Nigeria Releases 58 Women, Children in Peace Gesture.....!

Date: 01-06-2013 5:06 am (11 years ago) | Author: Tony Ladipo
- at 1-06-2013 05:06 AM (11 years ago)
Poster is not responsible for the Major Headline outside this page…..

Nigeria Releases 58 Women, Children in Peace Gesture....
Naharnet Newsdesk
May 31, 2013

Nigeria's military said Friday it had released
58 women and children held in connection with
the Islamist insurgency in the country's northeast
under a peace gesture announced 10 days ago.

The youngest of the children released in Borno state
told journalists at a ceremony announcing the move that
he was nine years old.

Twenty women and children were released in Borno,
while 38 others in neighboring Yobe state.
"We're releasing six women and 14 young men to the Borno State government as directed by the defense headquarters," Lieutenant Colonel Sagir Musa, spokesman for the military in Borno told reporters.

In Yobe, Lieutenant Eli Lazarus announced the release of 17 women and 21 children. "We hope the release will serve the purpose for which it was intended," he told reporters.

Nigeria has defended the detention of children in connection with the insurgency, saying those held were directly involved in ways such as acting as lookouts and running errands. Its military has come under heavy criticism in its fight against Islamist extremist group Boko Haram, including allegations of arbitrary arrests, unlawful detentions and extra-judicial killings.

The military launched a sweeping offensive in the northeast on May 15 in a bid to end the four-year-old insurgency by Boko Haram.

It announced on May 21 it would release women and children held in connection with the insurgency as part of a peace gesture.

The move came after Boko Haram leader Abubakar Shekau claimed in a recent video that the group was holding women and children hostage in retaliation for wives and children of its members detained by the military.

Posted: at 1-06-2013 05:06 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- udenzeu at 1-06-2013 07:51 AM (11 years ago)
Are u scared to be responsible for the major headline? Coward!
Posted: at 1-06-2013 07:51 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 1-06-2013 08:12 AM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 1-06-2013 08:12 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- nzewyte at 1-06-2013 12:35 PM (11 years ago)
A welcome development...... Dat showing leniency which a lacking gesture of d bokoboiz....

Posted: at 1-06-2013 12:35 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nzewyte at 1-06-2013 12:36 PM (11 years ago)
Welldone oga GEJ...... More power 2 ur elbow...

Posted: at 1-06-2013 12:36 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- papadip at 2-06-2013 04:09 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: udenzeu on  1-06-2013 07:51 AM
Are u scared to be responsible for the major headline? Coward!
Why insulting me and did I attack you?
I have one or two words or more for you; Udenzeu you are a Dunce, a Scum and a Jack-Ass
If you cannot comprehend the caption then you need to talk to your elders.
Why should I be responsible for the headline generated by Admin?
Your post is an act of cowardice…..because you are shielded by keyboards.
How many stories have you posted?
Posted: at 2-06-2013 04:09 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dlimelite at 5-06-2013 01:06 AM (11 years ago)
OK
Posted: at 5-06-2013 01:06 AM (11 years ago) | Hero