More of that! Team Nigeria set Africa on Fire,Nigeria Wins 18th African Champ.

Date: 02-07-2012 5:05 am (11 years ago) | Author: Steph.
- at 2-07-2012 05:05 AM (11 years ago)
Nigeria Wins 18th African Championships After 12-year slumber

Team Nigeria returned to winning ways in continental track and field Sunday emerging the overall champions of the 18th edition of the African Senior Athletics Championships in Port Novo, Republic of Benin.
Unlike two years ago in Nairobi when the host country edged Nigeria to win, the relay quartet of Isah Saliu, Abiola Onakoya, Amaechi Morton and Saul Weigopwa ran the race of their lives in the final 4x400m men event to claim the gold that made the difference between Team Nigeria and the East Africans.
Nigerian captain, Saul Weigopwa out ran Botswana’s last leg on the curve of the home stretch to hit the finish line in 3.02: 39 secs to add the vital gold to the one the quartet of Endurance Abinuwa, Omolara Omotosho, Margaret Etim and Bukola Abogunloko (3.28:77secs) had early won to tie the country on same nine gold medals as Kenya.
Botswana got disqualified for South Africa (3.04.12secs) to profit while the bronze went to Kenya (3.04.21).
This is the first time in 12 years that Team Nigeria will be winning African Championships, after the likes of Falilat Ogunkoya, Mary Onyali etc topped the edition Senegal hosted in Dakar in 1998.
Before the race got to the wire, Gloria Asumnu had added the 200m gold to the haul of the previous day while Lawretta Ozoh who ran a photo finish with Asumnu settled for silver based on the reaction time of both athletes. Ajoke Odumosu retained her 400m hurdles effortlessly on same closing minutes of the Benin 2012.
Former Commonwealth Games champion, Vivian Chukwuemeka returned from two years in the wilderness to set a new African record of 18.86m in the women shot put event on the closing day.
Twice during the event, Delta born Chukwuemeka bettered her 18.43m African record set in Walnut, USA on April 19, 2003. Before this new record, she heaved 18.56m in her third throw after coming close in her second throw of 18.41m.
The event was an all Nigerian affair as another USA-based athlete, Chinwe Okoro, who gave Team Nigeria her first gold medal in the women’s discuss event, finished second with 16.21m while the bronze went to Omotayo Talabi (15.63m).
The victory was a personal triumph for Chukwuemeka who had protested her dope violation two years ago.

FINAL MEDALS TABLE
              Gold          Silver     Bronze
Nigeria       10            6           5
Kenya          9            9           9
S’Africa        6          10           8
Senegal        3           1           2
Botswana      3           1           -
Algeria          2           3           2
Morocco        2           2           3
Tunisia          2           1           2
Ghana           1           2           2
CIV               1           –           1

Nigeria’s Tosin Oke retained his Africa triple jump crown on Day Four of he African Senior Ahletics Championships in Porto Novo Benin

Posted: at 2-07-2012 05:05 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- pamela224 at 6-08-2012 08:37 AM (11 years ago)
 i will not be the first to comment Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 6-08-2012 08:37 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- aso4life1 at 6-08-2012 08:55 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: pamela224 on  6-08-2012 08:37 AM
i will not be the first to comment Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
you just did

Posted: at 6-08-2012 08:55 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- BendelArmedRobb at 6-08-2012 10:04 AM (11 years ago)
Naija i hear say Usain Bolt is origin from Nigeria    Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes   E real name na Olamide Olusegun Usain Balogun . Naija una too much oo  coffee wey I dey drink for hia comot for my nose as I read this.
Posted: at 6-08-2012 10:04 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BendelArmedRobb at 6-08-2012 10:45 AM (11 years ago)
dis people Boko haram and goodluck jonathan beef never stil finish    Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes    Naija una too much oo  coffee wey I dey drink for hia comot for my nose as I read this.
Posted: at 6-08-2012 10:45 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- aso4life1 at 6-08-2012 11:07 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: BendelArmedRobb on  6-08-2012 10:04 AM
Naija i hear say Usain Bolt is origin from Nigeria    Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes   E real name na Olamide Olusegun Usain Balogun . Naija una too much oo  coffee wey I dey drink for hia comot for my nose as I read this.
Bendel Insurance, you are very fast in breaking news oooo, I hear say he is one of former Inspector general of Police TAFA BALOGUN'S Pikin...he had Usain while he went for Police training in Jamaica.

Posted: at 6-08-2012 11:07 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- chicco77 at 8-08-2012 10:46 PM (11 years ago)
up naija
Posted: at 8-08-2012 10:46 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- BendelArmedRobb at 8-08-2012 10:52 PM (11 years ago)
Goodluck Jonathan don thief pot of Egusi Soup wen Olusegun Obasanjo and Ibrahil Badamasi Babangida wan use te Eba.......Naija  una too much oo  coffee wey I dey drink for hia comot for my nose as I read this.
Posted: at 8-08-2012 10:52 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dlimelite at 8-08-2012 11:15 PM (11 years ago)
Naija I hail o. Great job
Posted: at 8-08-2012 11:15 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- aso4life1 at 9-08-2012 01:51 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: BendelArmedRobb on  8-08-2012 10:52 PM
Goodluck Jonathan don thief pot of Egusi Soup wen Olusegun Obasanjo and Ibrahil Badamasi Babangida wan use te Eba.......Naija  una too much oo  coffee wey I dey drink for hia comot for my nose as I read this.
Na Palava be that oooo,  OBJ and IBB no go gree ooo, as GEJ no gree now, dem go give him government a lot of palava ooo and na the masses go suffer am. MAY GOD SAVE US FROM ALL THIS GAME PLAYERS.

Posted: at 9-08-2012 01:51 AM (11 years ago) | Hero