Edo Erosion Kills 23, Leaves Hundreds Of Residents Homeless

Date: 08-09-2012 12:08 pm (11 years ago) | Author: Charles colins
- at 8-09-2012 12:08 PM (11 years ago)
No fewer than 23 people have been reported killed and hundreds of others sacked from their homes in the Ibori, Ugbalo, Ewu-Eguare, Idogalo and Oludide communities of Edo Central, Edo State.

Lamenting the devastating effect of erosion to their lives, the people in these communities on Friday called on President Goodluck Jonathan to come to their rescue.

Mike Iyere, a teacher and community head, said that over 10 houses are currently under erosion threat. “Two persons died four days ago from high blood pressure, because their houses will go any moment from now. These old men have no means of building another house. They are farmers. We can’t leave the village any more, we have been cut off,” he said.

Gaz, whose village is in Auchi, in Edo North, said over 500 houses and many people had become victims of the rampaging erosion in the area.

In a response, the state Commissioner for Environment, Clem Agba, said the government was aware of about 110 active gully erosion sites in the state.

He said, “We have taken inventory of all of these sites. Oshiobugie gully site is the biggest we have in the state. It used to be seven fingers, but with a recent survey of the area, we discovered that new fingers are beginning to develop and that is why we decided to go and see where these fingers came from. We are doing a number of resettlement studies to settle all those who live around these areas.

“Mr. President had approved the Nigeria Erosion Watershed Management Programme, which is for five eastern states such as Cross-River and Edo State. It’s going to be World-Bank funded. The board of directors of the World Bank approved $650m facility, but the issue is that there is an imbroglio between the presidency and the national assembly.

“They have not been able to approve the national borrowing plan and until that plan is approved, none of the seven states can access the fund to begin to deal with the problem of erosion. Hopefully, if the national borrowing plan is approved, we should be able to get about $75 to $100m to begin to address the gully erosion problem.

“It is clearly beyond the capability of the state government. I mentioned that the design has been done; we had a study done by Siraj Consultant and paid for by Setraco Nigeria Limited. The study showed that we need about N40bn to deal with the gully erosion, but when we looked at the report, a substantial part of the gully erosion was not taken care of.”.

Posted: at 8-09-2012 12:08 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mallorca at 8-09-2012 12:11 PM (11 years ago)
RIP to d deads

Posted: at 8-09-2012 12:11 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Aquarium at 8-09-2012 01:49 PM (11 years ago)
Na wa o Naija. You will agree with me that Nigeria's been having some wake up calls this year. From Dana air crash to brilliant olympics display.(I'll let some else do the counting). Sorry, Edo people.

Posted: at 8-09-2012 01:49 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- aso4life1 at 8-09-2012 01:58 PM (11 years ago)
omg!

Posted: at 8-09-2012 01:58 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Solidstonez at 8-09-2012 02:38 PM (11 years ago)
RIP TO THE DEAD

Posted: at 8-09-2012 02:38 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- winace at 8-09-2012 03:05 PM (11 years ago)
Una sorry o
Posted: at 8-09-2012 03:05 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- moriztuos at 8-09-2012 03:32 PM (11 years ago)
Na wa oooo
Posted: at 8-09-2012 03:32 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- rolifaith at 8-09-2012 03:33 PM (11 years ago)
na woo. R.I.P
Posted: at 8-09-2012 03:33 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- toibeli at 8-09-2012 04:26 PM (11 years ago)
My heart goes out to the families of the dead. The federal govt. should come to these people's aid immediately.
Posted: at 8-09-2012 04:26 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bigdad95 at 8-09-2012 04:53 PM (11 years ago)
RIP Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry
Posted: at 8-09-2012 04:53 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- aso4life1 at 8-09-2012 06:42 PM (11 years ago)
RIP

Posted: at 8-09-2012 06:42 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- cocoeni at 8-09-2012 07:06 PM (11 years ago)
 Cry Cry Cry
Posted: at 8-09-2012 07:06 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- dlimelite at 8-09-2012 08:09 PM (11 years ago)
SO SAD. REST IN PEACE TO THE DEAD Cry Cry Cry
Posted: at 8-09-2012 08:09 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- cadanre at 8-09-2012 08:22 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: mallorca on  8-09-2012 12:11 PM
RIP to d deads

Amen.

Posted: at 8-09-2012 08:22 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- mallorca at 8-09-2012 09:42 PM (11 years ago)
RIP

Posted: at 8-09-2012 09:42 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dickman2 at 8-09-2012 11:47 PM (11 years ago)
i see..
Posted: at 8-09-2012 11:47 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sarah555 at 9-09-2012 01:34 AM (11 years ago)
 Cry Cry Cry Cry
Posted: at 9-09-2012 01:34 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- yvonneobas at 9-09-2012 09:05 AM (11 years ago)
SORRY OO
Posted: at 9-09-2012 09:05 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickman2 at 9-09-2012 09:27 AM (11 years ago)
ok.ooooooooooo
Posted: at 9-09-2012 09:27 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- obilinkn at 9-09-2012 12:09 PM (11 years ago)
Very sorry.xxx
Posted: at 9-09-2012 12:09 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie