Shooting survivor: my Boyfriend 'took a bullet for me'

Date: 21-07-2012 11:28 pm (11 years ago) | Author: ani clem
- at 21-07-2012 11:28 PM (11 years ago)
please ho many Nigerian guys can do this for their babe ?
Jon Blunk didn’t survive the attack on the Friday midnight showing of “The Dark Knight Rises” outside Denver. "Jon just took a bullet for me," Young, a 21-year-old who recently became a certified veterinarian technician, told TODAY.
The couple, dating since October, according to Young, had been surprised to be able to get tickets on the day of the popular movie’s premiere.When the alleged assailant, James Eagan Holmes, began his attack on the crowd, Blunk, who Young said had some military experience, knew what was going on, Young said.
He knew and threw me on the ground, and was like, 'We have to get down and stay down,'" she told NBC News.
In the chaos that ensued, Young recalled hearing a woman screaming, "I've been shot,” and a man who stepped on the chair she was hiding under crying out, “Jessie’s been shot.” She heard the constant "boom, boom, boom" of the guns and smelled the gunpowder.
"There was kind of a break in between each gunshot,” she said. "Every gunshot, I was like, 'This is it … I'm done for.'"
The one constant for her during the attack was Jon's arms pushing her under the seat to keep her out of the line of fire. At one point, she felt herself get struck, and showed a reporter about a dozen marks on her left torso that she believes may have been from shrapnel.
"I kind of felt that in multiple places,” she said of the marks. Then, she said, "Jon gave me one good push against that concrete again and then … I didn’t really feel his arms against my back anymore but I knew he was still there."
At first, she didn’t think he had been shot, but knew something had happened.
Courtesy Young family
"I guess I didn’t really know he had passed, up until I started shaking him and saying, 'Jon, Jon we have to go … it's time for us to get out of here,'" she said, her voice trembling.
When Young wiggled out from under the seat, few people were left in the theater. She saw some people crawling on the ground, a few still in their seats and others running out.
She tried to pull Blunk up by the shoulder, but he didn’t move, and she assumed he was dead.
Blunk's estranged wife, Chantel Blunk, who lives in Reno, Nev., with their two kids, confirmed to NBC News that the FBI said Blunk was indeed killed in the theater.
“He is the guy that would take a bullet for you. He did the right thing all the time,” Young said. “I know I would not be here today if Jon had not been next to me in that movie theater.”
She told TODAY he wasn’t just a hero that fateful Friday night, but had been one forever. She said he had been planning to re-enlist in the military.
“It was what he wanted to do. He loved it,” she said. “Even though he saved me and gave me the opportunity to live, he would’ve done that for anyone that day.”
Young said she still couldn’t believe he was gone.
I’m still trying to decide if this is real, like you know, he’s going to walk in the door tonight when he gets off work."
http://usnews.msnbc.msn.com/_news/2012/07/21/12875584-shooting-survivor-boyfriend-took-a-bullet-for-me?lite

Posted: at 21-07-2012 11:28 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- exever100 at 22-07-2012 01:15 AM (11 years ago)
 Shocked
Posted: at 22-07-2012 01:15 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- katung44 at 22-07-2012 07:57 AM (11 years ago)
At least someone knows how to put the song 'catch a grenade for you' into practice. Too bad he won't be able to receive his award from Bruno Mars!
Posted: at 22-07-2012 07:57 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- kelvin500 at 22-07-2012 08:05 AM (11 years ago)
why the stupid question,'how many nigerians can do this?'.
Posted: at 22-07-2012 08:05 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- jossy4reall at 22-07-2012 04:50 PM (11 years ago)
poster ur question shuld be hw many galz can do dat 4 dia man..., I watched it in d news

Posted: at 22-07-2012 04:50 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- chicco77 at 9-08-2012 06:00 PM (11 years ago)
thank GOD for you
Posted: at 9-08-2012 06:00 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Treasure2 at 9-08-2012 06:15 PM (11 years ago)
I see
Posted: at 9-08-2012 06:15 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- FlyMamacita at 10-08-2012 12:59 PM (11 years ago)
The man died? I nor get strenght to read  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 10-08-2012 12:59 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- xena15 at 11-08-2012 07:49 PM (11 years ago)
 Cry Cry
I should be crying right?
Ok,nw I am!!!!!!

Posted: at 11-08-2012 07:49 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nickyvil at 12-08-2012 07:48 AM (11 years ago)
i can only lov her diply bt cant risk my life naija babe no dey slack dem go marry anoda guy sharply n u dey mumu
Posted: at 12-08-2012 07:48 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. I'm Open To Dating WOMEN - Khloe Kardashian Announces

2. 70 Passengers Found Vomiting Bug During Flight From Mauritius To Frankfurt

3. Nigeria Man Narrates How His Dad Impregnated His Ex-girlfriend And Took Her Out Of The Country

4. “Something Foul Is Going On” – Very Dark Man Reveals Update On Nickie Dabarbie’s Whereabouts

5. Arsenal v Bournemouth: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

6. Manchester City v Wolves: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

7. Nasboi Opens Up On Why He Thought Sydney Talker Was A Yahoo Boy

8. Holy Spirit Always Gives Me Lotto Number Whenever We Don't Have Anything To Eat -Efotete Family

1. Stop Lagos-Calabar Highway Project - Obi Tells Tinubu As Demolition of Landmark Centre Begins

2. "Stop Inciting Igbos Against Tinubu Govt" – Umahi Slams Peter Obi

3. FRESH: Nollywood Lovers, IK Ogbonna & Ini Edo Reportedly Engaged

4. MAY 1st; Peter Obi Celebrates Nigerian Workers, Sends Message

5. Peter Obi Reacts To The Deaths Of 35 Nigerians In Horrific Kogi, Enugu Road Clashes

6. “Wizkid Undergoing Mental Illness, No Longer Together With Jada – Isaac Fayose Reveals

7. Watch As Lions Have S3x On Top Of Safari Truck Full Of People

8. How A Nigerian Woman Loses Her Marketing Job For Failing to Meet N300m Monthly Target

9. Lagos Gov Sanwo Olu Appoints Wasiu Ayinde's Daughter, Basirat As SSA To Gov On Tourism

10. Kenya Gets First Female Air Force Commander, Major General Fatuma Gaiti Ahmed