'Why I Rejected The Centenary Awards' - Soyinka Opens Up 1 March, 2014

Date: 01-03-2014 2:43 pm (10 years ago) | Author: Afolayon Masofunmomi
[1] 2 3 4
- at 1-03-2014 02:43 PM (10 years ago)

100 persons were honoured with Centenary awards by the Federal Government as part of Nigeria’s Centenary celebration.
Professor Soyinka who was among the 100 rejected the award as the late Nigerian tyrant, General Sani Abacha and other known killers and looters of Nigeria’s treasury were also on the list.
In a rejection note headlined "The Canonisation of Terror", Soyinka observed that the inclusion of Abacha on the list does not only show a failure of a moral rigour but it calls into question "the entire ethical landscape into which this nation has been forced by insensate leadership".
According to Soyinka, Abacha's regime was known for assassinations, torture and other forms of barbarism. An elected president and his wife, M.K.O and Kudirat Abiola were snuffed out by Abacha as well as nine Nigerian citizens, including the writer and environmentalist Ken Saro-Wiwa, were hanged after a trial that was stomach churning.
"We are speaking here of a man who placed this nation under siege during an unrelenting reign of terror that is barely different from the current rampage of Boko Haram. It is this very psychopath that was recently canonised by the government of Goodluck Jonathan in commemoration of one hundred years of Nigerian trauma.
"What the government of Goodluck Jonathan has done is to scoop up a century’s accumulated degeneracy in one pre-eminent symbol, then place it on a podium for the nation to admire, emulate and even–worship."
"There is a deplorable message for coming generations in this governance aberration that the entire world has been summoned to witness and indeed to celebrate. The insertion of an embodiment of governance of terror into the company of committed democrats, professionals, humanists and human rights advocates in their own right, is a sordid effort to grant a certificate of health to a communicable disease that common sense demands should be isolated. It is a confidence trick that speaks volumes of the perpetrators of such a fraud," Soyinka said.
STILL HOT,CHECK THIS OUT

Posted: at 1-03-2014 02:43 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- okilo101 at 1-03-2014 05:21 PM (10 years ago)
Noted!
Posted: at 1-03-2014 05:21 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- micc at 1-03-2014 06:03 PM (10 years ago)
I hear
Posted: at 1-03-2014 06:03 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- lakman at 1-03-2014 06:17 PM (10 years ago)
if abacha name appear on that list, then tell me the essence of being a good leaders, the only reason i saw in honoring ex-leaders is to set a future precedent for future leaders to know that good name is better than money. so if goodluck is honoring such a brutal and inhuman leader, then what is the need to be a good leader in the future.
Posted: at 1-03-2014 06:17 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- gbojac at 1-03-2014 06:38 PM (10 years ago)
whaT
Posted: at 1-03-2014 06:38 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- salihu_boni at 1-03-2014 07:00 PM (10 years ago)
Seen
Posted: at 1-03-2014 07:00 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Aniagain at 1-03-2014 07:16 PM (10 years ago)
If Abacha is honoured, then  late Lawrence Anini, shina Rambo, Mohammed Yusuf even Shekau should be honoured as well

Posted: at 1-03-2014 07:16 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Larry28 at 1-03-2014 07:45 PM (10 years ago)
Hav had
Posted: at 1-03-2014 07:45 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- spiridion at 1-03-2014 08:01 PM (10 years ago)
Very sad to note.
Posted: at 1-03-2014 08:01 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- sweetperf at 1-03-2014 08:29 PM (10 years ago)
Am not surprised,wat is d diff btw d past and present leaders.jst dt some r perpetrating their own evil and fraudulent act on d platform of democracy
Posted: at 1-03-2014 08:29 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- winace at 1-03-2014 09:32 PM (10 years ago)
Its not my own to judge. Next post pls
Posted: at 1-03-2014 09:32 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- osamabinladin at 1-03-2014 10:38 PM (10 years ago)
He is right !
Posted: at 1-03-2014 10:38 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- accountantb at 1-03-2014 10:46 PM (10 years ago)
prof..remember say na u b d reason y we have cultist in our skul 2da cus u stated it wen we are u are in U I, abacha regime and bokoharam regime which 1 is wrong, and sir which of the Nigeria leaders can swear with is His God dat he as not kill directly or indirectly...u receive d award or not he does not move if they didn't put ur name der wat wil u do sir.
Posted: at 1-03-2014 10:46 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- 2bify at 1-03-2014 10:54 PM (10 years ago)
An elected president and his wife, M.K.O and Kudirat Abiola were snuffed out by Abacha         ABACHA NEVER KILLED ABIOLA, ABIOLA DIED A MONTH AFTER ABACHAS DEATH
Posted: at 1-03-2014 10:54 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 1-03-2014 11:03 PM (10 years ago)
I support u jare
Posted: at 1-03-2014 11:03 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- cocoeni at 1-03-2014 11:11 PM (10 years ago)
None of my biz
Posted: at 1-03-2014 11:11 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- DRraze at 1-03-2014 11:16 PM (10 years ago)
Naija... Still searching for the definition
Posted: at 1-03-2014 11:16 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ecto at 1-03-2014 11:18 PM (10 years ago)
A Prof is never wrong
Posted: at 1-03-2014 11:18 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 1-03-2014 11:28 PM (10 years ago)
 Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 1-03-2014 11:28 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- chicco77 at 1-03-2014 11:34 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 1-03-2014 11:34 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
[1] 2 3 4