B’Haram militants cut church members’ throats – Bishop

Date: 29-01-2014 6:38 am (10 years ago) | Author: Direct
- at 29-01-2014 06:38 AM (10 years ago)
“Some people tried to escape through the windows and the attackers shot at them. They cut peoples’ throats.”

This was how the Catholic Bishop of Yola, Mamza   Stephen, captured the calamity that befell worshippers  at a Catholic church in Waga Chakawa in Adamawa State when Boko Haram insurgents struck on Sunday morning.

Stephen  told the  British Broadcasting Corporation that he heard from the survivors that insurgents   arrived the village  on trucks and locked the church “towards the end of the service.”

According to him, the  militants set off bombs, before burning houses and taking residents hostage during  the  four-hour siege.

He added that   death toll in the  Waga Chakawa attack  was  30 and not 22 as widely reported.

“Everybody is living in fear.  There is no protection. We cannot predict where and when they are going to attack. People can’t sleep with their eyes closed,” he lamented.

In  Kawuri village in Borno State, the story was the same as a 46-year- old grandmother, Rabi Mallam, narrated how another band of insurgents set her hut on fire on Sunday evening.

She said when she heard gunshots from every direction in the community, she rushed into her hut and hid herself with her son and granddaughter.

“I covered the children with heavy blanket soaked in water, but the fire still burnt us. I cried for the children because they were calling me to take them out, but I could not,” she said.

Although  Mallam and  the children (her son and granddaughter), survived  with serious burns, many others were not as lucky as they died in the fire set on over  300 houses in the village by the insurgents.

As of Tuesday, the death toll in the  Kawuri village attack  had risen to 85.

Eyewitnesses had on Monday said that 52 people were slaughtered by the insurgents  during the Kawuri  attack.

Kawuri villagers,who were  preparing for the burial of two newly-discovered bodies when   Governor  Kashim Shettima  visited them, said they had buried  83 corpses.

They also lamented that seven of their mosques were set ablaze, while their Imam was also killed by the insurgents.

They added that 50 persons that were injured were still hospitalised while  16 others  were missing.

The villagers explained that some of the victims were burnt to ashes, while six others  were beyond recognition.

They said they were helpless and confused as it appeared that the assailants came well  prepared to destroy their village.

Konduga Council Secretary, Alhaji Ali Yale, said the sect members  came in 26 vehicles, two Armoured Personnel  Carriers  and six Toyota  Hilux vans painted  in army  colours.

A councillor in Kawuri, Dala Lawan, told PUNCH Metro that about 50 persons with serious bullet and fire   wounds  were on admission in three different hospitals in the state.

Lawan said, “We have been searching and burying corpses since yesterday (Monday). The first burial was for 83 persons, but more corpses are still being picked in the bushes. We have found two more corpses. So with  the two,    the death toll  has risen  85 for now.”

The head of the Civilian JTF in the village, Lawan Mustapha, said the  insurgents spoke    Kanuri and Hausa languages and seemed to know the village very well.

Mustapha said the Imam of  the central mosque was killed by his own student (an Almajiri), who was later discovered  to be a member of the sect.

In one of the hospitals, our correspondent observed some women, children and old  men with burns  writhing  in pains.

In the hospital,  Mallam, who had second degree burns, said herself,  son and granddaughter were hiding inside their  room when the gunmen set their home on fire.

She said, “We ran inside the house for fear of being hit by  bullets that were fired by the attackers, but they  set our house ablaze.

“I and the two kids could not come out because they were still shooting indiscriminately. We were in the house for hours before they left, thinking we were dead.”

A newly-married couple, who said they lost everything, were among the villagers seen  leaving Kawuri on Tuesday.

The governor, who was apparently shocked at the level of destruction, directed the immediate rebuilding of the burnt mosques and market.

Shettima, who  also promised to assist the victims to rebuild their houses, gave the families that lost their  loved ones N250,000 each.

Posted: at 29-01-2014 06:38 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- combis at 29-01-2014 09:33 AM (10 years ago)
lets divide naija abeg
Posted: at 29-01-2014 09:33 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- dejaiiro at 29-01-2014 09:50 AM (10 years ago)
@Combis... Its obvious that the Fools behind this are senseless and I doubt if they are Nigerians.. God have mercy
Posted: at 29-01-2014 09:50 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- codeplay at 29-01-2014 09:53 AM (10 years ago)
This story is becoming similar to dat of mali govt against the tuarang rebel, God help us cos I smell war. This Govt sucks
Posted: at 29-01-2014 09:53 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Wysetots at 29-01-2014 10:04 AM (10 years ago)
GEJ....are you seeing this??

It's only death penalty for Yahoo you dey focus on.
Posted: at 29-01-2014 10:04 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 29-01-2014 10:05 AM (10 years ago)
Omg! God please help us divide this thing called nigeria. Up biafra!!!
Posted: at 29-01-2014 10:05 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- elmatado at 29-01-2014 10:21 AM (10 years ago)
Nokia 3310 never wake up
Posted: at 29-01-2014 10:21 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- elmatado at 29-01-2014 10:24 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: dareper on 29-01-2014 10:05 AM
Omg! God please help us divide this thing called nigeria. Up biafra!!!
u are a big fool,if this country divide na u go suffer pass mugu. Fish brain
Posted: at 29-01-2014 10:24 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- mathzno at 29-01-2014 10:52 AM (10 years ago)
 Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool What is the way forward now?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?? I strongly believe that some rich nations and individual rich guys are behind this Boko boys
Posted: at 29-01-2014 10:52 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Princess4God at 29-01-2014 11:05 AM (10 years ago)
 God help us
Posted: at 29-01-2014 11:05 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- mary11 at 29-01-2014 11:55 AM (10 years ago)
Terrible
God help us

Posted: at 29-01-2014 11:55 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- orejo07 at 29-01-2014 11:59 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: elmatado on 29-01-2014 10:24 AM

Abeg shut up na u fool pass, animal, how biafra go take suffer
Posted: at 29-01-2014 11:59 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- IDOKOO at 29-01-2014 12:02 PM (10 years ago)
God please, we beg u to divide this country, let have peace every where.
Posted: at 29-01-2014 12:02 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- ObyWBabaK at 29-01-2014 12:05 PM (10 years ago)
 Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad
Posted: at 29-01-2014 12:05 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 29-01-2014 12:11 PM (10 years ago)
eyaaaaaaa R.I.P to the dead and quick recovery to the burnt ones and injured ones   Cry  Cry  Cry  Cry
Posted: at 29-01-2014 12:11 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- emekaeneh at 29-01-2014 12:24 PM (10 years ago)
Baba God save this our naija for us
Eneh say so via nokia 3310
Posted: at 29-01-2014 12:24 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- 2bify at 29-01-2014 01:35 PM (10 years ago)
THUNDER GO FIRE U FIRE UR GENERATION, NA MUMU UR PAPA BE. IF U GO ENJOY PASS WHEN THE COUNTRY DIVIDE WHY KILLING INNOCENT PEOPLE IN THE CHURCH?Huh?Huh??? OLORIBURUKU, OMO ALE
Posted: at 29-01-2014 01:35 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- 2bify at 29-01-2014 01:36 PM (10 years ago)
THUNDER GO FIRE U FIRE UR GENERATION, NA MUMU UR PAPA BE. IF U GO ENJOY PASS WHEN THE COUNTRY DIVIDE WHY KILLING INNOCENT PEOPLE IN THE CHURCH?Huh?Huh??? OLORIBURUKU, OMO ALE
Posted: at 29-01-2014 01:36 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- joromy at 29-01-2014 01:39 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: Wysetots on 29-01-2014 10:04 AM
GEJ....are you seeing this??

It's only death penalty for Yahoo you dey focus on.
IS FOR THE CORRUPT LEADER.
Posted: at 29-01-2014 01:39 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Pepesy at 29-01-2014 02:19 PM (10 years ago)
May God help us
Posted: at 29-01-2014 02:19 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Netizens React As a Catholic Reverend Sister is Spotted in Public Drinking Alcohol (Video)

2. FAAN Shuts Down KFC Outlet At The Lagos Airport Over Discriminatory Treatment of Ex Gov's Son

3. Nigerian Man Videos The Living Condition of Immigrants Who Were Not Granted Asylum in Portugal

4. Court Awards Late Biafran Leader, Ojukwu's Will to Bianca, Throws Out First Son, Debe's Case

5. Singer Waje Expresses Pride as Her Daughter, Emerald Turns 25, Pens Emotional Note to Her

6. Man Emmanuel Okpara Arrested For Reportedly B£ating His Wife to D£ath in Lagos

7. Rapper, Cynthia Morgan Reveals Why She Was Never S3xually Harassed in The Industry

8. A Thief Who Robbed me Was Dating The Police Officer in Charge of my Case – Lady Recounts Ordeal

9. See List: Nigeria, Egypt Named Among World’s Lowest Salary Earners

10. Binance Executives Drag NSA Ribadu, EFCC To Court

11. VIDEO: NAFDAC Raids Factory Where Fake Bottled Water is Produced in Port Harcourt

12. 13 Persons Arrested and Charged to Court For Failing to Use Pedestrian Bridge in Lagos

13. VIDEO: NNPC Fuel Station in Yola, Adamawa State Razed By Fire

14. CEO of TCN,Abdulaziz Sule Reportedly Bribes Min. of Power With N290m Lexus SUV to Retain Office

15. 20yr Old Man Arrested For Kidnap, Murder Of Police Officer’s Son In Bauchi

2. Ex Chelsea Star, Geremi Njitap Files For Divorce After DNA Reveal He Isn't Father Of Their Twin

3. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

4. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

5. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

6. Man Videos Himself Taking His Own Life on Facebook Because His Girlfriend Cheated on Him

7. Photos: Customs Officers Attacked By Suspected Smugglers In Adamawa

8. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake

9. 44Yr Old Bassirou Faye Wins Senegal's Presidential Election, Defeats 62Yr Old Ex Prime Minister

10. Stop Harassïng Enioluwa, I'm The One in The Leaked S*x Tape - US P0rn Star, Briggs Speaks (VID)