Date: 23-07-2013 9:33 am (10 years ago) | Author: famuyiwa oluwatosin raphael
[1] 2 3 4
- at 23-07-2013 09:33 AM (10 years ago)
The member representing Ondo Central
Senatorial District at the National Assembly, Senator Ayo Akinyelure,
wept before members of his constituency in Akure on Monday as he
apologised to them that he voted in error to support the senate
resolution backing marriage of under age girls.
Akinyelure was summoned by his
constituents to explain his role in the controversial passage of a
resolution to retain the provision of Section 29 (4) (b) of the 1999
Constitution, which states that a married under age girl is deemed to be
an adult.

Politicians, women groups and students
had besieged the Adegbemile Hall, venue of the meeting, with placards to
protest against what they described as the legalisation of segxwal abuse
of young girls, which their representative had supported.
But Akinyelure burst into tears as he
laboured to convince the obviously enraged crowd at the tension-soaked
session that he mistakenly pressed the wrong button during the
electronic voting exercise thinking that he was voting against child
marriage.
The Senator said he had aligned his
thought with that of other senators, who supported the resolution that
the provision should be expunged from the constitution.
He added that the resolution was
paraphrased again in a way that confused him to mean that pressing the
‘No’ button would mean voting against the resolution that the resolution
should be retained in the constitution.
He said, “I am very sorry for this
costly mistake. I actually voted in error. I pressed the ‘No’ button
during the electronic voting session, thinking that I was kicking
against the early marriage. I can never support such barbaric and wicked
bill.”

Posted: at 23-07-2013 09:33 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Bigego077 at 23-07-2013 09:55 AM (10 years ago)
Lol...u shuld be really sorry. Propably u were thinking of the millions u will get @ d end of d sitting wen u pressed d NO button. Cheesy
Posted: at 23-07-2013 09:55 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- paul1984 at 23-07-2013 10:02 AM (10 years ago)
Shine your eye next fool.... Child marriage is a way to distracts Nigerians from other real issues, such as why Mustapha was freed, why T.B Joshua Wanted him out and how Jonathan gave bribe to the law makers to have him out and how he plans to bring Ibori back to Nigeria and have him released etc... Funny enough Nigerians fell for this trick and now their mind is drifted from big major issues.
Posted: at 23-07-2013 10:02 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- paul1984 at 23-07-2013 10:05 AM (10 years ago)
Shine your eyez next time Olodo.
Posted: at 23-07-2013 10:05 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- dareper at 23-07-2013 10:06 AM (10 years ago)
U no go school? Abi those stupid aboki charm u with juju? And na so by error u go give out your 6yrs old daughter for them(the abokis) to marry. Mtcheeew.
Posted: at 23-07-2013 10:06 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- okpesco60 at 23-07-2013 10:15 AM (10 years ago)
Is a shame,but cant it be revoked?
Posted: at 23-07-2013 10:15 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- chicco77 at 23-07-2013 10:21 AM (10 years ago)
fool
Posted: at 23-07-2013 10:21 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- mary11 at 23-07-2013 10:23 AM (10 years ago)
Dat can only happen wen we have illiterate as law maker

Posted: at 23-07-2013 10:23 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Toks-E at 23-07-2013 10:28 AM (10 years ago)
B*tch please

Posted: at 23-07-2013 10:28 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- christianity at 23-07-2013 10:40 AM (10 years ago)
ndi ara
Posted: at 23-07-2013 10:40 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- akinmanchy at 23-07-2013 10:47 AM (10 years ago)
Very costly mistake indeed!

Posted: at 23-07-2013 10:47 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- emaakin at 23-07-2013 10:54 AM (10 years ago)
GOD KILL YOU FOR THAT MISTAKE.... NA MISTAKE YOUR MAMA USE BORN YOU.. FOOL
Posted: at 23-07-2013 10:54 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- winace at 23-07-2013 11:07 AM (10 years ago)
U shld be sorry such costly mistake will not happen to u again I kn dat.
Posted: at 23-07-2013 11:07 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- micc at 23-07-2013 11:37 AM (10 years ago)
Hmmm costly mistake
Posted: at 23-07-2013 11:37 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- largo at 23-07-2013 12:03 PM (10 years ago)
Its a lie....
Posted: at 23-07-2013 12:03 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- Mobbysmartins at 23-07-2013 12:04 PM (10 years ago)
You mistakenly pressed the wrong button??.Have you ever mistakenly forgotten to take your furniture allowance,have you ever mistakenly forgotten to take your estacodes??.Have you ever mistakenly forgotten to take your sitting allowance??.No,you have not and will never.But you mistakenly pressed the wrong button and sold the future of the Nigerian girl child.Shame on you Mr.Senator.
Posted: at 23-07-2013 12:04 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- angesco at 23-07-2013 12:23 PM (10 years ago)
That's what he says! Do I believe him? It's hard to say. Our senate appears to  be  full of 'elected' people who do not understand the basics of what 'yes' and 'no' mean!!!!

This says a lot about our standard of education in the land. After all the senators are paid enough to try and concentrate on what bills are put before them to vote on!

He should hang his head in shame.

Posted: at 23-07-2013 12:23 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- arsenal123 at 23-07-2013 12:45 PM (10 years ago)
Sorry for you illiterate senator.. who are you trying to fool here?..
Posted: at 23-07-2013 12:45 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Merlin at 23-07-2013 12:52 PM (10 years ago)
So this old man doesn't know the difference between "yes" and "no"  Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 23-07-2013 12:52 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mac-daniel at 23-07-2013 12:54 PM (10 years ago)
A LOT OF SHAMES THINGS ARE HAPPENING IN NIGERIA,HOW CAN A WHOLE SENETOR SAID I MADE A MISTAKE,WHAT HAPPEND IF IS DEATH ISSUE AND THEY NEED YOUR VOTE TO KILL SOMEBODY,ARE U GOING TO SAY I MADE A MISTAKE,NOBODY ABOVE MISTAKE BUT THIS ISSUE ARE VERY IMPORTANT,YOU HAVE FAIL YOUR MORAL SURPORT IN YOUR AREA,WE NEED REERENDUM IN OUR CONSTITUTION.THOSE SENETOR ARE TAKEN US FOR GRANTED.A LOT OF PEOPLE ARE OUTSIDE WHO ARE BETTER THAN THEM,WE NEED A REVOLUTIONARY LEADER IN ALL AREA IN NIGERIA,LOOK AT LAGOS,HOW FASHOLA TURNED IT TO?THE NIGERIA CIVIL SOCIETY AND NIGERIANS ARE SLEEPING,WE COMPLAIN WITHIN OURSELF WITHOUT BRINGING SOLUTION.OUR SOLUTION NOW IS FOR US TO ELECT GOOD LEADER INTO POWER NOT HAND PICK?
Posted: at 23-07-2013 12:54 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
[1] 2 3 4