What Are My Options For Getting My First Car? Is it brand new or tokunboh?

Date: 13-05-2013 8:09 am (11 years ago) | Author: Direct
- at 13-05-2013 08:09 AM (11 years ago)
Buying your first car is a huge financial commitment and for most young people this is the first major purchase they will make. There are three main things to consider – choosing the car, determining how much you can afford, and paying for the car.

Which car should you buy? What type of car do you really need? Pick up brochures and magazines and look at the different makes and models and narrow down your choices to a few cars within your budget. Talk to friends, family and colleagues who have had some experience with the same models. Is the car easy to service? Some cars retain their value longer than others. Does it have a good resale value? These are all important considerations.

How much can you afford to spend? Vehicle financing is offered by several banks and financial institutions; this gives you some scope to negotiate the best financing terms. Set a price range that fits your budget and your own particular situation and resolve to stay within it. Shop around for a few quotes; compare the terms, interest rates, fees and penalty charges imposed by various lenders. Don’t feel obliged to close a deal immediately. The difference could be significant.

We all love that new car smell but don’t forget the running costs. In addition to the initial purchase you must consider the costs of registration, service and maintenance, parking, fuel, insurance and monthly payments if you borrow or lease. It is tempting particularly for young people to want to go for the bigger flashier car as against the smaller, more economical one. You just end up spending much more on fuel and maintenance costs, which can become a burden.

Be careful of sales “gimmicks.” In trying to take advantage of incentives and promotions offered by some dealers and lenders, you might end up paying much more in the end. Different scenarios may be presented, ranging from no down payment or a period of no interest payments. Calculate your payments in advance, so you know exactly how much money you will part with over the lease term.

The new versus “tokunboh” or second hand car decision is not just a matter of personal preference but is about what you can afford. New cars usually come with a warranty that covers some expenses for a period, but they are much more expensive. A car is not an investment; through the process of depreciation, the value of your new car begins to decline from the moment you drive it out of the show room.

Second hand cars do not lose as much value but you need to do some extra homework to avoid buying a substandard car. Have the car checked by a qualified mechanic, especially if you really don’t know anything about cars. This will prevent you from buying a car that will need a lot of repair work or may have been in a serious accident that isn’t immediately apparent.

There are several options for how you pay for your car. Of course if you can afford it, and have excess funds available, pay for your car with cash; it saves you the interest costs. Leasing has become a popular option as cars are expensive and only a few people have the means to part with large amounts of cash all at once without borrowing or leasing.

Leasing is a bit like renting a car; the most important factors with a car lease are the down payment, the monthly payments, and the length of the lease.

A down payment of 10 per cent  to 20 per cent  is usually required but you can choose to make a larger down payment to lower your monthly payments. Whilst leasing helps you to free up cash in the short term, remember that by the time you have finished paying off your car, you will have paid much more than it was initially worth due to the interest combined with your payments.

Read the small print. Lease agreements are usually long and tedious to go through but you need to read the agreement carefully, and make sure you understand the terms and conditions before you sign any document. You don’t want any surprises down the line. With all its benefits, car leasing requires much discipline and commitment. Look carefully at your own particular situation to determine if you really are a leasing candidate.

If you have a history of making your payments on time and don’t keep excessive debt, you should be a good candidate for a lease. On the other hand if you have had a chequered credit history with late interest payments and returned cheques reflecting on your account, you may find it difficult to qualify. Try to avoid defaulting on your loan as missing even one payment could damage your credit history. Set up a direct debit from your account so that payments are regular and on time.

Leasing makes it possible for you to drive a car that you really cannot afford so when you visit the car show room try not to be tempted. If you are looking to impress your friends, remember how embarrassing it would be if you fall back on your payments and the car is re-possessed at the shopping mall in full view of everyone. The lessor, with the spare key retained in their custody, can drive off with their property if you ignore the default notice.

View your car as a tool to get you from “a” to “b” and not as a status symbol. Try to get the best value for your money. Remember, your first car doesn’t have to be your dream car. Whatever your choice is, enjoy it, have fun and drive safely!

Posted: at 13-05-2013 08:09 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- I-Don-Come at 13-05-2013 08:38 AM (11 years ago)
Brother, better go dey write community-constitution for ur village...bcoz i notice sey u get strength to write. You sabi dey write like dis Nigeria still dey employ foreigners to come teach us...
Posted: at 13-05-2013 08:38 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- etibaba at 13-05-2013 08:44 AM (11 years ago)
Dame,this shit is too long.

Posted: at 13-05-2013 08:44 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Unikpearl at 13-05-2013 09:04 AM (11 years ago)
Brb
Posted: at 13-05-2013 09:04 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- morgrawl231 at 13-05-2013 09:21 AM (11 years ago)
MACHINE,,,,CAR OR MOTOR,,,,WHICH ONE DO U PREFER?Huh?
Posted: at 13-05-2013 09:21 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Yungchill at 13-05-2013 09:49 AM (11 years ago)
Buy lorry...

Posted: at 13-05-2013 09:49 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- winace at 13-05-2013 10:46 AM (11 years ago)
U can buy tractor
Posted: at 13-05-2013 10:46 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- bestbuky at 13-05-2013 11:01 AM (11 years ago)
too long
Posted: at 13-05-2013 11:01 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chicco77 at 13-05-2013 11:30 AM (11 years ago)
i dey come make i go sh*t first Grin
Posted: at 13-05-2013 11:30 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Jaylen at 13-05-2013 11:31 AM (11 years ago)
Poster u expect me to read all this , well make i go toilet come back..
Posted: at 13-05-2013 11:31 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- mary11 at 13-05-2013 11:59 AM (11 years ago)
Not yet time

Posted: at 13-05-2013 11:59 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- dabattleaxe at 13-05-2013 12:25 PM (11 years ago)
Thanks bro. nice piece? An eye opener too. Big-up. Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss
Posted: at 13-05-2013 12:25 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- dickman2 at 13-05-2013 12:51 PM (11 years ago)
 Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 13-05-2013 12:51 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- cocoeni at 13-05-2013 01:10 PM (11 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 13-05-2013 01:10 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Shegzan at 13-05-2013 01:24 PM (11 years ago)
Ttyl!

Posted: at 13-05-2013 01:24 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Biafranwar at 13-05-2013 01:51 PM (11 years ago)
But why this kind post na?
Posted: at 13-05-2013 01:51 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sonjohn994 at 13-05-2013 02:01 PM (11 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 13-05-2013 02:01 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ezchusa at 13-05-2013 02:25 PM (11 years ago)
hmmm

Posted: at 13-05-2013 02:25 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Solidstonez at 13-05-2013 02:29 PM (11 years ago)

Posted: at 13-05-2013 02:29 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- nobleladyG at 13-05-2013 03:40 PM (11 years ago)
Nice but too long. Can't even finish reading it

Posted: at 13-05-2013 03:40 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Huggies Maker, Kimberly-Clark To Stop Production Three Years After Investing $100m In Nigeria

2. VIDEO: Wife Plasters Photo Of Her Husband's Sidechic On Walls To Warn Her

3. Two Soldiers Reportedly Killed As Gunmen Enforce Sit-at-Home In Abia

4. Heartbroken Lady Narrates How Boyfriend Dumps Her For Same Girl Her Ex Left Her For

5. VIDEO; Kcee Acquires Two Super Full-Sized SUVs Reportedly Worth N500M

6. What I Ordered vs What I Got: Nigerian Lady Shares Photos Of Outfit She Ordered Online

7. VIDEO; Seun Kuti Fires Back At Those Dragging Influencer, Saida Boj

8. I No Fit Argue, I Don Start To Dey Learn Am - Footballer, Ajibade, Plays New National Anthem

9. Experts Slam Tinubu Says New National Anthem Does Not Change Price Of Food

10. BBN Star, Bella Look Gorgeous In White As She Celebrates 27th Birthday

11. Calm In Kano As District Heads Pledge Loyalty To Sanusi Amidst Legal Tussle

12. BREAKING: NELFund Reveals 30,000 Have Successfully Registered For Student Loan

13. University Education Not Necessary For Success – UK PM, Rishi Sunak Blows Hot

14. VIDEO: Reactions Trail As Yul Edochie Appreciates God For Defeating Plans Of His Enemies

15. COCHIN Confirms Davido's N300m Donation To Orphanage Homes, Sends Him Appreciation Letter

16. Nigerian Woman Hauwa Ojeifo Receives $24 Million Grant From Melinda Gates

17. APC Chairmanship: Court Fixes June 13 To Hear Suit Against Ganduje

18. "Timi Dakolo’s ‘Great Nation’ Should Be Nigeria's Anthem" – Adekunle Gold

19. BREAKING: Many Trapped As Building Collapses On Lagos Island

20. Niger Govt Arrests Suspected Gang Leader & Others Wanted In Nigeria

1. A 12 Year Old Russian Boy Is Alleged To Be The Founder Of Tapswap

2. Pastor Tobi Adegboyega Breaks Silence on Allegations of Fathering Kayode Olanrewaju’s Kids

3. Peter Obi Highlights Conditions For PDP, Labour Party Merger Ahead of 2027 Polls

4. VIDEO: Deeper Life's Pastor Kumuyi Relocates To UK After Urging Nigerians To Back Tinubu

5. Zlatan Reportedly Spent N237b on His New Boutique Only to See His Designs Replicated in Aba

6. 63-Yr-Old Bishop Dwight Reed Defends Marriage To 19-Year-Old Congregant Amidst Controversy

7. PHOTOS: Korra Obidi Shocks Many With Her Outfit At The Caribbean's Carnival

8. Peter Okoye's Wife Speaks Amidst her Brother In Law's New Marriage

9. Six ACU Students Arrested For Beating Mate, Alex Timileyin To Death Over Phone Theft

10. Severed Human Head Left On Bridge In Ogun State Following Cult Clash (Graphic Photos)