Reps ask ECOWAS to stop deportation of Nigerians from Ghana (Page 8)

Date: 25-06-2012 5:31 pm (11 years ago) | Author: samuel iwuoha
1 ... 5 6 7 [8] 9
- Bettychy at 26-06-2012 07:43 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: politica on 26-06-2012 04:58 PM
    maybe you re right.....but remenber that we all are in ECOWAS and this is just like european union or shangen(whatever)*****ghana can only stop them from doing the business,until they pay up dere bills, but i still don't understand this issue of deporting an ECOWAS member. is just discrimination and jelous Sad Sad damn it Grin

No bruh! you got it wrong!
ECOWAS and the African Union just like the Europian Union are all organization comprising of independent state but the treties and the regulations guiding them differ in content and context. In the EU for instance you have the so called 'EU DIRECTIVES' which are laws made by either the EU Commission, the EU Council or the EU Parliament but the method and form of its applicability is left open for member state. That was why until recently, European from some states still needed visa to enter other EU countries and resident permit for remain there.

There is no provision in the ECOWAS treaty that allows ECOWAS-community-citizens to riside permanently in other ECOWAS-countries. Your ECOWAS membership allows you a maximal period of 90days in other ECOWAS states. Within that period of 90days, you should (normally) apply for resident permit for which each ECOWAS country has its own specific requirements. If you meet the requirement, you`ll be issued with a permit. If you don`t you`ll leave the country.

Furthermore, for several reasong, an ECOWAS state is legitimized to deport citizens of ECOWAS community from other countries

Article 5

"Citizens of the Community who are nationals of Member States admitted without visa into the territory of one Member State, and desiring to reside in the territory of that Member State, shall be obliged to obtain an ECOWAS RESIDENCE CARD or a RESIDENCE PERMIT".

Article 6

"The applicant for the RESIDENCE CARD or RESIDENCE PERMIT in the territory of any Member State shall deposit with the Department of Immigration of the host Member State an application for a Residence Card or Residence Permit in accordance with the rules and regulations existing in each Member State".

Article 14

"Migrant workers and members of their families whose status comply with the residence requirements may only be expelled
    from the host Member State :

for reasons of national security, public order or morality ;
        if, having been duly informed of the consequences, they refuse to comply with the orders given to them by a public medical 
        authority for the purpose of protecting public health ;
        if an essential condition for the issuance or the validity of their authorisation of residence or work permit is not fulfilled ;
        in accordance with the laws and regulations applicable in the host Member State".

Posted: at 26-06-2012 07:43 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bettychy at 26-06-2012 07:54 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Bettychy on 26-06-2012 07:43 PM

ECOWAS and the African Union just like the Europian Union are all organization comprising of independent state but the treties and the regulations guiding them differ in content and context. In the EU for instance you have the so called 'EU DIRECTIVES' which are laws made by either the EU Commission, the EU Council or the EU Parliament but the method and form of its applicability is left open for member state. That was why until recently, European from some states still needed visa to enter other EU countries and resident permit for remain there.

There is no provision in the ECOWAS treaty that allows ECOWAS-community-citizens to riside permanently in other ECOWAS-countries. Your ECOWAS membership allows you a maximal period of 90days in other ECOWAS states. Within that period of 90days, you should (normally) apply for resident permit for which each ECOWAS country has its own specific requirements. If you meet the requirement, you`ll be issued with a permit. If you don`t you`ll leave the country.

Furthermore, for several reasong, an ECOWAS state is legitimized to deport citizens of ECOWAS community from other countries

Article 5

"Citizens of the Community who are nationals of Member States admitted without visa into the territory of one Member State, and desiring to reside in the territory of that Member State, shall be obliged to obtain an ECOWAS RESIDENCE CARD or a RESIDENCE PERMIT".

Article 6

"The applicant for the RESIDENCE CARD or RESIDENCE PERMIT in the territory of any Member State shall deposit with the Department of Immigration of the host Member State an application for a Residence Card or Residence Permit in accordance with the rules and regulations existing in each Member State".

Article 14

"Migrant workers and members of their families whose status comply with the residence requirements may only be expelled

if, having been duly informed of the consequences, they refuse to comply with the orders given to them by a public medical 
        if an essential condition for the issuance or the validity of their authorisation of residence or work permit is not fulfilled ;
        in accordance with the laws and regulations applicable in the host Member State".

Most Nigerian living in Ghana have no paper at al whatsoever just like the Ghanaians and other Nationales living in Nigeria. This gives Ghana the legal right to do to them as she wishes. In any case, I`m not ignorant of what the result would be for both Ghana and Nigerian nationales should Ghana embark on that (in my opinion foolish) exercise.
Posted: at 26-06-2012 07:54 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- politica at 26-06-2012 07:59 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Bettychy on 26-06-2012 07:43 PM

Article 5

Article 6

Article 14

u re right Grin
Posted: at 26-06-2012 07:59 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- politica at 26-06-2012 08:10 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: nitter on 26-06-2012 06:18 PM
This is the problem of we Nigerians.Many are still living in darkness.It,s a shame and insult upon ourselves to continue to decieve ourselves that Nigeria was, and is still better than Ghana or any other African Country.How do we asses a better country.No doubt Nigeria was better than Ghana.Even till today it is richer than Ghana but the question is,how do we asses the betterment of a country.Is it not a shame,upon all the so-called better than Ghana claim we are not living a happy life like them.It,s about time we Nigerians sat down,burried our pride and begin to learn from the poor labelled countries,the secrets behind their sudden economic boom and better living.If with little or no riches at all,a country like Ghana can sprout economically then there is something wrong with our country.Continue to say we are better than Ghana or Ghana is jealous of us,is living in a fool paradise.Time flies.The Ghana we knew yesterday is not the Ghana we see today.Ask our brothers living in Ghana and they will tell you what your ears can,t carry.Let,s stop living in primitivity
   9ja na good country....is just that muslim boko harma are destroying everything. is very difficult for any country with muslems to progress, cos they no get future. look at europeans, usa, austrelia and canada,,,,,there is no muslems in those countries.
Posted: at 26-06-2012 08:10 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- olamother at 26-06-2012 08:28 PM (11 years ago)
Don't blame Ghana we should blame our useless Leaders
Posted: at 26-06-2012 08:28 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- zoe61 at 26-06-2012 08:30 PM (11 years ago)
all i can say is i love africa
Posted: at 26-06-2012 08:30 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- beneno at 26-06-2012 08:32 PM (11 years ago)
the whole of ghana joined together.do they have that amount of money?racist and foolish ghana.
Posted: at 26-06-2012 08:32 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Bettychy at 26-06-2012 08:42 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: beneno on 26-06-2012 08:32 PM
the whole of ghana joined together.do they have that amount of money?racist and foolish ghana.
Posted: at 26-06-2012 08:42 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bettychy at 26-06-2012 08:43 PM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 26-06-2012 08:43 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bettychy at 26-06-2012 08:44 PM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 26-06-2012 08:44 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 26-06-2012 08:45 PM (11 years ago)
dont tell me u are talking about ghanians our shoe makers.or is there another country in europe called ghana?if u are talking about ghana our shoe maker may God punish them.they should be waitng for nigeria money to enrich their poor country.as a business man if i have that kind of money to invest outside nigeria would i even think of ghana,taking my hard earn dollars to go and invest for poor curency like cidis or what so called.nonsence
Posted: at 26-06-2012 08:45 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- beneno at 26-06-2012 08:46 PM (11 years ago)
dont tell me u are talking about ghanians our shoe makers.or is there another country in europe called ghana?if u are talking about ghana our shoe maker may God punish them.they should be waitng for nigeria money to enrich their poor country.as a business man if i have that kind of money to invest outside nigeria would i even think of ghana,taking my hard earn dollars to go and invest for poor curency like cidis or what so called.nonsence
Posted: at 26-06-2012 08:46 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ajanni at 26-06-2012 09:20 PM (11 years ago)
if they have such amount available in their hands , they will never think of going to ghana in the first insttance
Posted: at 26-06-2012 09:20 PM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- politica at 26-06-2012 10:40 PM (11 years ago)
 Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin u  too much!!!coffee wey I dey drink for hia comot for my nose as I read this
Posted: at 26-06-2012 10:40 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Bettychy at 26-06-2012 10:59 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: beneno on 26-06-2012 08:46 PM

1 Ghana Cidi = 83 Naira
Posted: at 26-06-2012 10:59 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Cindy8 at 27-06-2012 02:23 AM (11 years ago)
House of Rep smart well well..............they don't want extra burden Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 27-06-2012 02:23 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- steve222 at 27-06-2012 02:28 AM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 27-06-2012 02:28 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- EmekaBlue at 27-06-2012 03:18 AM (11 years ago)
No matter wat eva una talk here 4 dose supportin Ghana lyk sayin 1cauri=83naira,i guess na d new moni policy...bt wetin d@ 1cuari go buy u go fear naw........NIGERIA is far better dan Ghana ooooo....Dnt deceive urselves bcos of dis present hicups
Posted: at 27-06-2012 03:18 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Fuck_Muslims at 27-06-2012 09:30 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Ukanwoko on 26-06-2012 04:52 PM
BULLSHIT. STOP DECIEVING YOURSELF MAN, BLAME NIGERIA MENTALITY

i no blame you, when you are not proud of your own self.....Nigeria (ur country) cannot be an exception
Posted: at 27-06-2012 09:30 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Fuck_Muslims at 27-06-2012 09:39 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Bettychy on 26-06-2012 10:59 PM
1 Ghana Cidi = 83 Naira

it does not matter jare, compare Nigeria's foreign Direct Investment with that of Ghana and tell me what you find.
If investors are looking @ that, that means will wouldn't have any FDIs. Who even know Cedis sef Huh? i never even see the money b4, but them dey look for our naira like craze. Nigerian go to Ghana not becos of their money, its becos of the peacefulness and political stability
Tongue
Posted: at 27-06-2012 09:39 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
1 ... 5 6 7 [8] 9

1. "No Woman Will Cheat On You If You...." -Gabonese Lady Says

2. Comedian, Macaroni Berates Wizkid For Shading Veteran Producer, Don Jazzy

3. Secondary School Student Allegedly Commits Suicide Over Unwanted Pregnancy

4. Court Slams N30 Million Damages Against Linda Ikeji Over Libel

5. Meet Ndubuisi Egbo The First-Ever Nigerian Coach To Lead an European Team To A League Title

6. Kizz Daniel Slams Troll Who Advised Him To Tread Carefully Around Wizkid

7. 2024 Will Be Tough Year For Afrobeat Apart From BurnaBoy, Davido, Others Are in Trouble -Paul O

8. 2024 Will Be a Tough Year For Afrobeat - Nigerian Music Executive, Paul Okoye

9. Nollywood Has Produced 274 Films in First Quarter of 2024 — Censors Board

1. Benin Kingdom Suspends Five Functionaries For ‘Unauthorised’ Visit To Ooni Of Ife

2. Nigerian Tenant Discovers Landlord With Wife & Daughter, Sparks Outrage Online (Video)

3. Lady Who Worked As A Maid In Saudi Arabia Narrates Her Harrowing Ordeal As Boss Impregnates Her

4. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

5. No More Big 3 In Afrobeat, I'm On Same Level With Wizkid, Davido And Burnaboy - Rema Reveals

6. Investigation Launched Into Mysterious Death Of VGC Chairman, Gihan Mbelu In Lagos

7. Drama As Actress, Toyin Abraham Ajeyemi Clashes With Area Boys On Movie Set (Video)

8. VIDEO: Singer, Davido Becomes First to Own The $500,000 2024 Rolls Royce Spectre

9. Wunmi Ajiboye Reunites With Estranged Husband, Segun Ogungbe, Days After Dragging Him (Video)

10. "Polygamy Is Allowed In Celestial Church, Our Prophets Can Marry Many Wives" — Oshoffa's Son