How to Think Creatively

Date: 29-03-2008 6:58 pm (16 years ago) | Author: k
- at 29-03-2008 06:58 PM (16 years ago)
The human brain does not think naturally, thinking is by conscious and deliberate effort.

The first thing we need to understand is how the human brain works. For a long time the particular position of the human
brain was not even known, talk less of understanding it’s workings. Even today, when the average person is asked to point at
where the sit of his or her emotions is, he or she will point at the chest area… All these functionalities sit in the human
brain, and that is in the head. Current research has also shown that the human being does not have one brain -
He actually has two! Not two parts of the same brain, two different brains with different functionalities. It is also
interesting to know, that the human brain is not a thinking machine, rather it is a pattern making organ.
The brain seeks to develop a pattern or subroutine for everything it has done or seen. The mind finds it easy to set,
hence mindsets.

In studying the human brain it was also observed that when faced with a problem, a human being does two things. It perceives
and then it processes. More often than not the main problem with inability to solve problems is not the processing but
rather the perception. Like Albert Einstein was quoted to have said, "it takes thinking on a higher level to solve a problem
created at another level". When faced with a problem, we all have the tendency of latching on directly with our developed
mindsets. This is contrary to creative thinking.

To think creatively, one of the first things we must do is break the natural pattern of the need for convergence by the
human mind. The human mind is naturally convergent and seeks to make explanations for what it does not understand. Let’s
say you wake up after hearing a cry in the middle of the night for example. You mind desires to comprehend what just
happened, you stand up and look out your window, everything seems calm, you remember you have a cat downstairs, and say to
yourself, “its a cat” and go back to sleep. You mind has converged, whether or not it is logical is not the question.
This is the natural tendency of the mind. The creative thinking process however encourages you to deliberately utilize
tools that will help you diverge. It helps you to seek other possibilities of what the problem can be before going ahead to
provide a solution.

A man woke up one morning and found water on his water bed, he immediately got up, took his phone and called the person he
believed could fix the bed. The man came around checked out the bed thoroughly and charged him for his time. The next
morning the man woke up again, and there was water on his water bed. Angry, he calls this man again and complains that the
same problem he had paid him for yesterday had surfaced again. He went on and on about poor service in the country and how
he had been cheated. The repair man explained to him that nothing was wrong with the water bed, he had only charged the man
for wasting his time. The real problem was that the water was coming from a bathroom upstairs. How often do we rush into
solving the wrong problems? We do this because our minds focus immediately, we get the perception wrong and the processing
cannot be right.

The first thing to do when faced with a problem is to clarify the issue. This we can do by using a number of brainstorming
tools. Once we have clarified the issue, the next thing we do is a restatement of the problem. More often that not, it is
interesting to see that the problem we thought we had wasn’t the one we had. Once you have a restatement of the problem,
the next step is to again break the natural convergence tendency and brainstorm for possible solutions. You will be
surprised that you could at times come up with close to 50 possible solutions you never would have seen if you didn’t
venture to think divergently. Again this requires the use of some standard tools. After generating these solutions,
the you then converge together with your brainstorming team and minimize to a few of the solutions.
All these processes (clarifying the issue, problem restatement, searching, focusing, developing solutions, e.t.c.) requires
the use of standard some tools.

Your brain is capable of achieving much more than it’s presently positioned to achieve. Start maximizing your creative and
logical thinking today.

All the best.

Read more on www.spiritofjesus.blogspot.com and www.getinspiredng.com

Posted: at 29-03-2008 06:58 PM (16 years ago) | Newbie
- Abby at 4-04-2008 04:14 PM (16 years ago)
i wasn't going to read that (seemed really long), but i ve 2 say its interesting.
Posted: at 4-04-2008 04:14 PM (16 years ago) | Upcoming
- ugodaniels at 5-04-2008 01:46 AM (16 years ago)
Next time, try to shirten this pal. I didnt read coz i got turned off immed. i saw it...hisssssssssssss Angry

Posted: at 5-04-2008 01:46 AM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Vixenx at 6-04-2008 11:05 PM (16 years ago)
i actually read it, only cuz i had an unwanted company and wanted to pretend as if i was doing something really important... Cheesy
Posted: at 6-04-2008 11:05 PM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- myragonza at 7-04-2008 06:27 AM (16 years ago)
i didn't actually read this but responding to the topic,i would say but more "CREATIVE" brand products....lol

Posted: at 7-04-2008 06:27 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ugodaniels at 8-04-2008 02:13 PM (16 years ago)
there are other ways one can get creative...am i right Myra and Vixen?

Posted: at 8-04-2008 02:13 PM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- myragonza at 9-04-2008 09:18 AM (16 years ago)
Quote from: ugodaniels on  8-04-2008 02:13 PM
there are other ways one can get creative...am i right Myra and Vixen?

i can't tell u are right unless u mention them.... Cool

Posted: at 9-04-2008 09:18 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ugodaniels at 9-04-2008 07:44 PM (16 years ago)
One can get creative in the system of bedmantics Cool

Posted: at 9-04-2008 07:44 PM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- myragonza at 10-04-2008 08:24 AM (16 years ago)
Quote from: ugodaniels on  9-04-2008 07:44 PM
One can get creative in the system of bedmantics Cool

as long as they are not like the female praying mantis... Grin

Posted: at 10-04-2008 08:24 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ugodaniels at 11-04-2008 08:25 AM (16 years ago)
wats wit the female prayn mantis? Tongue

Posted: at 11-04-2008 08:25 AM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- myragonza at 11-04-2008 10:36 AM (16 years ago)
Quote from: ugodaniels on 11-04-2008 08:25 AM

they twist off the male's head after mating....yummy!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted: at 11-04-2008 10:36 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ugodaniels at 11-04-2008 03:59 PM (16 years ago)
Quote from: myragonza on 11-04-2008 10:36 AM

Now thats some sick shit...oga i no follow ooo!! Cool

Posted: at 11-04-2008 03:59 PM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- myragonza at 12-04-2008 05:12 AM (16 years ago)
Quote from: ugodaniels on 11-04-2008 03:59 PM
Quote from: myragonza on 11-04-2008 10:36 AM

Now thats some sick shit...oga i no follow ooo!! Cool

are u scared Ugo..... Grin

Posted: at 12-04-2008 05:12 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- lucabracci at 13-04-2008 04:57 AM (16 years ago)
yes he is,he created something he couldnt follow through on Grin

a whole ugo da destroya.. Cool

@poster/post
i guess thinking creatively is sort of having an unhibited thinking,thinking big about positive stuffs,and thinking of a niche you can always carve in the market,society whaeva..just answering the thread but the epistle of paul was waayyy too long man sorry

Posted: at 13-04-2008 04:57 AM (16 years ago) | Upcoming
- ugodaniels at 13-04-2008 09:47 AM (16 years ago)
Quote from: lucabracci on 13-04-2008 04:57 AM
yes he is,he created something he couldnt follow through on Grin

a whole ugo da destroya.. Cool

@poster/post
i guess thinking creatively is sort of having an unhibited thinking,thinking big about positive stuffs,and thinking of a niche you can always carve in the market,society whaeva..just answering the thread but the epistle of paul was waayyy too long man sorry

my guy wetin i go do na, when there's a catch..rippin off my head in the throes of orgasm...now thats some extreme stuffs...dont you think? Cool

Posted: at 13-04-2008 09:47 AM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Vixenx at 15-04-2008 02:12 PM (16 years ago)
How to Think Creatively

think while you're creating.....
Posted: at 15-04-2008 02:12 PM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- myragonza at 16-04-2008 12:51 PM (16 years ago)
think far....think positive with a bit of twists here and there.....

Posted: at 16-04-2008 12:51 PM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Vixenx at 18-04-2008 01:24 AM (16 years ago)
or bend twist it like beckham
Posted: at 18-04-2008 01:24 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- myragonza at 18-04-2008 09:17 AM (16 years ago)
yup....that too Grin

Posted: at 18-04-2008 09:17 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Vixenx at 19-04-2008 01:54 PM (16 years ago)
 Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss
Posted: at 19-04-2008 01:54 PM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero