La Roja need just one point from their final group match to guarantee progress to the semi-finals, while the Super Eagles must equal or better Uruguay's result against Tahiti. Nigeria require a bit of miracle to qualify for the semi-finals, seeing as they most likely will have to beat Spain and beat them well to keep their goal difference ahead of Uruguay. The Spanish will go out to win the group in style and book a mouth-watering semi-final date against either Italy or Brazil.
Can Nigeria beat Spain to qualify for the semi-finals?
NIGERIA
Enyeama Ambrose • Omeruo • Oboabona • Echiejile Ogu • Mikel • Ogude Musa • Ideye • Babatunde
SPAIN
Casillas Arbeloa • Piqué • Ramos • Alba Xavi • Busquets • Iniesta Pedro • Soldado • Fàbregas
Common sense is indeed not common.
Posted: at 22-06-2013 05:17 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
Nigeriahave only won two of their last six international fixtures (W2, D3, L1). However, the 2-1 defeat to Uruguay on Thursday ended a 19-match unbeaten run.
TheSuper Eagles' only previous competitive encounter with Spain ended in a 3-2 victory in the group stage of the 1998 World Cup.
John Obi Mikel(pictured, left) made his 50th appearance for Nigeria in the defeat against Uruguay, crowning the landmark with a goal.
Spain are on a five-game winning run and are unbeaten in their last 24 matches.
La Roja last faced African opponents in the previous edition of the Confederations Cup in 2009. They beat host nation South Africa 3-2 in the third-place play-off.
Only a defeat by four goals or more against Nigeria would put Spain at risk of elimination from the tournament.
Common sense is indeed not common.
Posted: at 22-06-2013 05:18 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
Nigeria can beat Spain if they are serious and play less “Walk-in-Football” You cannot afford to pass the ball in six or eight when not necessary. I hope they’ll start another goalkeeper….who is not absent minded..
Posted: at 22-06-2013 06:48 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
banana4good at 23-06-2013 01:42 PM (11 years ago) (m)
good news;;;; victor valdes is spin kiper ,we know how he kips,any ball that near the post is gooooooaaaaaalllllllll in arabic language ,let nigerians kip trying the post,because they wont use casilas today,
Posted: at 23-06-2013 01:42 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
cornelus at 23-06-2013 02:26 PM (11 years ago) (m)
just wondering when nigeria will play a competitions or AFCN,WC qualifying matches without carrying calculators at hand...if mr A should beat mr B or mr C plays a draw we (nigeria) mr D we qualify...... sometimes it worked for us, but this time,,,,i just dey laugh,,,,,spain no be niger,kenya or burkinafaso,,,we don hit hand for trailer wey carry conkiri and sand-sand.
Posted: at 23-06-2013 02:26 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
SORRY TO SAY,ITS LIKE JOINING 3 CONTINENTS TOGETHER AGAINST NIGERIA, SPAIN ]BACE AND REAL MADRID,WELL HOPEFULLY ON BABA GOD,ANYTHING CAN HAPPEN,WE HAD EXPERIENCED TOUGH ONE THAN THIS B4,REMEMBER NAIJA AND BRAZIL,I WISH NIAJA GOOD LUCK.
Posted: at 23-06-2013 03:09 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac