A Baghdad court sentenced Iraq’s fugitive Sunni vice president to death Sunday after finding him guilty of masterminding the killings of a lawyer and a government security official.Tariq al-Hashemi has denied the allegations. He fled the country after Iraq’s Shiite-led government leveled the terror charges against him in December.
The politically charged case sparked a crisis in Iraq’s government and has fueled Sunni Muslim and Kurdish resentment against Prime Minister Nouri al-Maliki, a Shiite who critics say is monopolizing power. The Baghdad courtroom was silent Sunday as the presiding judge read out the verdict convicting al-Hashemi and his son-in-law of organizing the murders of a Shiite security official and a lawyer who had refused to help the vice president’s allies in terror cases.
The court sentenced both men in absentia to death by hanging. They have 30 days to appeal the verdict.
I specialize in investigative reportage across several subject matter and sectors but mainly focus on metro events and investigation. Do leave your thoughts and opinion on my reports to let me know what you think about them. Thank you
Posted: at 10-09-2012 01:04 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
maryclaret at 10-09-2012 02:17 AM (12 years ago) (f)
Well! They have to find them first! Na wa o
Ada Mbaise
Posted: at 10-09-2012 02:17 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
Mike-Nd-Uc at 10-09-2012 07:08 AM (12 years ago) (m)
This is a place that is what to call a Country, Not this semi hell fire people are living in called Nigeria, If a man in this man's position killed thousands of people in Nigeria, He will go free and still be stealing poor masses money till the day he will gradually die and the foolish Country will still honour him, Probably with public holiday.
Posted: at 10-09-2012 07:08 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
Are you Beautiful and Handsome? Do you have a Dream of becoming an Actors or Actress? If YES, get set for our auditioning coming very soon from Abcam9 Films Production to be part of our TV Soap Series, form we soon be available nationwide @the bank near u. Its a big cut show, You can also have the Chance to be part of many Yet to be released home Videos in Nollywood. For more Info: call 08157511891. U can also ff on twitter @abcam9
Posted: at 10-09-2012 11:02 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie