CBN To Introduce N5000 and N2000 Notes and N10, N20 Coins

Date: 13-05-2012 7:09 pm (11 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 ... 11
- at 13-05-2012 07:09 PM (11 years ago)
The CBN is contemplating the introduction of new currency denominations of N2,000 and N5,000 notes and N5, N10, N20 and N50 coins.

"The top management of the CBN have decided to introduce currency denominations of N2,000 and N5,000. This is being done in the best interest of the economy."

"All the smaller denominations from the N50 downwards are also to be converted into coins."

A financial expert and executive chairman of the Society for Analytical Economics, Nigeria, Dr. Godwin Owoh, has said that if the policy is carried out, it would not only lead to inflation but would increase the ability to carry out cash transactions.

He said the activities of the CBN were becoming more commercial in nature, suggesting that this was more of a fiscal policy than a monetary one and that it should be decided by either the minster of finance or the president.

We were told of the Cashless economy last year, but it is now Cash all the way..........Policy gone wild!

Posted: at 13-05-2012 07:09 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- evzai00 at 13-05-2012 07:23 PM (11 years ago)
One Dollar is gonna be 500 Nigerian Naira kenan.. Stupid people
Posted: at 13-05-2012 07:23 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- chidi24 at 13-05-2012 07:32 PM (11 years ago)
LOOTING WILL ALSO BE SIMPLIFIED TOO. They can now hide 10 billion at home and go unnoticed.
Posted: at 13-05-2012 07:32 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- habiziz at 13-05-2012 07:45 PM (11 years ago)
ok and what about the money value? stupid people. they wiil never be satisfied until they draw  nigeria into the pit. mtchew Angry Angry Embarrassed Cry
Posted: at 13-05-2012 07:45 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ngeboju at 13-05-2012 07:48 PM (11 years ago)
when did they introduced the new N5, N10, N20 & N50 notes that they want to change to coins? I thnk they told us they spent millions/billions in producing that? or he want to chop his own-NATIONAL CAKE! why can't labour union demonstrate against this Boko Haram people in disguise-Sanusi
Posted: at 13-05-2012 07:48 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- denmal at 13-05-2012 07:54 PM (11 years ago)
God save us from this idiots
Posted: at 13-05-2012 07:54 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- basati at 13-05-2012 08:04 PM (11 years ago)
Wetin be that....NIGERIA we HATE thee, OH we hale thee.
Posted: at 13-05-2012 08:04 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Thayay at 13-05-2012 08:07 PM (11 years ago)
Oops,i've lost my comment,can sum1 pls help me find it?
Posted: at 13-05-2012 08:07 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- dedonmicky at 13-05-2012 08:14 PM (11 years ago)
IT IS OUR TIME  Shocked
Posted: at 13-05-2012 08:14 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Kingoflion at 13-05-2012 08:16 PM (11 years ago)
OH MY GOD, ANY TIME I COME ACCROSS THIS NAME SANUSI I FEEL SO BAD BECAUSE THIS MAN IS A REALL BIG FOOL AND A DISAPPOINTMENT TO NIGERIA AS A NATION. THIS IDIOT WANT TO FINISH NIGERIA CURRENCY AND MAKE IT LIKE GHANA CIDIES. I FEEL SO BAD BECAUSE OUR GOVERNMENT IS SO DISTABLISED THAT THEY DO NOT VALUE THE REAL PEOPLE WHEN THEY ARE IN POWER. WHAT HAPPENED TO CHARLES SOLUDO WHO GAVE NIGERIA BANKS WITHOUT FAIL WHEN HE WAS IN CORRIDOR OF POWER?. WHY MUST THIS MAN CALLED SANUSI BRAKE OUR CURRENCY TO ZERO CLASS?. WELL ONLY GOD WILL HELP US. BUT I MUST SAY IT THAT BREAKING 10,20 QND 50 NQIRA TO COINS IS NOT REALLY GOOD FOR THE NAIRA CURRENCY.IT IS ONLY DEVALUATING THE CURRENCY.WHAT A phyuk. I THINK SANUSI IS NOT REALLY AN EDUCATED OR ECONOMIST IN REALILY. phyuk YOU MAN, I HATE YOUR ACTIONS IN MY DEAR COUNTRY.
Posted: at 13-05-2012 08:16 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- francischi at 13-05-2012 08:17 PM (11 years ago)
lets watch

Posted: at 13-05-2012 08:17 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- austin4leo at 13-05-2012 08:26 PM (11 years ago)
foolish set off  theft...no more 1 naira Coins Again.... Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed
Posted: at 13-05-2012 08:26 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Neglito at 13-05-2012 08:39 PM (11 years ago)
Electricity, Electricity, Electricity. Leave currency denomination alone. Electricity, Security, Education, healthcare, Roads.  Nonsense!!!
Posted: at 13-05-2012 08:39 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kebella at 13-05-2012 08:46 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: basati on 13-05-2012 08:04 PM
Wetin be that....NIGERIA we HATE thee, OH we hale thee.

Posted: at 13-05-2012 08:46 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Bandwidth at 13-05-2012 09:02 PM (11 years ago)
Nonsense ! Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry
Posted: at 13-05-2012 09:02 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Ifemylove at 13-05-2012 09:13 PM (11 years ago)
hw can #50 be converted 2 coin?
Posted: at 13-05-2012 09:13 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Solidstonez at 13-05-2012 09:22 PM (11 years ago)
our currency has no value anymore

Posted: at 13-05-2012 09:22 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Solidstonez at 13-05-2012 09:30 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: ROYAlPRINCE77 on 13-05-2012 08:21 PM
I don't think Nigeria is moving in a right direction concerning this news...........our currency will not have value any longer like before,i don't really know what is wrong with this aboki called sanusi.He maybe one of them and that is the only way he wants to use and fight our nation.who knows but lets keep our finger cross
wewll said

Posted: at 13-05-2012 09:30 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- onlyGodknows at 13-05-2012 09:41 PM (11 years ago)
Nonsense, instead of strengthening the economy, they are blowing it.
Posted: at 13-05-2012 09:41 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- proly at 13-05-2012 10:11 PM (11 years ago)
ok ooooooooooooooh till den
Posted: at 13-05-2012 10:11 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
[1] 2 3 4 ... 11