56,350 people living with AIDS in Cross River – SACA DG

Date: 21-08-2012 11:13 pm (11 years ago) | Author: joyce
- at 21-08-2012 11:13 PM (11 years ago)
56,350 people living with AIDS in Cross River – SACA DG.

Calabar – The Director-General of the Cross River State Agency for the Control of HIV/AIDS (SACA), Mrs Irene Aniyom, says that 56,350 persons in the state are currently living with the HIV virus.

Aniyom made the announcement in an interview with journalists on Tuesday in Calabar.

“Today in the state, we have 56,350 people living with the virus; we have to update it on a regular basis since 2005,” she said.

According to her, the infected persons are receiving anti-retroviral drugs at different centres in the state.

She said that SACA had formed a group known as “Cross River Network of People Living with HIV/AIDS,’’ to monitor the infected persons.

“And in this network, we have 80 support groups of people living with the virus, with a minimum of 25 persons in each group,’’ she said.

Aniyom said that many people were now aware of the diseases, due to the activities of SACA and other groups involved in the campaign against the spread of the disease.

“If you go to various HIV testing and counselling centres across the state, you will find many people coming out to know their status,’’  she said.

The director-general said that SACA had also established Local Action Committees on Control of HIV/AIDS (LACA) in each of the 18 Local Government Areas in the state, headed by the chairmen of the councils.

“This is because we found out that the disease spreads faster in rural areas, ‘’ Aniyom said.

She said that the monitoring and evaluation unit of the agency conducted regular monitoring of the activities of LACA and collated data on their activities.

“Also, chairmen of the Local Government Areas pay N200,000 to their LACA every month to facilitate their activities.

“While on our part we give them N3,000 monthly to fuel to facilitate mobility in their campaigns,’’ she said.

She said that the agency had also identified faith-based organisations to assist SACA in carrying out campaigns in churches and mosques in the state.

According to her, SACA is  also collaborating with the state’s ministry of education to carry out HIV/AIDS campaigns in schools.

“It is on record that Cross River was the first state in Nigeria to develop “Family Life HIV/AIDS Curriculum’’ in every school and students write examination on the subject.

“So in Cross River today, pupils and students in both primary and secondary schools discuss HIV/AIDS comfortably. And this has helped in reducing the spread of the virus,’’ she said. (NAN

http://www.vanguardngr.com/2012/08/56350-people-living-with-aids-in-cross-river-saca-dg/

Posted: at 21-08-2012 11:13 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- starships at 21-08-2012 11:39 PM (11 years ago)
Hmmm
Posted: at 21-08-2012 11:39 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- wakawaka247 at 22-08-2012 01:13 AM (11 years ago)
who be calaber person here ?
i wan ask if na true ? emmm emmm ok .
i dey come make i think , but Calabar people na true ?
Posted: at 22-08-2012 01:13 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dlimelite at 22-08-2012 01:38 AM (11 years ago)
Hmmmmm
Posted: at 22-08-2012 01:38 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- dlimelite at 22-08-2012 01:38 AM (11 years ago)
 Huh? Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 22-08-2012 01:38 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- xband at 22-08-2012 07:02 AM (11 years ago)
Hahaha you don leave igbo people poster. Now na calabar people you won try. Crazy dey worry you,
Posted: at 22-08-2012 07:02 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- xband at 22-08-2012 07:06 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: wakawaka247 on 22-08-2012 01:13 AM
who be calaber person here ?
i wan ask if na true ? emmm emmm ok .
i dey come make i think , but Calabar people na true ?
Remember they say Calabar girl are hot Cheesy
To much tribalism full this site. hahahaha. What an international site indeed.
Posted: at 22-08-2012 07:06 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- winace at 22-08-2012 11:34 AM (11 years ago)
My state? Na lie u lie for dis one. Aha wetin sef. Is it cus they say calabar babes are gud dats why u brought dis statistic.
Posted: at 22-08-2012 11:34 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- xband at 22-08-2012 11:46 AM (11 years ago)
Some how sha, i agree with you poster. At least you have gotten some small brain. Come let me pamper you. Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy
Posted: at 22-08-2012 11:46 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- mallorca at 22-08-2012 12:02 PM (11 years ago)
nawa o

Posted: at 22-08-2012 12:02 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- pamela224 at 22-08-2012 12:17 PM (11 years ago)
 Undecided Undecided Undecided Undecided
Posted: at 22-08-2012 12:17 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Sophyrocks at 22-08-2012 01:12 PM (11 years ago)
Too bad. im sure its worse in oda states.

Posted: at 22-08-2012 01:12 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- vantheo at 22-08-2012 01:22 PM (11 years ago)
well............i'm not surprised!! are you?  Huh?

Posted: at 22-08-2012 01:22 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- annastacie at 22-08-2012 01:53 PM (11 years ago)
 Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed
Posted: at 22-08-2012 01:53 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- verah at 22-08-2012 02:10 PM (11 years ago)
MUMU POSTER tell me hw mani time u go post this news give am different headline? dumb ass..i no b cal but this poster na fool it obvious

Posted: at 22-08-2012 02:10 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickman2 at 22-08-2012 03:01 PM (11 years ago)
ok ooooooh.
Posted: at 22-08-2012 03:01 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Neglito at 22-08-2012 03:13 PM (11 years ago)
Exccessive consumption of Dog meat make most of them to turn phyuk-licants.
Posted: at 22-08-2012 03:13 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Solidstonez at 22-08-2012 03:22 PM (11 years ago)
HMMMMMM

Posted: at 22-08-2012 03:22 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Solidstonez at 22-08-2012 03:22 PM (11 years ago)

Posted: at 22-08-2012 03:22 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- zoe61 at 22-08-2012 03:34 PM (11 years ago)
Lol ppl pls practies safe sex
Posted: at 22-08-2012 03:34 PM (11 years ago) | Hero