Lawyers Clash With FCT Task Force On Illegal Parking

Date: 04-04-2012 11:50 pm (12 years ago) | Author: AYOOLA ADEBAYO
- at 4-04-2012 11:50 PM (12 years ago)
The FCT Task Force on Illegal Parking on Wednesday clashed with some lawyers outside the premises of the Corporate Affairs Commission (CAC) in Abuja after the tyres of their vehicles had been clamped.

Mr Gyang Ezekiel, one of the lawyers, who spoke to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN), said the problem started when some of them sighted members of the task force clamping the tyres of the cars parked in front of the CAC office.

Ezekiel said there had been an increase in the clamping of tyres of vehicles parked by the road side by the task force in the FCT’’.

He told NAN that no parking lots had been provided for the residents, adding that they could no longer cope with the extortion from the task force as they were made to pay fine for such parking.

He appealed to the FCT minister to review the policy.

``I want the minister to reconsider this policy; if you want us to pay for parking, provide parking lots; we are ready to pay to park our cars if the facilities are provided,’’ he said.

Another lawyer, Mr Chidi Dim, described the development as worrisome, stating that he parked his car outside the court premises only to come back and see that the tyres had been clamped.

Mr Christopher Edochie, the Provost, Nigerian Bar Association (NBA), Abuja branch, said the policy was illegal and called for dialogue to resolve the issue.

``The minister does not have the powers to embark on such enforcement going by the Act that established the FCT.

``We need to discuss and find a way forward; we need to go to the roundtable, but they should remove the clamps first,’’ he said.

Responding, the leader of the task force, Mr Kunle Mustapha, said: ``I don’t have the powers to remove the clamps until I get a directive from the ministry’’.

NAN recalls that Platinum Project Management Services (PPMS) was contracted by the FCT to enforce the policy on illegal parking of vehicles by the road side.

Posted: at 4-04-2012 11:50 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- chicco77 at 14-09-2012 08:15 PM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 14-09-2012 08:15 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Sparky12 at 30-03-2016 12:25 AM (8 years ago)
na lie abeg
Posted: at 30-03-2016 12:25 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emma4love3 at 30-03-2016 12:57 PM (8 years ago)
i waka pass...
Posted: at 30-03-2016 12:57 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- evilgenius at 30-03-2016 01:57 PM (8 years ago)
na dem sabi
Posted: at 30-03-2016 01:57 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Vectorcy at 30-06-2016 10:12 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: Collins chigoziri on 30-03-2016 12:25 AM
na lie abeg
na truth abeg
Posted: at 30-06-2016 10:12 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Vectorcy at 30-06-2016 10:13 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: sunday on 30-03-2016 01:57 PM
na dem sabi
toh.....we hear uuuuu
Posted: at 30-06-2016 10:13 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Vectorcy at 30-06-2016 10:14 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: Emma Uchenna on 30-03-2016 12:57 PM
i waka pass...
pass go where...cum bck here oiooo
Posted: at 30-06-2016 10:14 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Vectorcy at 30-06-2016 10:15 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: chicco77 on 14-09-2012 08:15 PM
wetin
Posted: at 30-06-2016 10:15 PM (7 years ago) | Hero