‘Why Corps Members Now Have to Pay N4,000 to Get Call-up Letters’ – NYSC

Date: 13-09-2014 6:47 pm (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 13-09-2014 06:47 PM (9 years ago)

The National Youth Service Corps has defended its new policy that requires prospective corps members to pay N4,000 each before accessing their call-up letters online. According to the agency that mobilizes Nigerian graduates for their compulsory one-year service to the nation, insinuations that the new system was introduced for exploitative reasons is not true.

Speaking with the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) in Abuja yesterday, the agency’s Director of Press and Public Relations, Mrs Olubunmi Aderibigbe, said the new policy was in the interest of the corps members. That contrary to the false impression, the new process was aimed at improving efficiency and reducing the stress associated with the collection of call-up letters by prospective corps members. She said:

It is wrong for anyone to assert that NYSC is exploiting prospective corps members through the new computerized process. Some people seem not to know what some of prospective corps members go through before collecting their call-up letters; many of them travel several kilometres away from their homes just to get the call-ups. What we have done is in fact to reduce the cost and risks associated with the collection of the call-ups and to eliminate sharp practices associated with the old process.’’

The director of Corps Mobilisation of the scheme, Antony Ani also stated that the services which include receipt of call-up numbers through email/sms, printing or re-printing of call-up letters online in case of loss, was optional. That prospective corps members who choose to collect their call-up letters from their institutions need not pay the stipulated fee.

Posted: at 13-09-2014 06:47 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Wysetots at 13-09-2014 06:55 PM (9 years ago)
But still......N4,000 is on the high side.
Posted: at 13-09-2014 06:55 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Nicksam at 13-09-2014 06:57 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 13-09-2014 06:57 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Ritabrenice at 13-09-2014 07:38 PM (9 years ago)
Its too much nah
Posted: at 13-09-2014 07:38 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chidi4reala at 13-09-2014 07:48 PM (9 years ago)
too small nah, you for make am 220naira
Posted: at 13-09-2014 07:48 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- chidi4reala at 13-09-2014 07:57 PM (9 years ago)
BIAFRANs
Posted: at 13-09-2014 07:57 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- manfred1 at 13-09-2014 08:55 PM (9 years ago)
IDIOT,S
HOW CAN SOME ONE PAY TO SERVE HIS OWN COUNTRY
U PEOPLE ARE FOOLS
GOD WILL CANE ALL OF U
WICKED PEOPLE
U ARE THE ONE TO PAY THEM
4 000 NARIA ,   WHY NOT 4 000 000.00
NIGERIA  WILL END NEXT YEAR,  IN JESUS NAME,,,,,,,,,,,,,AMEN
Posted: at 13-09-2014 08:55 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- nobleladyG at 13-09-2014 09:05 PM (9 years ago)
where is this country heading to? may God help the poor Amen

Posted: at 13-09-2014 09:05 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- deboalabi262 at 13-09-2014 09:12 PM (9 years ago)
 Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh?

Posted: at 13-09-2014 09:12 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 13-09-2014 09:55 PM (9 years ago)
Why not for free? Idiotic government
Posted: at 13-09-2014 09:55 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- beneno at 13-09-2014 11:01 PM (9 years ago)
 Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 13-09-2014 11:01 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- morgrawl231 at 14-09-2014 12:41 AM (9 years ago)
Are they now selling call-up letters again?Huh? call-up letters was suppose to be free,so that u can know where u are heading to ,,,,,,,
chaiiii!!  corruption don ebolarise every sector for 9ja  now oo,,,,,
Posted: at 14-09-2014 12:41 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- osamabinladin at 14-09-2014 05:40 AM (9 years ago)
Good idea though !
Posted: at 14-09-2014 05:40 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- peacemaker1 at 14-09-2014 10:31 AM (9 years ago)
This Mrs Olubunmi Aderibigbe and nysc must be crazy must you all make money at every opportunity in that country .why must they pay for the service is network or the power or the manpower there have to pay for. so you people can not introduce anything for free in that country. Please you stop extoting money from the poor masses . You do better without collecting money . Now that the national has access to internet that will make information accessable to people you want them to pay to make you richer . Can't you do something that the masses will praise you for once. corruption every were .
Posted: at 14-09-2014 10:31 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- ozzeey at 14-09-2014 08:13 PM (9 years ago)
D fact dat piple travel KMs to colect der leta isnt a warrant to xtort.
We hav bn in a computer age 4 somtym now.
 NYSC u nid 2pay 4 bn so behind.
(I don waka pas
Posted: at 14-09-2014 08:13 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- elchymo at 25-08-2015 07:41 AM (8 years ago)
See office
Posted: at 25-08-2015 07:41 AM (8 years ago) | Hero

1. Disturbing Video Shows Handcuffed Black Man's Last Words As Police Knelt On Him Before He Died

2. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

3. BREAKING: President Tinubu Appoints Jim Ovia Chairman Of Nigerian Education Loan Fund

4. ‘My Values, Not Dad’s Money’ – Davido Opens Up On Secret Of His Success

5. P-Square Ordered To Pay N25m Over Breach Of Contract After Being Defeated By Music Promoter

6. Two Siblings, Motorcyclist Allegedly Crushes To Death By Speeding Student Driver In Ondo

7. PICS; Police Arrest 8 Suspected Kidnappers, Rescue Four Kidnapped Victims In Delta

8. Benue Gov. Alia Set To Demolish Property Housing Kidnappers, Yahoo Boys

9. How DSS Rescues Seven Kidnapped Victims In Sokoto

1. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

2. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

3. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

4. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

5. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

6. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

7. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

8. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria

9. Popular Ghanaian Media Personality, Serwaa Amihere Finally Reacts To Her Leaked S3x Tape

10. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu