Workers shut down Union Bank Nigeria

Date: 15-12-2010 1:08 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Chukwuka Chudi-Oji
- at 15-12-2010 01:08 PM (13 years ago)
It was a day of mixed business operations for Union Bank. While its 41st annual general meeting was on at Maiduguri, Borno State capital, protesting staff shut down the bank’s operations nationwide.The workers said they have had enough of the mismanagement of the present management staff, and in particular, the Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, Funke Osibodu. They are also complained about the alleged termination of 200 staff without due process. “Enough is enough,” said one of the protesters, who did not wish to be named. “What is it? Since she came, we have not known peace. She has been undermining workers solidarity and constantly deducting workers salary for no specific reason. We need answers to her actions so far. We need her to clarify certain thing we don’t understand. All the tax that are being deducted from our salaries, there is no evidence that they are being remitted to the tax office. She is looting our money. They were told to come here and raise our share capital base. Nothing has happened so far. It’s not really the layoff that is our problem now.”

Inquiries revealed that all the branches of the bank nationwide were affected by the protest as the central server which is supposed to link up the systems for the online services were shut down as well. The protest is one of the fallouts of the restructuring of the rescued banks by the Central Bank which commenced last year with the takeover of nine banks.

Protest would continue

Denja Yakub, the Assistant secretary Nigeria Labour Congress, said the protest “would continue forever.” “We have succeeded in shutting down all Union Bank branches nationwide,” he said. “They didn’t work anywhere today and we will continue tomorrow. It will continue forever until they decide to talk with us.” Mr Yakub alleged that the bank management has ignored implementation of all collective agreements it signed with the union, misappropriated shareholders’ funds, and sacked over 200 workers without due process.

Among the placards and hand bills held by the protesting workers were inscriptions like ‘Madam Osibodu, stop undermining workers’ solidarity’. ‘Know that working men have no country’. ‘While the wages of workers is under assault, the directors’ income is witnessing an upward swing’. ‘Osibodu, why are you moving deposit to our competitors? Tell the world why you ceded our US$500 million deposit to First Bank of Nigeria’. ‘Madam Osibodu, you represent the Jezebel of our time. We bind you, don’t disturb’.

However, while her house was literarily on fire, Mrs Osibodu was assuring shareholders that better days are ahead as a result of the changes being implemented in the bank. “We are confident that the changes being implemented in the bank will yield the desired results such that they will begin to reap good returns from their investments in the bank in the near future,” she said.

Francis Barde, the bank’s spokesperson, said he was unable to comment on the picketing and promised to call back; which he did not do as at the time of going to the press.
http://www.nigeriacurrentnews.com/workers-shut-down-union-bank-nigeria/

Posted: at 15-12-2010 01:08 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- baby14life at 15-12-2010 03:46 PM (13 years ago)
He did de right thing
Posted: at 15-12-2010 03:46 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Abdulrasak at 15-12-2010 04:32 PM (13 years ago)
Somebody has to fight, it can just keep going on like that, i support your decision man, carry go
Posted: at 15-12-2010 04:32 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- waco at 15-12-2010 04:43 PM (13 years ago)
thats good

Posted: at 15-12-2010 04:43 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- TOCHI4LOVE at 15-12-2010 05:11 PM (13 years ago)
ok now Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 15-12-2010 05:11 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- brainline at 15-12-2010 05:17 PM (13 years ago)
dats ok 4me....
Posted: at 15-12-2010 05:17 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- kc40 at 15-12-2010 05:22 PM (13 years ago)
OK I LIKE WAT HE DID
Posted: at 15-12-2010 05:22 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Pepesy at 15-12-2010 05:26 PM (13 years ago)
Hmnmn!
Posted: at 15-12-2010 05:26 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Henchmann at 15-12-2010 05:31 PM (13 years ago)
That bank, just like ECONET WIRELESS , behaves like a spoilt child. Tongue Tongue Tongue Tongue Tongue
Posted: at 15-12-2010 05:31 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- nattdims at 15-12-2010 10:39 PM (13 years ago)
Thats why i hate to work in a Bank!,infact civil service as a whole.They really know how to render people useless.
Posted: at 15-12-2010 10:39 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- TOCHI4LOVE at 15-12-2010 11:23 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: nattdims on 15-12-2010 10:39 PM
Thats why i hate to work in a Bank!,infact civil service as a whole.They really know how to render people useless.
ME TOO MY BROTHER
Posted: at 15-12-2010 11:23 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- chrisfab at 16-12-2010 07:20 AM (13 years ago)
Am not suprise atall all dis managing director are d biggest money launders.d other time efcc recovered 1.5 billion dorllas frm just 1 person mrs cecilia ibru
Posted: at 16-12-2010 07:20 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- simele at 16-12-2010 08:24 AM (13 years ago)
anything man can do woman can even more better especially corruption
Posted: at 16-12-2010 08:24 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- MissyBarbie at 16-12-2010 10:20 AM (13 years ago)
Splendid
Posted: at 16-12-2010 10:20 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Teeteeylaryor at 16-12-2010 10:26 AM (13 years ago)
hmnmn good move............but this is killing some financially,  physically Grin

Posted: at 16-12-2010 10:26 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Docchuks at 17-12-2010 07:59 AM (13 years ago)
Did they really expect the bank's spokesman to call back.
Posted: at 17-12-2010 07:59 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- iyahalimah at 17-12-2010 10:27 AM (13 years ago)
nattdims i gbadun ur comments jare! if they did not stage that protest we outside the system will not know that banks do have problems. infact i am tired with the way they treat we customers when we come to make withdrawals. good for them i pray they get the hell out of that bank fast before it is too late for them to get jobs that will guarantee thier future, retirement and old age in life.
Posted: at 17-12-2010 10:27 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- kafnike at 17-12-2010 01:02 PM (13 years ago)
 Sad ;)Great, but they should consider their customers. Pls, make dialog.
Posted: at 17-12-2010 01:02 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Michor at 17-12-2010 02:26 PM (13 years ago)
 Dat is Fantastic, bt sorry 4 d creditors
Posted: at 17-12-2010 02:26 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- nne_akuma at 17-12-2010 03:10 PM (13 years ago)
the workers should be told why their salaries are being slashed, u cant just do that to people who are working hard without any reason. i hope the sacked workers were also told why they were sacked and adequately compensated cos if not they have the right to sue the bank for a large sum of money  Grin
Posted: at 17-12-2010 03:10 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie

1. How Abusive Nigerian Man, Beat Wife To Death Months After Relocating To The UK

2. 74Yr Old Woman Robs Bank At Gunpoint After Losing Her Life Savings To Online Scammers

3. We Find Love in Unexpected Places – Bimbo Ademoye Writes As She Shares Loved-up Photo With Timi

4. Ex-runs Girl Lands Herself In Trouble After Finding Out Her Former Client Is Her Brother-in-Law

5. Actress, Stella Udeze Reveals Why Actresses Have Unhappy Relationships

6. Late Mohbad’s Toxicology Result Ready As Pathologist Begins Evaluation

7. Interior Minister, Tunji-Ojo To Relocate Suleja Correctional Centres To Avoid Inmate Escape

8. 'Avoid Panic Buying, Petrol Prices Not Changing' — NNPC To Nigerians

9. Nigerian Actress, Doris Simeon Reveals Why She Relocated To America

10. Actress, Eniola Badmus Looks Beautiful In New Photos To Spice Up The Weekend

11. VIDEO: Woman Who Was Disgraced By Pastor Enenche, Seeks For A New Apartment

12. Ex-Wife Of Late Alaafin Of Oyo, Queen Dami Shares Cryptic Post About Death

13. I Foresee ‘Earth-Shaking’, Climatic Problems In Lagos, Abuja, Others – Primate Ayodele Warns

14. Second Republic Lawmaker & Veteran Journalist, Sidi Ali Dies At Age 86 In Kano

15. NSCDC Arrest 8 Illegal Security Guards, Recovers Firearms In Anambra

16. Mohbad's Dad, Aloba Granted Another Method To Deliver Court Summons For DNA Test To Wumi

17. Edo Police Arrest Two Fake Inspectors, Others Over N20m Drugs

18. "My Confidence In Nigerians Makes Me Take Tough Decisions" – President Tinubu

1. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

2. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

3. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

4. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

5. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

6. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

7. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria

8. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

9. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu

10. Popular Ghanaian Media Personality, Serwaa Amihere Finally Reacts To Her Leaked S3x Tape