Oil Workers Shut Down NNPC Offices Nationwide Over Unbundling

Date: 09-03-2016 10:24 am (8 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 9-03-2016 10:24 AM (8 years ago)

Nigerian oil workers have shut down the operations of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC) nationwide following Tuesday's unbundling of the corporation by the President Buhari-led federal government.

Following Tuesday’s unbundling of the corporation, Oil workers have shut down the operations of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC) nationwide as staff and management of the corporation arrived their various offices on Wednesday morning to discover that they could not gain entrance following the total strike.

Without a doubt, the immediate impact of the strike will be nationwide fuel scarcity as products will not be lifted by NUPENG. It is not expected to affect the crude oil export yet except the Department of Petroleum Resources (DPR) joins in solidarity.
Nigeria's minister of state for petroleum resources, Ibe Kachikwu, who doubles as the NNPC group managing director, had reportedly announced the creation of seven independent units on Tuesday, namely - downstream, gas and power, refineries, ventures, corporate planning and services, and finance and accounts.

It was gathered that the group executive committee (GEC) of the the Nigeria Union of Petroleum and Natural Gas Workers (NUPENG) and the National Union of Petroleum and Natural Gas Workers (NUPENG) convened an emergency meeting at 10pm on Tuesday to discuss the development.

At the end of the meeting, GEC sent this message to all members:
"The GEC of NUPENG & PENGASSAN at its meeting of 8th March 2016, which started at 10:00pm has extensively discussed the pronouncement of the GMD on NNPC UNBUNDLING.
"We observed that the GMD/HMSP totally disregarded due process and failed to engage STAKEHOLDERS. Hence, from midnight today, ALL NNPC LOCATIONS will be SHUT DOWN COMPLETELY until further notice. Further directives will be communicated accordingly."

Tweets which announced the unbundling of NNPC which started the shutdown by workers this morning
When a correspondent visited the NNPC headquarters on Wednesday, hundreds of the corporation’s staff littered the road causing gridlock on Herbert Macaulay way. Unionists in red were at the scene barricading the entrance to the NNPC building as security agents were on hand to forestall break down of order.

A staff member of the NNPC, who spoke on condition of anonymity, told a reporter that he was at the corporation’s building as of 7:30am on Wednesday but met "it barricaded by members of PENGASSAN."
One of the leaders of the union, said: "We are not here for journalists. This is not for the press."

Posted: at 9-03-2016 10:24 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- samdove28 at 9-03-2016 10:34 AM (8 years ago)
NA THERE CUP OF TEA, IF THEN LIKE MAKE THEN SHUT DWN ASO ROCK. THAT ONE NO CONCERN ME.
Posted: at 9-03-2016 10:34 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emma4love3 at 9-03-2016 10:55 AM (8 years ago)
make them go sidon they are d problem of this country mumu staff they shuld respect the law of the president
Posted: at 9-03-2016 10:55 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Oworen25 at 9-03-2016 10:58 AM (8 years ago)
All this things dey happen because them get work that is why
Posted: at 9-03-2016 10:58 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 9-03-2016 11:02 AM (8 years ago)
they should be a law that banned this A*#S from making people suffer for nothing!!
Posted: at 9-03-2016 11:02 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- kp45 at 9-03-2016 11:09 AM (8 years ago)
Hmmm
Posted: at 9-03-2016 11:09 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- botlex at 9-03-2016 11:14 AM (8 years ago)
I know this is going to cause petrol scarcity. Please you guys should sort yourselves out
Posted: at 9-03-2016 11:14 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dleg at 9-03-2016 11:27 AM (8 years ago)
How does this splinting affect their work to make them went on strike?  It should create more jobs for people, allow transparency and accountability.
Some ppl are the enemy of this country because of their selfishness.
The people involve should be sacked.
Posted: at 9-03-2016 11:27 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zezprincess at 9-03-2016 11:31 AM (8 years ago)
That the land is not good,makes the village chiefs to benefit more,black marketers will be smiling by now.
Posted: at 9-03-2016 11:31 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Anny01 at 9-03-2016 11:39 AM (8 years ago)
The kind of CHANGE Nigerians wanted.
What a world of lies?
Posted: at 9-03-2016 11:39 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Powerfulify at 9-03-2016 11:42 AM (8 years ago)
Buhari ur house is on fire n chasing rat, shame 2 u buhari
Posted: at 9-03-2016 11:42 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- slimmygal at 9-03-2016 12:06 PM (8 years ago)
Ok, i dey come make i go see for myself.
Posted: at 9-03-2016 12:06 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- slimmygal at 9-03-2016 12:07 PM (8 years ago)
Ok, i dey come make i go see for myself.
Posted: at 9-03-2016 12:07 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BournIdentity at 9-03-2016 01:40 PM (8 years ago)
I just dey observe
Posted: at 9-03-2016 01:40 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- BournIdentity at 9-03-2016 01:45 PM (8 years ago)
I just dey observe
Posted: at 9-03-2016 01:45 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- raynebee at 9-03-2016 02:08 PM (8 years ago)
okay....I don hear
Posted: at 9-03-2016 02:08 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Eazyatumeyi at 9-03-2016 02:42 PM (8 years ago)
make them park well jor, no be for the good of Nigerians, I believe this government.
Posted: at 9-03-2016 02:42 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Wealthmide at 9-03-2016 05:04 PM (8 years ago)
some people just don't want this country to succeed, may God just have mercy ooo....
Posted: at 9-03-2016 05:04 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Haso112 at 9-03-2016 05:53 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: legunsen dare on  9-03-2016 11:27 AM
How does this splinting affect their work to make them went on strike?  It should create more jobs for people, allow transparency and accountability.
Some ppl are the enemy of this country because of their selfishness.
The people involve should be sacked.

''You said it all...."
Posted: at 9-03-2016 05:53 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 9-03-2016 06:00 PM (8 years ago)
Hmmmmm OK o. Thank u Buhari. we are enjoying ur change u chant.
Posted: at 9-03-2016 06:00 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero