Should Married People Have Friends Of The Opposite Sex? (Mary J Blige)

Date: 19-11-2014 8:34 am (9 years ago) | Author: Victor A. Ofoma
- at 19-11-2014 08:34 AM (9 years ago)
Mary J. Blige has been married to husband and manager, Kendu Isaacs, for 11 years and she recently opened up about how they have maintained a happy marriage and a working business relationship. She said their most successful tactic is making sure that both of them have no friends of the opposite sex. Check out her thoughts on marriage below and share yours.

On how she feels as the couple celebrate their 11th wedding anniversary next month.

It definitely feels like an achievement. I never thought I’d last this long in a marriage.

What are the benefits of marrying one’s manager?

“He always has my back – he’s going to fight to the death for Mary J Blige. The downside is that there’s no separation – it’s on all the time. When you don’t feel like answering to your manager, he’s still your husband. If one of you doesn’t want to talk about something right now, you have to respect that. And you have to respect each other’s space.”

On having friends as a married person.

“All females for me, all guys for him. There’s none of that, ‘Oh, that’s my female friend. Oh, that’s my guy friend.’ No. Not in a marriage, I’ve never seen that work.”

How being a wife has changed her;

“Being a single person and an artist, there’s a lot of selfishness that you don’t even know you have,” she says. “Being a wife, it’s not all about me.”

Posted: at 19-11-2014 08:34 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ken1230 at 19-11-2014 09:02 AM (9 years ago)
How much can I change $500,000 to naira and where?
Posted: at 19-11-2014 09:02 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 19-11-2014 09:10 AM (9 years ago)
she is very right  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 19-11-2014 09:10 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- zeigbo at 19-11-2014 09:20 AM (9 years ago)

Posted: at 19-11-2014 09:20 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Abubu86 at 19-11-2014 09:20 AM (9 years ago)
She have said d truth
Posted: at 19-11-2014 09:20 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Abubu86 at 19-11-2014 09:20 AM (9 years ago)
She have say d truth
Posted: at 19-11-2014 09:20 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- seveneleven at 19-11-2014 09:49 AM (9 years ago)
i can have but my wife will never have
Posted: at 19-11-2014 09:49 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- echeeche at 19-11-2014 10:56 AM (9 years ago)
i need work in nigeria
Posted: at 19-11-2014 10:56 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- DrSoba at 19-11-2014 11:29 AM (9 years ago)
True talk
Posted: at 19-11-2014 11:29 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Larry28 at 19-11-2014 01:09 PM (9 years ago)
Hmmm
Posted: at 19-11-2014 01:09 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- ngfineface at 19-11-2014 02:18 PM (9 years ago)
She's not right anything abeg. Our problem in naija is that we are most times not open to our partners otherwise what is the biggy having opposite sex as mere friend? Are you saying one should cut off school mates because of marriage? I say NO. The best is to make sure you introduce the person to your spouse and any communication must be in the open and not dirty. There should however be a limit to visitation, once in a long while which must be with the consent of both parties spouses won't be a bad idea. So if Jonathan or patient is your friend you will cut off from him/her because you are married? Abeggiiiii. Sincerity is our problem in marriage, not friends. We should learn to be truthful, honest and truly love our spouse.
Posted: at 19-11-2014 02:18 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- eric2000 at 19-11-2014 04:05 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: ngfineface on 19-11-2014 02:18 PM
She's not right anything abeg. Our problem in naija is that we are most times not open to our partners otherwise what is the biggy having opposite sex as mere friend? Are you saying one should cut off school mates because of marriage? I say NO. The best is to make sure you introduce the person to your spouse and any communication must be in the open and not dirty. There should however be a limit to visitation, once in a long while which must be with the consent of both parties spouses won't be a bad idea. So if Jonathan or patient is your friend you will cut off from him/her because you are married? Abeggiiiii. Sincerity is our problem in marriage, not friends. We should learn to be truthful, honest and truly love our spouse.
obviously you are a woman....all of your so called male friends are interested in having sex with you,they are just waiting for the right opportunity that is why they playing around you..so I say hell no..no woman or man in a committed relationship or marriage should keep friends of the opposite sex..if you are really interested in sustaining that relationship..if you have this friendships before you got into this new relationship ,as soon as it becomes serious keep a distant from them....My experience
Posted: at 19-11-2014 04:05 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osarobo62 at 19-11-2014 04:06 PM (9 years ago)
@ NGFINEFACE,
Sincerity is our problem in marriage, not friends. We should learn to be truthful, honest and truly love our spouse.

That is simply the truth.
Posted: at 19-11-2014 04:06 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- ngfineface at 19-11-2014 04:21 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: eric2000 on 19-11-2014 04:05 PM
obviously you are a woman....all of your so called male friends are interested in having sex with you,they are just waiting for the right opportunity that is why they playing around you..so I say hell no..no woman or man in a committed relationship or marriage should keep friends of the opposite sex..if you are really interested in sustaining that relationship..if you have this friendships before you got into this new relationship ,as soon as it becomes serious keep a distant from them....My experience

All your so called friends - very rude!
Obviously, you cannot control your libido - my understanding! You also sounded like the only thing you think about in r/ship is sex - too bad. Any responsible person knows when to draw the curtains. So transparent that you did not handle yours well hence the many sad experiences according to you. I have never and will never have such experience. Not all relationship leads to marriage so get your heads together and be nice to people all da way and if you can't control yourself like you sounded, please cut off your stuff and wear a skirt
Posted: at 19-11-2014 04:21 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- raybenzino at 19-11-2014 07:09 PM (9 years ago)
4ha pocket
Posted: at 19-11-2014 07:09 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- okoroj at 19-11-2014 08:54 PM (9 years ago)
True talk my dear
Posted: at 19-11-2014 08:54 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- waffibabe at 20-11-2014 05:10 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: Ken1230 on 19-11-2014 09:02 AM
  abeg, come my house in ajegunle but don't involve the police. I can change it at any amount you want .biko
Posted: at 20-11-2014 05:10 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- waffibabe at 20-11-2014 05:10 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: Ken1230 on 19-11-2014 09:02 AM
 abeg, come my house in ajegunle but don't involve the police. I can change it at any amount you want .biko
Posted: at 20-11-2014 05:10 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- waffibabe at 20-11-2014 05:17 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: echeeche on 19-11-2014 10:56 AM
i need work in nigeria
I can offer you a job in my father oil and gas companies if only you are handsome and ready to settle with my 45 yes old Orono aunty
Posted: at 20-11-2014 05:17 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Nicksam at 20-11-2014 08:30 AM (9 years ago)
GOOD FOR THEM
Posted: at 20-11-2014 08:30 AM (9 years ago) | Hero