Things That Will Get You Arrested In Dubai

Date: 16-05-2012 11:46 pm (11 years ago) | Author: psalmmy
[1] 2 3 4 5
- at 16-05-2012 11:46 PM (11 years ago)
The Sun has reported that a British woman is facing the possibility of three years in prison in Dubai, after a taxi driver accused her of having sex with a fellow passenger in the back of his cab.

The woman, 27-year old recruitment consultant Rebecca Black, told The Sun she had spent five days behind bars before being released on bail. She denied the allegation, saying she was alone in the cab and instead arrested for drinking a bottle of beer, which is also illegal in the UAE.

Of course she’s not the first Brit to wind up behind bars or deported because they’re not clued up about United Arab Emirates laws.

According to the Foreign Office, 1.1 million Britons visited the UAE last year and 294 of them were arrested or detained by police – making it more likely to happen there than in any other country in the world.

So if getting banged up abroad is on your ‘to do’ list of life experiences, here are some easy ways to break the law in Dubai…

Do some dirty dancing

Ever thought your dance moves ought to be illegal? Then head to Dubai, where they just very well might be. Unless you’re at a licensed club or in the privacy of your hotel room then dancing is considered indecent and provocative and could get you arrested. During Ramadan you won’t even find a dance floor to throw some shapes on risk-free – dancing, loud music and live music are forbidden during the ninth month of the Islamic calendar, so nightclubs usually close and all the bands go on holiday.

Give someone the finger

Back home it’s just a bit rude but making insulting gestures in Dubai is regarded as obscene and totally unacceptable – as 56-year-old Brit Simon Andrew discovered in 2010 when he was accused of showing an aviation student his middle finger during a row and was arrested. He denied flipping the bird but had his passport confiscated for eight months as bail surety. It has been known for offenders to get a six-month sentence for such an act and some have been deported.

Have sex on the beach

For a surefire way to wind up behind bars, break a couple of laws at once. Because of their strict laws about indecency, public sex is beyond unacceptable. Do it with someone you’re not married to – a crime that entails prosecution, imprisonment and/or a fine and deportation – and you’re firing on all cylinders. Michelle Palmer, 36, of Oakham, Rutland, and Vince Acors, 34, of Bromley, London, did just that in 2009 and were banged up for three months before being deported, as well as fined 1,000 dirhams (about £180).

Snog in a restaurant

Don’t assume you have to go all the way to infringe on their decency regulations – the law extends to kissing and even holding hands, unless you’re married. British marketing executive Ayman Najafi and Charlotte Adams – both in their 20s – were arrested and accused of public indecency after an Emirati woman claimed they exchanged a passionate kiss in a restaurant. They were given a one-month jail sentence for public indecency and illegal drinking, fined 1,000 dirhams, then deported. The pair maintain it was merely a peck on the cheek.

Drinking on the Beach

Buying drinks in licensed hotels or bars is allowed but drinking – or being drunk – is illegal in public. You’ll stand out particularly well in the resort of Sharjah where booze is banned full stop, apart from for residents with a licence to drink at home. It is also an offence in the UAE to drink and drive, no matter how tiny the amount. If you’re arrested on alcohol-related offences you’ll likely be jailed while you await trial and penalties entail hefty jail sentences and large fines.

Smoke some wacky baccy

Drugs are almost always a law breaker, but Dubai is about as far from Amsterdam as you can get. Possession and consumption is treated very seriously in the UAE and possession includes anything in your system, so even if you have a cheeky joint before you get on the Dubai-bound plane you could end up falling foul of their regulations, and wind up with their mandatory minimum of four years in jail.

Other laws you should know about

Shopping in shorts could attract attention from the authorities. Unless you’re on the beach or by the pool, then anything tight, transparent, short or displaying your stomach, shoulders or back if you’re a woman, is considered indecent. Same if you’re a man in shorts or displaying a bare chest. Photography of certain government buildings is also illegal, as is perusing any form of pornographic material. If all else fails, smuggle in a bacon sandwich – pork is banned – and a poppy seed roll will add to the criminality of the action, as poppy seeds are also on the UAE’s forbidden list.

"I WONDER HOW PEOPLE SURVIVED FOR YEARS OVER THERE - BECAUSE I CAN'T DO WITHOUT KISSING MY BABE"

Posted: at 16-05-2012 11:46 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- M-dread at 17-05-2012 12:07 AM (11 years ago)
Poster have u been to Dubia b4?Huh?Huh? story teller
Posted: at 17-05-2012 12:07 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Senegal at 17-05-2012 01:31 AM (11 years ago)
WHY WOULD ANY NORMAL PERSON DO THESE THINGS?
Posted: at 17-05-2012 01:31 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- LEONE at 17-05-2012 02:04 AM (11 years ago)
Find yourself in Rome Just act like the Romans,It is as simple as that.Anything contrary,
you find yourself in Hot waters.
Posted: at 17-05-2012 02:04 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- ozobig at 17-05-2012 02:04 AM (11 years ago)
THE ONLY THING I CAN WISH YOU IS GET MARRIED SOON GOOD LUCK

Posted: at 17-05-2012 02:04 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- frank_f at 17-05-2012 02:06 AM (11 years ago)
Poster is it only in Dubai that u get in trouble because of this bullshit u listed here Huh?
                         You're very stupid, maid man...
Posted: at 17-05-2012 02:06 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- popdes at 17-05-2012 03:26 AM (11 years ago)
nawaooooo
Posted: at 17-05-2012 03:26 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- malvin2525 at 17-05-2012 03:29 AM (11 years ago)
What Ever Thy Like Thy Should do Its There country
Posted: at 17-05-2012 03:29 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- toibeli at 17-05-2012 03:35 AM (11 years ago)
If you can't stand the heat, stay out of the kitchen.
Posted: at 17-05-2012 03:35 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- habiziz at 17-05-2012 03:44 AM (11 years ago)
ok. now dats a city. Wink Wink
Posted: at 17-05-2012 03:44 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ecto at 17-05-2012 04:45 AM (11 years ago)
Infact that place is for the born agains!
Posted: at 17-05-2012 04:45 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ecto at 17-05-2012 04:47 AM (11 years ago)
Infact that place is for the BORN AGAIN

I will be there soon
Posted: at 17-05-2012 04:47 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- babydesire at 17-05-2012 04:55 AM (11 years ago)
MUSLIM WAHALA
Posted: at 17-05-2012 04:55 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- sonjohn994 at 17-05-2012 05:06 AM (11 years ago)
NON OF MY BIZ
Posted: at 17-05-2012 05:06 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- K-TRUTH at 17-05-2012 05:11 AM (11 years ago)
in short these people are stupid and crazy. in d first place, why do they sell beer in their country when it is a sin if someone drink it, yeye pple.
Posted: at 17-05-2012 05:11 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Solidstonez at 17-05-2012 06:01 AM (11 years ago)
Nawaho

Posted: at 17-05-2012 06:01 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Solidstonez at 17-05-2012 06:02 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: LEONE on 17-05-2012 02:04 AM
Find yourself in Rome Just act like the Romans,It is as simple as that.Anything contrary,
you find yourself in Hot waters.

Very true

Posted: at 17-05-2012 06:02 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- all_d_audible at 17-05-2012 06:03 AM (11 years ago)
there are still many that the poster didn't mention some of which are like....A woman can't drive a man....

*you cant hold Bible in the public....

*Cant shake hands

*cant hug yourselves

*Can't dance

* cant admire nice dress.good looking lady...

*Cant sing or dance

dont do this...dont do that...Yet those of their leaders have private estates in America and Europe where they commit indecent acts with beautiful girls in their comfort...Even you will hear laws that are funny which you will imagine how extra-careful they are to avoid sin....

This is what the Boko Harams wants to introduce to over 180million Nigeriancitizen
Posted: at 17-05-2012 06:03 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- 212intentions at 17-05-2012 06:50 AM (11 years ago)
so going to Dubai with a fake passport wdnt get u arrested Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 17-05-2012 06:50 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- dogodajiabuja at 17-05-2012 07:03 AM (11 years ago)
humility attracts favor+dont be lazy
Posted: at 17-05-2012 07:03 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4 5

1. FRESH: Nollywood Lovers, IK Ogbonna & Ini Edo Reportedly Engaged

2. Woman Narrates How She Takes Revenge On Her Cheating Husband

3. PHOTOS: Pandemonium As Hoodlums Clash In Lagos, Set Market On Fire

4. Naira Abuse: Court Fixes Date For Report Of Settlement In Case Against Cubana Chief Priest

5. Yoruba Actors, Ogogo & Yinka Quadri’s Squash Long Standing Beef As They Are Spotted At An Event

6. BREAKING; 'Drone That Attacked Kaduna Village Mistaken For Terrorist' -Nigerian Army Claims

7. "It’s Naira Govt Said We Shouldn’t Spray, Not Perfume" - Comedian Sabinus Warns Fans

8. How A 22Yr Old Woman Dies After Waking Up With Headache

9. VIDEO: Reactions As Lady Shows Off Mouthwatering Noodles Her Boyfriend Made

10. '5 Stab Wounds Found On His Body' - Family Of Veritas University Student Found Dead Reveals

11. Presidency Faults Organised Labour Over ₦615,000 Minimum Wage Demand

12. Peter Obi Reacts To The Deaths Of 35 Nigerians In Horrific Kogi, Enugu Road Clashes

13. PHOTOS: Police Arrests Two Women For Child Trafficking In Abuja

1. Stop Lagos-Calabar Highway Project - Obi Tells Tinubu As Demolition of Landmark Centre Begins

2. "Stop Inciting Igbos Against Tinubu Govt" – Umahi Slams Peter Obi

3. MAY 1st; Peter Obi Celebrates Nigerian Workers, Sends Message

4. Investigation Launched Into Mysterious Death Of VGC Chairman, Gihan Mbelu In Lagos

5. No More Big 3 In Afrobeat, I'm On Same Level With Wizkid, Davido And Burnaboy - Rema Reveals

6. I Will Reconcile Atiku And Wike If I Emerge PDP National Chairman – Suswam

7. Drama As Actress, Toyin Abraham Ajeyemi Clashes With Area Boys On Movie Set (Video)

8. Watch As Lions Have S3x On Top Of Safari Truck Full Of People

9. “Wizkid Undergoing Mental Illness, No Longer Together With Jada – Isaac Fayose Reveals

10. "Polygamy Is Allowed In Celestial Church, Our Prophets Can Marry Many Wives" — Oshoffa's Son