgave me. Of course, we had to return home. The IG should come out and state clearly if the order is meant for all type of vehicles.”

Another victim of tinted glass controversy called PUNCH PLACE on Thursday. The man, who identified himself simply as Ephraim, said he was arrested while taking his wife to a hospital on Tuesday by policemen attached to Area G Command.

“They (policemen) stopped me and took me to their office at Ogba and kept me till evening over a factory-fitted tinted glass of my car, which also had tinted glass permit. Is this the right way to treat a Nigerian?” he asked.

Another motorist, Jude, who called our correspondent on the telephone, said that he was told to bail himself and his tinted glass vehicle.

He said, “They did not listen to my explanation and threatened to charge me to court and make sure that I was remanded in prison if I did not cooperate with them. Of course I did and I was released.

“I called you because I don’t know what the law says on this tinted glass issue. The harassment has become a daily affair. I bought my car with tinted glass at the rear doors. I don’t have money to replace them now. I bought the car in November last year and even got police permit. The IG should give us time and save us from the harassment.”

But for Mr. Sunday Seun, he said he would no longer take his car out until after the elections. He told PUNCH METRO at his Ketu residence that policemen in the area gave him the advice.

He said, “They have stopped me on a number of occasions and later they told me to keep the car till after the general elections when the IG will make another pronouncement to counter the current order on tinted glass. Since I have another car, I decided to heed the advice.”

PUNCH METRO had received close to 15 calls in the last two days from people from different parts of the state concerning their experiences in the hands of policemen concerning tinted glass.

But the Police Force spokesman, Mr. Sola Amore, said the IG’s order did not affect factory-fitted tinted glass.

He said, “I don’t think any policeman will harass anybody who did it the right way. The order is simple; any vehicle with factory-fitted tinted glass should get a police permit in line with Tinted Glass Act of 1991. So, any new car with the permit is not affected and policemen should not disturb the owner.

“However, those who paste tinted nylon on their glass must remove them no matter what. Even new cars without permit must get it before March 24. After that day, we will start prosecuting offenders.

“And there is nothing like new pronouncement after the elections. This order is not because of elections and therefore it will be enforced even after the elections.”

Posted: at 18-03-2011 01:05 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- blings_is_back at 18-03-2011 01:08 PM (13 years ago)
wtf
Posted: at 18-03-2011 01:08 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- eskor9 at 7-07-2011 01:04 PM (12 years ago)
no be today we don dey hear am.
Posted: at 7-07-2011 01:04 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Bazemaster at 7-07-2011 02:51 PM (12 years ago)
madnesss

Posted: at 7-07-2011 02:51 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- maryclaret at 7-07-2011 03:02 PM (12 years ago)
Corruption in and out of the country. That's what we're known for. A person cannot even enjoy peace in his/her own country. These policemen...have they not yet understood that nemesis is already catching up with them? Have they not been hearing of what has been happening the their fellow colleagues, getting themselves killed for mere 20 naira? Let them continue in their foolishness because it is only a matter of time. As the igbo proverb says, " E gbufu ishi, nti esoro."

Posted: at 7-07-2011 03:02 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- PHMJO3 at 18-04-2016 10:08 AM (8 years ago)
The site for the Tinted glass registration is not working. I had being trying since last week Wednesday. Is the site down?
Posted: at 18-04-2016 10:08 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie