Patience Jonathan Umblerra: The Only Permanent Secretary Without Ministry

Date: 30-07-2012 9:18 am (11 years ago) | Author: Steph.
- at 30-07-2012 09:18 AM (11 years ago)

Bayelsa State Head of Service, HOS, Gloria Izonfuo, is yet to assign a ministry to the wife of the President Patience Jonathan, almost a week after she was sworn in as a permanent secretary in the state civil service.
Investigation by our correspondent in Yenagoa yesterday showed that the other 18 permanent secretaries appointed alongside the First Lady by Governor Seriake Dic kson have assumed duty in their new ministries, where they held meetings with their directors, heads of department and staff.
The new appointees were sworn in amid tight security on July 21 in Yenagoa by the governor.
But when contacted on phone, Mrs. Izonfuo refused to comment on her inability to assign a ministry to the President’s wife.
However, a top government functionary, who craved anonymity, said the First Lady might not be able to perform her duty as a permanent secretary because of her busy schedule in the Presidency

Posted: at 30-07-2012 09:18 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- dlimelite at 30-07-2012 09:54 AM (11 years ago)
These fools again
Posted: at 30-07-2012 09:54 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- aso4life1 at 30-07-2012 10:09 AM (11 years ago)

Posted: at 30-07-2012 10:09 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- bomsiluv at 30-07-2012 10:10 AM (11 years ago)
Poster,  she is on secondment. You don't expect someone who is on secondment in another Ministry or Office to perform duties in her formal Ministry. That is not how it is done in the Public Service. The Public Service Rule does not approve of that. Abeg make una allow the woman to have peace
Posted: at 30-07-2012 10:10 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- aso4life1 at 30-07-2012 10:13 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: bomsiluv on 30-07-2012 10:10 AM
Poster,  she is on secondment. You don't expect someone who is on secondment in another Ministry or Office to perform duties in her formal Ministry. That is not how it is done in the Public Service. The Public Service Rule does not approve of that. Abeg make una allow the woman to have peace

hahah, That means Naija is a house of commotion

Posted: at 30-07-2012 10:13 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- mallorca at 30-07-2012 10:40 AM (11 years ago)
una nogo kill dis innocent woman one day

Posted: at 30-07-2012 10:40 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- aso4life1 at 30-07-2012 10:42 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: mallorca on 30-07-2012 10:40 AM
or she no go kill person?

Posted: at 30-07-2012 10:42 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- bomsiluv at 30-07-2012 10:43 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: aso4life1 on 30-07-2012 10:13 AM
hahah, That means Naija is a house of commotion

Is that how you see Naija? Tell me, if you were to be Mrs. Jonathan, would you have refused the appointment?
Posted: at 30-07-2012 10:43 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bomsiluv at 30-07-2012 10:47 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: mallorca on 30-07-2012 10:40 AM

I wonder. I don't know if she eat that which was meant for them. Dem no go allow the woman to drink water keep cup
Posted: at 30-07-2012 10:47 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bomsiluv at 30-07-2012 10:50 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: aso4life1 on 30-07-2012 10:42 AM
or she no go kill person?

No, na u wan kill d woman
Posted: at 30-07-2012 10:50 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- aso4life1 at 30-07-2012 11:03 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: bomsiluv on 30-07-2012 10:43 AM
Is that how you see Naija? Tell me, if you were to be Mrs. Jonathan, would you have refused the appointment?
Why not? I can never go so low to insult my highly respected office as a First Lady, I will rather nominate someone else for the job and come to think of it,That post is not a political position, its a non-political office which means she is totally disqualified to be in that office, she is a PDP member, i.e. she is a politician, so she is not fit for the position

Posted: at 30-07-2012 11:03 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- bomsiluv at 30-07-2012 11:20 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: aso4life1 on 30-07-2012 11:03 AM
Why not? I can never go so low to insult my highly respected office as a First Lady, I will rather nominate someone else for the job and come to think of it,That post is not a political position, its a non-political office which means she is totally disqualified to be in that office, she is a PDP member, i.e. she is a politician, so she is not fit for the position

Hahahahahahaaaaaaaa .................. aso4life...................... that woman has been a Civil Servant infact, a Director before her husband was elected the President of Naija. Agreed that position isn't for Politicians, it is meant for Civil Servant and she is one. The Post of a Permanent Secretary is only giving to Civil Servant especially those who have attain the position of a Director in the Ministry and Mrs. Jonathan is a Director in the Bayelsa State Civil Service. She is due that position. Mind you, she is on secondment to the Office of the Presidency. She did not resign her appointment neither did she retire statutorily. She is a serving and a core Civil Servant. She is due that position as a Director. So....... aso4life................... what else do you have to say?
Posted: at 30-07-2012 11:20 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dlimelite at 30-07-2012 11:23 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: aso4life1 on 30-07-2012 10:09 AM
  Grin Grin Cool Wink
Posted: at 30-07-2012 11:23 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- bomsiluv at 30-07-2012 11:28 AM (11 years ago)
aso4life, did say you would have refused the appointment if you were to be Mrs. Jonathan, even when you are due it and it is also your right as a Civil Servant? I doubt you. It is easier said than done.
Posted: at 30-07-2012 11:28 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- aso4life1 at 30-07-2012 11:29 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: bomsiluv on 30-07-2012 11:20 AM
Hahahahahahaaaaaaaa .................. aso4life...................... that woman has been a Civil Servant infact, a Director before her husband was elected the President of Naija. Agreed that position isn't for Politicians, it is meant for Civil Servant and she is one. The Post of a Permanent Secretary is only giving to Civil Servant especially those who have attain the position of a Director in the Ministry and Mrs. Jonathan is a Director in the Bayelsa State Civil Service. She is due that position. Mind you, she is on secondment to the Office of the Presidency. She did not resign her appointment neither did she retire statutorily. She is a serving and a core Civil Servant. She is due that position as a Director. So....... aso4life................... what else do you have to say?
I understand you my sister but for the sake of her status as our first lady she suppose to leave the position for now till her husband tenure is completed. There are other people who will do that job better than her with adequate concentration.  She can never be working in Abuja and at the same time in Bayelsa....she want to kill herself?  Our President is also considered to be a Civil Servant, which opens way for her to be entitled to some Nigeria's fund or can you tell me where she realized the money she spent in hosting other African First ladies?

Posted: at 30-07-2012 11:29 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- aso4life1 at 30-07-2012 11:31 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: bomsiluv on 30-07-2012 11:28 AM
aso4life, did say you would have refused the appointment if you were to be Mrs. Jonathan, even when you are due it and it is also your right as a Civil Servant? I doubt you. It is easier said than done.

I will surely refuse it cos there are people who will have more time than me and I can't be in Bayelsa and Abuja at the same time...impossiblet

Posted: at 30-07-2012 11:31 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- bomsiluv at 30-07-2012 11:37 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: aso4life1 on 30-07-2012 11:31 AM
I will surely refuse it cos there are people who will have more time than me and I can't be in Bayelsa and Abuja at the same time...impossiblet

Would you be happy if your counterparts and Juniors are appointed Permanent Secretaries and you retire as a Director?
Posted: at 30-07-2012 11:37 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- aso4life1 at 30-07-2012 11:42 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: bomsiluv on 30-07-2012 11:37 AM
Would you be happy if your counterparts and Juniors are appointed Permanent Secretaries and you retire as a Director?
That is a rhetorical question that needs answer, is the position of First Lady not Higher than Permanent Secretary?

Posted: at 30-07-2012 11:42 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- bomsiluv at 30-07-2012 11:46 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: aso4life1 on 30-07-2012 11:29 AM
I understand you my sister but for the sake of her status as our first lady she suppose to leave the position for now till her husband tenure is completed. There are other people who will do that job better than her with adequate concentration.  She can never be working in Abuja and at the same time in Bayelsa....she want to kill herself?  Our President is also considered to be a Civil Servant, which opens way for her to be entitled to some Nigeria's fund or can you tell me where she realized the money she spent in hosting other African First ladies?

aso my dear............ there is no status here............... she is due that position as a serving Director. Do you know if she has less than a year to serve before  retirement? The position of a Permanent Secretary is the dream of every Civil Servant so, we don't have to deny her what is due her because she is on secondment. Abeg, make una allow the woman to drink water keep cup.
Posted: at 30-07-2012 11:46 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- aso4life1 at 30-07-2012 11:47 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: bomsiluv on 30-07-2012 11:46 AM
aso my dear............ there is no status here............... she is due that position as a serving Director. Do you know if she has less than a year to serve before  retirement? The position of a Permanent Secretary is the dream of every Civil Servant so, we don't have to deny her what is due her because she is on secondment. Abeg, make una allow the woman to drink water keep cup.
I hear Bomsi sister, but a lot of things has to change in Nigeria

Posted: at 30-07-2012 11:47 AM (11 years ago) | Hero