Female Belgium returnee arrested for fraud

Date: 02-10-2009 11:59 am (14 years ago) | Author: Obianodo joshua
- at 2-10-2009 11:59 AM (14 years ago)
The mother of eight, whose husband and children are Belgium citizens, told Daily Sun that she was once duped by some fraudsters, which resulted in her being stranded in Nigeria.
She said: “I returned from Belgium for my late mother’s burial. After the burial, I needed some money to go back to re-unite with my family, but there was a stumbling block. I sold some goods, including cars that I brought from Belgium, but I met twin brothers, who fleeced me of N2.7 million and I became stranded.”

She claimed to have reported the matter to Sabo Police Station, adding that the police failed to bring the twin brothers to book or to make them refund her money.
She claimed that it was inability of the police to do their job that made her to be frustrated and stranded in Nigeria.

She further explained that it was her quest to return to Belgium that pushed her into crime.
According to her, she was trying to raise some money before she met one Ifeanyi, whom she showed a car for sale, valued at the sum of N1.4 million. She disclosed that Ifeanyi gave her N300,000.
There was a mild drama as she was narrating the story of her life to Daily Sun when Ifeanyi and one Hassan stormed Oduduwa Police parade ground, alleging that the suspect also duped them.
Ifeanyi narrated how the suspect took him to where some cars were displayed for sale, and showed him some samples of exotic cars which she intended to be sending to him from Belgium.

Ifeanyi said he believed the suspect, which made him to part with N300,000. He said he was shocked when he went the place the following day only to meet the owner of the business premises, who chased him away, saying he didn’t know the suspect.

He said he reported the matter to policemen who went searching for the suspect. She was later sighted at Ikeja, while the monitoring unit of the state police command was alerted.
But the suspect denied knowing him or transacting any business with him.
Hassan said: “You see this woman, she is my customer. I am a Bureau de Change operator. She used to come to change money in my office. One day, she called me on phone to tell me to bring an equivalent of 12,000 euros for her in a shop.”

As I knew her to be a Belgium returnee, who had been transacting business with me, I did not envisage evil. I did not have the equivalent at that time, and I told her. She said I should bring the one I had.”
He alleged that he took N1.4 million to her in a popular plaza at Ajao Estate, where the suspect collected it and assigned one man to take him to another shop to give him the equivalent of 750 euros.
He said when he went back to the place, he was embarrassed by the owner, who told him he did not know the woman in question.

He said he was surprised when the police invited him to come and identify the suspect and she turned out to be the person that duped him.

However, the State Police spokesman, Mr. Frank Mba, said the suspect had been involved in many fraud cases. Mba, however, appealed to members of the public, who might have fallen victim to the suspect’s antics to come to his office or the State Criminal Investigation Department, Panti. Yaba, Lagos.

He said the suspect would soon be charged to court for fraud-related offences.

Posted: at 2-10-2009 11:59 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- kouga at 2-10-2009 02:50 PM (14 years ago)
i guess it is fustration and circumstance that lead,s her into becoming a fraudster. imagen, how it hurt,s when d twin brothers defraud her of 2.7million naira and she now go on rampage defrauding everyone that comes across her. she is not to be blame. shebi dey say na wayooo be d best way get quick richies dis days'
Posted: at 2-10-2009 02:50 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- teeco at 2-10-2009 02:59 PM (14 years ago)
Nawa for this country

Posted: at 2-10-2009 02:59 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kouga at 2-10-2009 03:03 PM (14 years ago)
my brother no bi small thing ooooh!!!. it,s only GOD that will help us. they still thousands of fraudster planning and still defrauding there victims.
Posted: at 2-10-2009 03:03 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- teeco at 2-10-2009 03:38 PM (14 years ago)
may GOD help us

Posted: at 2-10-2009 03:38 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero