Shell pays $15.5m to Saro Wiwa’s Family

Date: 09-06-2009 10:29 pm (14 years ago) | Author: King Samuel O Dguy
- at 9-06-2009 10:29 PM (14 years ago)
he oil giant Shell has agreed to pay $15.5m (N2.3bn) in settlement of a legal action in which it was accused of having collaborated in the execution of the writer Ken Saro-Wiwa and eight other Ogoni leaders in Rivers State.
Saro-Wiwa and his eight other compatriots were executed by the late General Sani Abacha military junta in 1995.

Source:
http://www.thisdayonline.com/nview.php?id=145631

Posted: at 9-06-2009 10:29 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osaomo at 9-06-2009 10:31 PM (14 years ago)
hmmmmm....

Posted: at 9-06-2009 10:31 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Toks-E at 9-06-2009 10:35 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: dguy on  9-06-2009 10:29 PM
he oil giant Shell has agreed to pay $15.5m (N2.3bn) in settlement of a legal action in which it was accused of having collaborated in the execution of the writer Ken Saro-Wiwa and eight other Ogoni leaders in Rivers State.
Saro-Wiwa and his eight other compatriots were executed by the late General Sani Abacha military junta in 1995.

Source:

honestly, the man has died, no amount of money can bring him back....niger delta is stll as it has been b4....to me..ntin has been done by shell ooo

Posted: at 9-06-2009 10:35 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- welli at 9-06-2009 10:41 PM (14 years ago)
In Passing, I'D love to ask.....How is this a romance topic??

Posted: at 9-06-2009 10:41 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Toks-E at 9-06-2009 10:43 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: welli on  9-06-2009 10:41 PM

hahahahah.....even dguy sef don 4ck up......no be small tin ooo

shepe, no goood ooo  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 9-06-2009 10:43 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Famousesss at 10-06-2009 03:16 AM (14 years ago)
I can't even say no shiiit concerning this thing,,,bcos its embarrassing 15.5milliong means nothing to SHELL compared to wht they did,,,u killed pple and u paid just some chicken change,,and Nigerian foools will be happy to receive tht check,,,, if someone did something like this  to Americans they will wipe ur ASS open,,, I know nothing less thn 1 to 2 billion dollars will come out definitely...and besides they will be sanctioned to clean the whole environment  tht has been polluted withing fee weeks not even a month......we r still suffering from Slavery..now its kinda advnced slavery tht is it,,,,now tht stupid guys will be so happy receiving tht money due to hunger and frustration...were r we heading to Nigeria.............  and besides I know the SHELL mgt will be so happy bcos,,,its just like taking a spoon of water from and Ocean...
Posted: at 10-06-2009 03:16 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- lilsezy at 10-06-2009 06:29 AM (14 years ago)
It is a shame to shell...they even have to drag them to court to even pay that amount of money.... can the man be revived with that money??? What a great and idle man............
Posted: at 10-06-2009 06:29 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- mazi at 10-06-2009 11:37 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: welli on  9-06-2009 10:41 PM
osi....bring ur padlock...dis time ur needs to be locked up
Posted: at 10-06-2009 11:37 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- mazi at 10-06-2009 11:44 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: dguy on  9-06-2009 10:29 PM

Source:

but on a serious note.....wot does it amount to...
all d degradation of d land nd polution of d entired delta creeks...
d death..sufferring of d families...entire communities...region...etc.
not even an apology to d families nd entire people was offered..
Posted: at 10-06-2009 11:44 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- vic4life at 10-06-2009 02:16 PM (14 years ago)
infact,naija pple phyuk up real time
Posted: at 10-06-2009 02:16 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- nollylove at 10-06-2009 02:25 PM (14 years ago)
Interesting, wish I knew more about what happened.
Posted: at 10-06-2009 02:25 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- biamblinks at 10-06-2009 05:12 PM (14 years ago)
Headline news
Posted: at 10-06-2009 05:12 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- togolistic at 10-06-2009 09:47 PM (14 years ago)
not only saro wiwa,s familly men there are nine familis involved
Posted: at 10-06-2009 09:47 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- rbest at 11-06-2009 11:11 AM (14 years ago)
how i wish they will stop killing innocent souls there
Posted: at 11-06-2009 11:11 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sinaayo at 11-06-2009 11:18 AM (14 years ago)
infact am short of word
Posted: at 11-06-2009 11:18 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- rbest at 11-06-2009 11:24 AM (14 years ago)
yeah
Posted: at 11-06-2009 11:24 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onchedu at 11-06-2009 03:35 PM (14 years ago)
Somebody tell Shell to come and kill me let them pay my family N2.6bn too.
Posted: at 11-06-2009 03:35 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- Nglite at 12-06-2009 02:20 AM (14 years ago)
Is it 4hs direct family or extended join?

Posted: at 12-06-2009 02:20 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- stephmike at 12-06-2009 09:40 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Famousesss on 10-06-2009 03:16 AM
I can't even say no shiiit concerning this thing,,,bcos its embarrassing 15.5milliong means nothing to SHELL compared to wht they did,,,u killed pple and u paid just some chicken change,,and Nigerian foools will be happy to receive tht check,,,, if someone did something like this  to Americans they will wipe ur ASS open,,, I know nothing less thn 1 to 2 billion dollars will come out definitely...and besides they will be sanctioned to clean the whole environment  tht has been polluted withing fee weeks not even a month......we r still suffering from Slavery..now its kinda advnced slavery tht is it,,,,now tht stupid guys will be so happy receiving tht money due to hunger and frustration...were r we heading to Nigeria.............  and besides I know the SHELL mgt will be so happy bcos,,,its just like taking a spoon of water from and Ocean...
IM WITH U...... Cool Cool Cool
Posted: at 12-06-2009 09:40 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Phil2 at 12-06-2009 05:04 PM (14 years ago)
  Roll Eyes  Shocked  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 12-06-2009 05:04 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming