Bizarre: Meet The Brazilian Man Born With His Head Upside-Down

Date: 01-09-2014 9:33 pm (9 years ago) | Author: Mega Fox
- at 1-09-2014 09:33 PM (9 years ago)

A man born with physical disabilities so severe his head is Upside-down has defied the odds to become an inspirational public speaker. Claudio Vieira de Oliveira, 37, was born with his neck folded back on itself, as well as badly deformed legs and almost no use of his arms and hands. Doctors told his mother to stop feeding him as a newborn as they believed he had no chance of survival. But Claudio from Monte Santo, Brazil, has overcome his extreme disadvantages to graduate as an accountant and become a public speaker. Continue…

“Since I was a child I’ve always liked to keep myself busy and work – I don’t like to depend totally on other people. I do a bit of accounting, research for clients and consulting. I have learned to turn on the TV, pick up my cell phone, turn on the radio, use the internet, my computer – I do it all by myself.” he said.

Claudio types with a pen held in his mouth, operates phones and a computer mouse with his lips and has specially made shoes that allow him to move around town. His determined independence saw him succeeding at school and qualifying as an accountant from the State University of Feira de Santana.
When Claudio was born, doctors told his mother Maria Jose he would not be able to survive. Maria Jose said:

“People started saying ‘the baby is going to die’ because he could barely breathe when he was born. Some people would say: ‘Don’t feed him, he is already dying’. But there’s only happiness now. Claudio is just like any other person – that’s how he was raised in this house. We never tried to fix him and always wanted him to do the normal things everyone else does. That’s why he is so confident. He is not ashamed of walking around in the street – he sings and he dances.”

At eight years old, Claudio, who had previously been carried everywhere, began to walk on his knees. His family had to change the floor of the house so he could walk around without injuring himself. Claudio’s bed, plugs and lights had to be made lower so that he could do things for himself without asking for help. He cannot use a wheelchair because of his unusual shape, making it hard for him to be independent outside the home – but he begged his mother to be allowed to go to school and learn with the other children. Doctors have recently diagnosed him with a rare condition called congenital arthrogryposis.

They believe he has multiple joint contractions in his legs and arms which mean they cannot extend properly. Claudio said: “Throughout my life I was able to adapt my body to the world. Right now, I don’t see myself as being different. I am a normal person. I don’t see things upside-down. This is one of the things I always talk about in my interventions as a public speaker. “Nowadays it’s much easier to deal with the public, I’m not afraid of it anymore and I can say that I am a professional, international public speaker and that I receive invitations from all over the world.”

READ MORE NAIJA HAPPENINGS

Posted: at 1-09-2014 09:33 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- youngrashy at 1-09-2014 10:14 PM (9 years ago)
Na wa oooo
Posted: at 1-09-2014 10:14 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zeigbo at 1-09-2014 10:45 PM (9 years ago)

Posted: at 1-09-2014 10:45 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Ritabrenice at 1-09-2014 11:10 PM (9 years ago)
Wow
Posted: at 1-09-2014 11:10 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- schmit at 1-09-2014 11:24 PM (9 years ago)
My God, how does he eat?
Posted: at 1-09-2014 11:24 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- loko2k4reel at 1-09-2014 11:48 PM (9 years ago)
We need to thank GOD for our good health o.
Posted: at 1-09-2014 11:48 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- longben at 2-09-2014 01:15 AM (9 years ago)
oghene bikoooo. hehnnnn?
Posted: at 2-09-2014 01:15 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- angesco at 2-09-2014 02:48 AM (9 years ago)
What a wonderful story! Makes me stop and think and have a word with myself about moaning about trivial things.
Posted: at 2-09-2014 02:48 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- daveobahon at 2-09-2014 06:31 AM (9 years ago)
God is great
Posted: at 2-09-2014 06:31 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- seveneleven at 2-09-2014 06:47 AM (9 years ago)
God i thank you
Posted: at 2-09-2014 06:47 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- beneno at 2-09-2014 07:11 AM (9 years ago)
God i beg oo Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 2-09-2014 07:11 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ngfineface at 2-09-2014 07:31 AM (9 years ago)
Another wonder of God.
Posted: at 2-09-2014 07:31 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Onyemgba at 2-09-2014 07:52 AM (9 years ago)
Wow what a motivational and moral buster story  I am impress we are what we repeatedly do excellence therefore is not an act but a habit(nkita sina ndi nwere ike amalo ano just like stupid mershada anu)  
Posted: at 2-09-2014 07:52 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- Bonitabay at 2-09-2014 07:54 AM (9 years ago)
God I thank you
Posted: at 2-09-2014 07:54 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- paulohking at 2-09-2014 08:01 AM (9 years ago)
wow
Posted: at 2-09-2014 08:01 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- chicco77 at 2-09-2014 08:02 AM (9 years ago)
GOD is wonderfull  Cool Cool
Posted: at 2-09-2014 08:02 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- bankadetoun at 2-09-2014 09:48 AM (9 years ago)
The work of Gos is always Excellent
Posted: at 2-09-2014 09:48 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Nicksam at 2-09-2014 10:49 AM (9 years ago)
MAY GOD BE WITH HIM
Posted: at 2-09-2014 10:49 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- DrSoba at 2-09-2014 11:18 AM (9 years ago)
Hmmmm
Posted: at 2-09-2014 11:18 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cocoeni at 2-09-2014 12:10 PM (9 years ago)
God is great
Posted: at 2-09-2014 12:10 PM (9 years ago) | Hero

1. Disturbing Video Shows Handcuffed Black Man's Last Words As Police Knelt On Him Before He Died

2. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

3. BREAKING: President Tinubu Appoints Jim Ovia Chairman Of Nigerian Education Loan Fund

4. ‘My Values, Not Dad’s Money’ – Davido Opens Up On Secret Of His Success

5. P-Square Ordered To Pay N25m Over Breach Of Contract After Being Defeated By Music Promoter

6. Two Siblings, Motorcyclist Allegedly Crushes To Death By Speeding Student Driver In Ondo

7. PICS; Police Arrest 8 Suspected Kidnappers, Rescue Four Kidnapped Victims In Delta

8. Benue Gov. Alia Set To Demolish Property Housing Kidnappers, Yahoo Boys

9. How DSS Rescues Seven Kidnapped Victims In Sokoto

1. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

2. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

3. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

4. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

5. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

6. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

7. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

8. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria

9. Popular Ghanaian Media Personality, Serwaa Amihere Finally Reacts To Her Leaked S3x Tape

10. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu